Old 05-13-2009, 12:38 AM   #511 (permalink)

Credits: 5,670
Originally Posted by southern chic View Post
ok allyuh i'm needing to lose 20lbs by july 1st.

stats:
5'4
150lbs

measurements:
waist - 32inches
hips - 39 inches
bust - 35 inches

This is my plan...I joined a gym in dec w/ my hubby but it's a small gym w/ no classes so I only manage to go about once a week. I'm going to quit that gym and join la fitness so I can do their classes. I can only manage to go to the gym twice a week (mon and wed) but on a couple of the days i don't go (thurs and sat) i can do something from fittv. I've tried their yoga and Ireally like it and they have a nice dance show too.

As for diet I'm doing 6 small meals a day.
Tomorrow's example

Breakfast: fruit smoothie
Snack: crackers and peanut butter
Lunch: scrambled egg wrapped in spinach tortilla w/ raw carrots and broccoli
Snack: nuts and rasins
Dinner: vegetable noodle soup
Snack: chocolate covered pretzels

I wrote up my menu for the entire week and I've planned some sort of activity each day. I have these exercises that I can do at home (crunches, weight lifting stuff)...also I go in my bathroom and steam it up good and do some stretches, it feels really good. Sometimes I even do some jogging on the spot in there.

Anyway, I will post my progress. This is what I look like now, I need to wear this dress in trini and not have my belly lookin like a damn doughnut

Hi, do you normally eat 6 meals on the regular? If not you should start off with 4 smaller meals and then build to 5.

If you don't mind my input, I can formulate a eating plan for you that you can lose 10 lbs in 3 weeks with a nice exercise routine. You would have to committ though.
Old 06-04-2009, 10:43 AM   #512 (permalink)

Credits: 41,533
Originally Posted by majik View Post
Hi, do you normally eat 6 meals on the regular? If not you should start off with 4 smaller meals and then build to 5.

If you don't mind my input, I can formulate a eating plan for you that you can lose 10 lbs in 3 weeks with a nice exercise routine. You would have to committ though.
I don't mind your input either. I'd like to see what routine you have to offer.

Old 06-04-2009, 11:32 AM   #513 (permalink)

Credits: 9,042
Originally Posted by triniprincess76 View Post
I don't think that you can paint everyone with this broad brush...'cause I ate nuff carbs when I was in the military, and that's the fittest I was...as a matter of fact, they always advised us to eat pasta for dinner the night before a PT test.

I recently lost 40+ pounds, and didn't cut out carbs from my diet...for most people, the key to losing weight is controlling portion sizes. I ate everything...just not as much as I did in the past. Rather than eating a big plate of rice, I limit myself to a cup of rice as a part of my meal...if you're working out, you need carbs for energy/fuel.

I think the mistake that people make is cutting out things that they enjoy. It's not realistic for most people to stick with something/a health plan for life if they feel deprived.

Excellent point, this should be the model everyone follows....This is truly the key to losing weight.
Old 06-04-2009, 03:05 PM   #514 (permalink)
Mrs . (A.k.A Mrs. Dot)

Credits: 60,860
Originally Posted by Prince 22 View Post
Excellent point, this should be the model everyone follows....This is truly the key to losing weight.
Agree, but Ithink everyone just wants a quick fix.
Old 06-04-2009, 03:10 PM   #515 (permalink)
Azuuucar!

Credits: 57,266
Originally Posted by **Vincy-Soca-Diva** View Post
That's where problems come in. You (speaking in general terms) didn't put the weight on over night, so it's not gonna drop off over night.

-Meh Granny say so.
Old 06-04-2009, 03:46 PM   #516 (permalink)

Credits: 9,042
Originally Posted by **Vincy-Soca-Diva** View Post

The mistake everyone makes is that they start to workout in April/May thinking their going to look good in July August. People who workout in the previous year leading up to the new year is working out for the summer. People who workout now is working out for the fall winter. Classy Lady posted in the Backchat forum how she lost 10 pounds very easy by sticking to the same food routine and working hard prior to Carnival which i believe is Dec /Jan. That is a good example of not cutting out carbs and sticking to eating portions and just trying to figure out your body and what works for it.
Old 06-15-2009, 02:03 PM   #517 (permalink)
10-75 the box K

Credits: 6,054
Originally Posted by dctrini View Post
Me too ! I don't belive in diets. I does eat potatoes and rice and pasta, bread all of that stuff and I still am losing weight. However I am in the gym doing 90 minutes of cardio 3 days a week and lifting weights 2 days a week/ 45 minutes of cardio and I eat that stuff in moderation. My problem is sweets I love dem too bad !!!!!!! I belive all dem diets is a bunch of crap. You have to just know your limits. When my friend came up here from Trinidad she was weighing 125 and you know in the west indies bread and flour is the staple . She been here for 5 years now and is weighing almost 25 lbs more. She says she is going to cut out bread and cereal etc, the very same food she used to eat home. Steuppps. It's all about portion control ,knowing your limits., and moving I know I too damn greedy, it has nothing to do w/ flour and sugar. But hang in there, we are all in this thing together.
Well Said!!
You also have to take into consideration in Trinidad people tend to have more active lives! Not like here in NY you have the winter months which makes it harder to go out and get active !