Old 07-18-2004, 06:52 PM   #1 (permalink)
Solidarity

Thumbs up 7 from 2

Check out these tunes from two of my favourite artists. It’s probably unlikely but ah would love to hear these in fetes…all in de same fete would be even bettah.

Tune 1

Tune 2

Tune 3

Tune 4

Tune 5

Tune 6

Tune 7

Last edited by Solidarity; 08-15-2004 at 12:06 PM..
Old 07-18-2004, 07:00 PM   #2 (permalink)
Baby Luv

Credits: 11,158
yuh just made meh weak there Soli.

why do i think that u are a transplanted trini
Old 07-18-2004, 07:03 PM   #3 (permalink)
Baby Luv

how ah jam she, and she jam me
Old 07-18-2004, 07:12 PM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 2,216
Hi Solid, how are you?

Everything is official i just have to find the time to pick it up this week.
Old 07-18-2004, 07:12 PM   #5 (permalink)
Baby Luv

this was never meant to be,
man supposed to dwell in harmony,
but because of selfish ways,
man create things to shorten his days

that song is so true eh.
Old 07-18-2004, 07:20 PM   #6 (permalink)

Credits: 15,001
*1st, salty checks calypso vault on pc and has dem all so can talk some shite*

wait solidarity wait solidarity wait......fack u know bout dem songs youth?

*sheds tears as another imix understands power of calypso*

however, don't xpect 2 hear none of those songs in fete cuz:

a) ppl won't know bout those songs (more less countless others)
b) not jumpy and wavy enuf 4 the party crowd 2day
c) songs r not really dance dance per se, but more or less fulfilling in ah nex way.

salty

9th Annual ATLANTA JOUVERT

THE ATRIUM
Friday,May 24th

2nd Annual JOUVERT FLAG FETE

Central Florida Fair Grounds
Old 07-18-2004, 07:24 PM   #7 (permalink)
Roz
~~~~~~ROOF TOP BABY~~~~~~

Credits: 24,527
Thats real

But as salty say you would hardly hear them in a fete because they are not jumpy enough.
Old 07-18-2004, 07:44 PM   #8 (permalink)
Baby Luv

are u people serious. i hear those songs at every family fete we have up here. with the riddim section and everything. every man jack singing along.
Old 07-18-2004, 07:51 PM   #9 (permalink)

Credits: 15,001
sencia - notice the key words in u'r sentence 'family fete'. solid referring 2 all the big public fetes.....and although i don't fete in bk n e more, i know 4 sure these tunes eh bussin. maybe 'we can make it' is the only 1?

salty
Old 07-18-2004, 07:51 PM   #10 (permalink)

Credits: 42,111
Tunnnnnnnnnnnneeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeesssssssssssss :
Old 07-18-2004, 08:13 PM   #11 (permalink)
Solidarity

Originally Posted by lordsalt
*1st, salty checks calypso vault on pc and has dem all so can talk some shite*

wait solidarity wait solidarity wait......fack u know bout dem songs youth?
Not enough mih bredrin...not nearly enough...

c) songs r not really dance dance per se, but more or less fulfilling in ah nex way.

salty
Ah hear yuh but i also know that last year this time very few people (if any) were lookin forward to a 100% soca fete every month...it's really all about d' vision and the music (plus the organization) isn't it?

Matter fact i'm headin out tonight and will be talkin to some people about the possibility of hearing this very type of music on a regular basis...yuh down to help make it happen?

Sencia, Roz & Ms. gyal: glad oonu like de tunes.

SBP: Cool vibes...we'll link.
Old 07-18-2004, 09:40 PM   #12 (permalink)
Imix Super Agent

Originally Posted by lordsalt
*sheds tears as another imix understands power of calypso*

salty
I agree to a point. I think that there are alot of people who want to hear these types of tunes, but you definitely have to create the right forum for it, SoKalypso for example. Where people can go and expect to hear a range of Soca, Kaiso, and Calypso tunes. Playing too many of these conscious tunes in a straight pelt waist session may create some crowd dis-pleasure b/c dats not what they were expecting. Anyhow dem tunes bring back real memories and as a matter of fact they made me go to me fadda's collection and pull some of he "Bring Yuh Music and Come" tapes- Ah hope dat some of allyuh remember dat program..I can't even remember what station it was on. So Salt it hah yutes who know bout dem tunes- since summer start is dem same classics I runnin.
Old 07-18-2004, 09:51 PM   #13 (permalink)
Imix Super Agent

Soli ah fuh shifting gears ah bit but listening to Dorothy make meh realize that Stalin is a livin legend who has IMO not gotten enough recognition for his outstanding and longlasting contribution to the art-form. Ah tired ah seeing people not getting dey due when dey could enjoy it but after they have transitioned....
Old 07-18-2004, 11:27 PM   #14 (permalink)
Solidarity

Postjack all yuh want glutton. No argument from me on Stalin.
Old 07-19-2004, 08:04 AM   #15 (permalink)
KingBea....

Credits: 21,197
Originally Posted by Solidarity
Check out these tunes from two of my favourite artists. It’s probably unlikely but ah would love to hear these in fetes…all in de same fete would be even bettah.

$h!t boss you real shutin down dee damn site right now man... I looking to subscribe to dis thread...

Last edited by Cimo 2; 07-19-2004 at 09:16 AM..