Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: based on the hurricanes

Credits

based on the hurricanes

Are you thinking about climate change and the possibility that your contributions are leading to increased surface temperatures?

I'm trying to formulate a research approach to this kind of thing since i am a researcher now, but I have always been intrigued with the role public media plays and can play in informing the public and forcing change (e.g. the whole idea behind phiva.net which is still to receive some attention and if one of you wants to take it on please im me).

How do we get science and engineering into the minds of the general public so people can make informed decisions on how to live. If the general public really had an understanding of what science could do or is doing to them, maybe they'd be more interested in how research dollars are spent by the government and be a bit more involved in things.

Anyway, this whole hurricane thing and ignorance of poor people's issues has me looking around my own neighborhood in Tampa.

Someone emailed me asking if jouvay.com was playing mas for miami and if we were donating some of the proceeds to Katrina. That they felt guilty for playing kind of. My response was long, but I think we have an opportunity right now whilst these "natural disasters" are fresh in our minds to question our own habits and ask how do we contribute. Without a public awareness and demand for things like fuel efficient vehicles or better planned public transport systems research funding will never go into it.

SUV lovers rehab clinic needed.

Credits
    Quote Originally Posted by sanfranjouvay
    Are you thinking about climate change and the possibility that your contributions are leading to increased surface temperatures?