Credits: 41,210
Antiguans slams Trinidad
Antiguan & Barbudans call foul after ‘Kentucky’ star’s loss
By Alicia Simon - Monday, February 20th, 2012. Article Hits: 56 No Comments ST JOHN’S, Antigua – Some Antiguans & Barbudans have expressed displeasure with local artiste Hard Knaxx’s loss at the International Soca Monarch Competition in Trinidad on Friday. The current jumpy soca king and Road March winner represented Antigua & Barbuda in the power segment of Saturday’s show, performing his song “Kentucky,” but failed to place in the top five. One caller to the Serpent’s Snakepit concluded, “I think we waste time sending artistes down there to perform. It doesn’t make any sense… In a million years they are not going to win anything.” This sentiment has been echoed again and again on radio and in conversations throughout the island. Hard Knaxx himself responded to the reactions in an interview with OBSERVER. “People say that because it’s true.” He continued, “In Trinidad they mostly play their music … they push their own all the time, 24-7.” The artiste conveyed that aspects such as fireworks, confetti and stage lighting were not delivered during his performance. “I see that as not being professional enough at the night of the show, by paying for everything and not getting nothing … It’s like a bias thing,” Hard Knaxx said. The artiste also claims that although the music was fine in rehearsals it was lacking on the night of the show. “The band didn’t catch the music how I wanted to catch it. The presentation wasn’t put on how we planned and paid for it, but I went out and did my thing … did my best,” he said. The lack of crowd support was also evident to Hard Knaxx. “Everybody was still … standing and watching as I’m doing my performance.” He believes that the lack of audience response was because his song received little airplay. However, Hard Knaxx said he does not dwell on the innuendos and remains in high spirits. He is calling the show a “win-win” situation. “It’s a big thing, it’s a big achievement, even though I didn’t win. Everyone is still a winner,” Knaxx said. He is awaiting confirmation of his placement that will be disclosed at a presentation today. The performer anticipates being awarded EC$60,000 for his performance. After two months abroad the entertainer was slated to return home yesterday. He has already penned new songs, beginning preparations to defend his crown in August. Machel Montano, who won first place in both the power and groovy segments of the competition dominated the Soca Monarch Competition. Montano was followed by Iwer George, Destra and a tie between Blazz and Prophet Benjamin for the power division and Kerwin Dubois, Benjai, Nadia Batson and Kes in the groovy division. |
The Bomb Droppa
Credits: 228,875
Has anyone other than a Trinidadian won a Soca Monarch? I didn't know they were so bias.
ah like chupidness
Credits: 331,343
They boldface an outta place....they thought he woulda place wid dah bullshit kentucky???? buck buck buck buck?...Trinidad got enuff fukry songs out in dey own right like dah bucket shit..u tink u cud come from antigua cluck dong d place bout kentucky chicken an win soca monarch....steups....
Unique woman
Credits: 126,440
The International Soca Monarch is a show with majority Trinbagonian artists with artists from other soca nations. It has always been a show where there are a lot of Trinbagonian artists and 1 person from a few other nations. To me unless the song real sweet one of the popular natives from Trinidad and Tobago will usually win.
