IslandMix - Caribbean Entertainment

IslandMix - Caribbean Entertainment (http://www.islandmix.com/backchat/)
-   Personal Finance (http://www.islandmix.com/backchat/f35/)
-   -   How many Credit Cards (http://www.islandmix.com/backchat/f35/how-many-credit-cards-198910/)

Oneshot 07-14-2009 10:27 AM

How many Credit Cards

Are too many?

Im considering getting a third to accrue more frequent flyer miles. My first one is more or less dormant (parked it aside) My primary spending card is 0% for 12 months and gives points at my grocers.

analyzethis 07-14-2009 02:35 PM

I'd say no more than two

Gladiator 07-16-2009 01:25 AM

for some two, and for others three..depends on your financial status and how discipline you are when paying your bills. I would always recommend that a teenager start off with just one..

Ent 07-19-2009 03:12 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by analyzethis (Post 3226423)
I'd say no more than two

I understand good reasons for just 2 credit cards BUT Here it the problem the that. These days they are lowering your credit limits and canceling your cards like crazy EVEN WHEN YOU ALWAYS PAY ON TIME like me. So if you just ave 2 cards and that happens then what?

Ent 07-19-2009 03:18 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ent (Post 3233295)
I understand good reasons for just 2 credit cards BUT Here it the problem the that. These days they are lowering your credit limits and canceling your cards like crazy EVEN WHEN YOU ALWAYS PAY ON TIME like me. So if you just ave 2 cards and that happens then what?

I got every card I could while credit cards were given away like crazy BUT I dindn't use them.

Thats what you need -Discipline!

Now that I need the cards and they are canceling cards (even when you alwasy pay on time) and lowering limits while hiking rates - I have much more choice than the average person.

Also, credit rating is based on the credit amount you have available to you. You cant build credit with no outstanding balances or available credit.

So Unless you have a serious discipline problem - get every card you can.

Spoogie 07-20-2009 01:15 PM

I have one.

luvmylocs 03-26-2010 03:30 PM

I've never had one, I'm fraid ah dem. However, I do know someone who has just about every credit card ever made. She says when she maxes one out, she uses another to pay it off.