Former IMIX POSTER Child
Credits: 20,207
http://www.caribbeanvibeonline.com/n...njigarlin.html
Bunji Garlin, first tip-toed onto the world stage in 1998 and quickly solidified his place on the international Soca music scene by perfecting his expression of Ragga Soca. This fusion of hip-hop, reggae and soca coupled with Bunji’s unmistakable voice and intricate lyrics made him the next one on deck in the Caribbean music line up. After signing with IP Music International in 1999, Bunji went on the create an incredible catalog of music including the 1999 release “The Chronicles” which showed critics that the success of “Send Dat Riddim Crazy” was not a one-time thing. Who could resist the opportunity to talk to this man and find out what has given him such tremendous staying power in an industry that often limits its artists to a five year life span? Bunji entered the restaurant in typical artist fashion; cell phone in hand. This man however is anything but typical. His genuine humility is one of the first things that stand out when making his acquaintance. Fresh from a quick nap after an all-nighter in the studio with his band “The Desperadoes”, Bunji finds the strength and poise to expand on everything from Caribbean music to his upcoming projects. When asked how he was positioning himself, as a Ragga Soca artist, to take advantage of the recent crossover success that dancehall has experienced, he replied. “You have to be skilled enough, and blessed enough, and lucky enough to be in the right place and the right time. Music is a weird thing because the one person who has all the ingredients isn’t always the person to move a step beyond; it’s always the person no one expects.” Some fans have been conflicted about supporting songs out of the Caribbean that have experienced tremendous crossover acceptance. In response to the issue of watering down the music to gain international exposure, he had this to say. “Actually, before this time around with Sean Paul and Elephant Man and one or two others, the music and the Caribbean vibe was kinda watered down a little bit ‘cause they start to do too much mix and blend. And then Sean came out and give them to the raw thing and break through and Elephant come right after and start break through, so its open right now and anything can pass through. Even though it was kinda watered down in the 80’s, people on the hip hop side had a clearness and a love for what reggae and dancehall was all about. So when they get the real vibe it wasn’t like ‘what is that’, it was like ‘yeah man that’s the real thing’. So that fusion kinda help the culture grow. But the next thing is that that’s one part of the Caribbean. So there’s a next question yuh know. [Laughs] We both know the next question, ‘What about soca music’? “Alright, just as I said how the fusion between dancehall and hip hop kinda get people familiar …. Well it’s the same type a thing going on right now with Kevin Little. The song he did, ‘Turn Me On”, that was recently remixed with Spragga Benz is almost the number tune playing in England right now.” While this song isn’t considered to be hardcore by Bunji, he went on to compare new Caribbean music fans to babies, “You can’t give a baby hard food to eat one time. You have to introduce milk, then you introduce cereal, and the food gets harder ‘til you give them the real hard food to eat. It’s the same thing with music.” Bunji is wrapping up production of his latest album, Graceful Vengance, due for international release this month. It is a double CD that will feature 15 Soca songs and 15 crossover songs. This album incorporates the efforts of Buddha, Busta Rhymes’ producer, Impulse and Coalition Producers of America. Hopefully, some of these songs will also serve as part of the soundtrack for his upcoming movie debut. He is currently in preproduction for a movie titled, “Bee’s Song”. The movie sets Bunji up as a hit man who wants to get out of the game to pursue his love of music. Damian Holder wrote this screenplay with him in mind and they are now working towards a North American release in 2004. Well Bunji is heading home to Trinidad were he will be recording, performing and recharging through next spring. “As a rule, I don’t leave Trinidad until Carnival is finished.” He’ll be out of sight but with his new release, he won’t be far from mind. If Bunji Garlin continues to produce a catalog of high caliber music, and succeeds in his screen debut, then it's just a matter of time until he attains the legendary status of Soca pioneers who went before. Odette Flemming (Big up Robber on the hail )Last edited by montREALady; 11-10-2003 at 03:00 PM.. |
Credits: 99,646
:cool2 :cool2
__________________ The saint and the sinner are just exchanging notes. Every saint has a past and every sinner has a future. The matador wins by avoiding the bull not colliding with him! |
Credits: 42,415
Wonderful article! Brethren I see you too!! YEHA!!!!*I didn't mispell it*
Last edited by Empressdududahlin; 11-10-2003 at 03:01 PM.. |
Credits: 19,676
__________________ Some men move mountains Some women move men who move mountains Most women with mountains move some men But I...I am a woman who is moved by men who can get through the valley Queen GodIs |
**yep...lmao** __________________ The saint and the sinner are just exchanging notes. Every saint has a past and every sinner has a future. The matador wins by avoiding the bull not colliding with him! |
Credits: 9,363
Bunji is de man....
| Sponsored Links | |||||||||
|||||||||
Simply Being Me !!!!
Credits: 335
Nice article Monty just keep the articles coming and congrats to Midnight Robber.
Credits: 9,363
but.. i will soon remove it... just looking for a pic... ![]() __________________ The saint and the sinner are just exchanging notes. Every saint has a past and every sinner has a future. The matador wins by avoiding the bull not colliding with him! |
a.k.a. Buss_Slippers
Credits: 6,012
Congrats to Robber...and respect to Mr. Alvarez, keep up the good work :cool2
Credits: 1,234
Ent?!! |
Credits: 23,831
BIG UP TO BUNJI MY BABY DOING POSITIVE THINGS FOR SOCA
__________________ "TOO BLESSED TO BE STRESSED TOO ANNOINTED TO BE DISAPPOINTED" |
Former IMIX POSTER Child
Credits: 20,207
whey you come out?! :p ![]() |