When I was at International Soca Monarch in 2011, I had a ball. I was in in the front so I can see everything going on in the stage live and direct and to have the most fun. A lot of the people in the front was real wild sometimes but it was fun. I did not care if the person performing was a Trini or a person from SVG I danced. I obeyed commands from the singers to wave, jump or whatever. Of course I partied harder for my favorites but I danced for all since it is not an easy thing to get in front of a crowd of people and try to move them. I gave them that respect. Plus I was open minded so I can enjoy myself. I did not go to one of the biggest Carnival shows to stand up... I was going to dance. If I was there this year, I would have danced too for Hard Knaxs. I will be back later to talk about what I think about the song. Trinidad/International Soca Monarch 1993 - Superblue - Bacchaanal Time 1994 - SuperBlue - Flag Party 1995 - Ronnie McIntosh - On The Road 1996 - Superblue - Bounce 1997 - Ronnie McIntosh - Ent + Superblue - Barbara (Tie) 1998 - Super Blue - Ato Party 1999 - Kurt Allen - Dus Dem 2000 - Super Blue - Pump Up 2001 - Shadow - Stranger 2002 - Bunji Garlin - We From de Ghetto + Iwer George - Gimme Ah Bligh (Tie) 2003 - Iwer George - Ah Home 2004 - Bunji Garlin - Warrior Cry 2005 - Bunji Garlin - Blaze de Fire 2006 - Shurwayne Winchester - Ah Can't Wait 2007 - Iwer George - Fete After Fete 2008 - Bunji Garlin - Fiery 2009 - Fay-Ann Lyons-Alvarez - Meet Superblue (First female winner) 2010 - JW & Blaze - Palance [2] 2011 - Machel Montano - Advantage 2012 - Machel Montano - Pump Yuh Flag International Groovy Soca Monarch 2004 - Michelle Sylvester - Hone 2005 - Michelle Sylvester - Sleeping In Your Bed 2006 - Shurwayne Winchester - Don't Stop 2007 - Biggie Irie - Nah Goin' Home 2008 - Shurwayne Winchester - Carnival Please Stay 2009 - Fay Ann Lyons-Alvarez - Heavy T Bumper 2010 - Shurwayne Winchester - Murdah 2011 - Kes The Band - Wotless 2012 - Machel Montano - Mr.Fete __________________ When You Get.. Give.... When you learn... teach (Maya Angelou) Be the change you wish to see in the world. Let us work with others to change our communities. Last edited by TriniTrini; 02-21-2012 at 05:03 AM.. |
Unique woman
Who is they?? I am Trinbagonian and fuh damn sure I eh biased. Let's put things into context. Let us think about the show itself and the odds stacked against a non-Trini winning See my post above also. __________________ When You Get.. Give.... When you learn... teach (Maya Angelou) Be the change you wish to see in the world. Let us work with others to change our communities. |
Unique woman
An article does not compare to seeing and hearing the performance by this artist.
Song alone ------------------------ Video for Song ------------------------------- Singer live Antigua Carnival 2011 -------------------------------- Singer live Trinidad and Tobago (not Soca Monarch eh) Anybody have the performance from Saturday at Soca Monarch? __________________ When You Get.. Give.... When you learn... teach (Maya Angelou) Be the change you wish to see in the world. Let us work with others to change our communities. Last edited by TriniTrini; 02-21-2012 at 05:09 AM.. |
17 61
Credits: 139,252
now this! is sad... sounds like a syndicate thing goin on.. __________________ After me tell dem run de marathon dem couldnt run it! after me tell dem bun dung de dance dem couldnt bun it!! Buju |
Credits: 8,634
Unique woman
Do you have a moment to embed it here? I would love to see it as I watched the others.
__________________ When You Get.. Give.... When you learn... teach (Maya Angelou) Be the change you wish to see in the world. Let us work with others to change our communities. |
I cant even sit here and fight for Hard Knaxx or whatever he name is, people asking what going on with Antigua Soca.
he should go in a dark corner and siddung.. |
I wonder why Antigua kicking up de biggest fuss when their artist was actually the worst, they say dey wanna boycott TNT soca and artistes because Trinis are selfish.
They say dey sick of Antiguans idoloizing Trini artists but Trinis only support their own and disrespect other music. Well dating back to the Bajan invasion, Trinis have embraced foreign music and artists. If u nah make the grade..u nah mek it. |
Credits: 5,863
I believe this is the performance from couple days ago. |
Credits: 399,777
bok bok bok
IMIX BACCHANALIST
Credits: 463,032
__________________ Affairs of the heart Together we've grown If ever apart All I want you to know Is your love is life changing And I couldn't be the same without you dahling Your love is life saving you always catch me when I fall ![]() www.urbandingolay.com |

13Likes