Old 04-29-2006, 10:06 PM   #16 (permalink)
SAINTSational

Credits: 682,591
Originally Posted by Bara
So den yo' don't tink dat d zouk beat is similar or d same as d soca beat?
it does have some similarities.......certain instruments and progression differ but yup there are some rythmic similarities

Those Who Sacrifice Freedom for Security Deserve Neither
www.cookingwithval.com
http://www.snackhealthy.com/snackwithval
@cookingwithval
@NicaBlack

Old 04-29-2006, 10:19 PM   #17 (permalink)
Giving yuh curry tabanca

Credits: 3,032

Posted by Val:
it does have some similarities.......certain instruments and progression differ but yup there are some rythmic similarities

Yep.Daz wat I tink 2.
Old 04-29-2006, 10:26 PM   #18 (permalink)
Poca

but she didn't say that zouk is soca sang in a different language.
zouk is zouk and soca is soca. they are both from the same region so of course they share similarities, but they are not the same thing.
Old 04-29-2006, 10:31 PM   #19 (permalink)
Freedom

Credits: 214,492
Originally Posted by Val
that's it basically

to listen to some zouk you could check the link in my sig or stream
www.zoukradio.com
ok...i was on the right track to what i thought was zouk..it sounds good..u have a nice voice by the way

~~When your character is built on spiritual and moral foundations, your contagious way of life will influence millions.~~

Real Eyes
Realize
Real Lies

Old 04-29-2006, 10:41 PM   #20 (permalink)
SAINTSational

Originally Posted by fntsy19
ok...i was on the right track to what i thought was zouk..it sounds good..u have a nice voice by the way
thanx

www.cookingwithval.com
@cookingwithval
@NicaBlack

Old 04-29-2006, 10:43 PM   #21 (permalink)
Freedom

Credits: 214,492
Originally Posted by Val
thanx
i real like tha song love's gone

~~When your character is built on spiritual and moral foundations, your contagious way of life will influence millions.~~

Real Eyes
Realize
Real Lies

Old 04-29-2006, 11:00 PM   #22 (permalink)
Giving yuh curry tabanca

Question

Originally posted by Soraya:
but she didn't say that zouk is soca sang in a different language.
zouk is zouk and soca is soca. they are both from the same region so of course they share similarities, but they are not the same thing

So now leh meh ask yo' dis question.If someone was 2 say 2 me,"Bara gyal,lemme play another version of soca fo' yo' buh it's sung in creole and iz called zouk".Wat would you say 2 dat?
Old 04-29-2006, 11:12 PM   #23 (permalink)
SAINTSational

Originally Posted by fntsy19
i real like tha song love's gone
girl that song was was my "getting over it" track. after I wrote it I was gooood

www.cookingwithval.com
@cookingwithval
@NicaBlack

Old 04-29-2006, 11:16 PM   #24 (permalink)
Poca

well i would say.... zouk is NOT another version of soca.

i think that is where we do not agree.
there are some soca music that resemble and has a zouk effect in them such as some of da bahn band music, but it is still not zouk..

So now leh meh ask yo' dis question.If someone was 2 say 2 me,"Bara gyal,lemme play another version of soca fo' yo' buh it's sung in creole and iz called zouk".Wat would you say 2 dat?
Old 04-29-2006, 11:17 PM   #25 (permalink)
Giving yuh curry tabanca

Originally posted by Val:
girl that song was was my "getting over it" track. after I wrote it I was gooood

was was
Old 04-30-2006, 01:06 AM   #26 (permalink)
Trini Ties Maintained

Credits: 828
Originally Posted by soraya
nope not similar at all...

have u ever heard a zouk song?
i have to say that some soca music, from some Bajan, lucian etc. bands kinda have a zouk feel in them. but
zouk is not the same bat as soca at all.
I can't believe this "Bara" is fuhreal but anyway...haven't you even heard of Kassav? As was said before, zouk is zouk, soca is soca....either has its own style and identity...language is a mere "inoffensif". The beats are not all that similar: soca is typically an aggressive party-type of music whereas zouk tends to be more conducive to slow yet deliberate rythmic movements. Even though zouk can also be pacy, the themes are different: zouk, being a french antillean art, is usually the object of many a love episode/scenario...soca doesn't quite look the part.

Of course, the term "soca" is expanding: If you're looking for a genre where the themes overlap, check Bajan ragga soca....or what some islanders refer to as "groovy" soca...you're more likely to pick up the zouk "throb" in the beat.

Again, my condolences......neva hear zouk? Wuh heyy....
Old 04-30-2006, 07:36 AM   #27 (permalink)

Credits: 32,912
Burning Flames made a zouk tune in 1988 name "Choukwe" from their "Mek E Bark" album. The beat/rythym in this tune to me sounds like the same rhythm used about 5 years or so later in the High top rhythm from the Bajan tune Ring Bang which turn out to be the most prominent rhythm used by many soca artists and bands years to follow up to this date.
Old 04-30-2006, 11:38 AM   #28 (permalink)
Giving yuh curry tabanca

Originally posted by GWADA BAJE:
I can't believe this "Bara" is fuhreal but anyway...haven't you even heard of Kassav? As was said before, zouk is zouk, soca is soca....either has its own style and identity...language is a mere "inoffensif". The beats are not all that similar: soca is typically an aggressive party-type of music whereas zouk tends to be more conducive to slow yet deliberate rythmic movements. Even though zouk can also be pacy, the themes are different: zouk, being a french antillean art, is usually the object of many a love episode/scenario...soca doesn't quite look the part.

Of course, the term "soca" is expanding: If you're looking for a genre where the themes overlap, check Bajan ragga soca....or what some islanders refer to as "groovy" soca...you're more likely to pick up the zouk "throb" in the beat.

Again, my condolences......neva hear zouk? Wuh heyy....

Sister,I am fuhreal.Make no mistake.

Yes,I have even heard of Kassav.I have even heard of Tanya St.Val,Malavoi,Thierry Cham,Kaysha,Jean-Claude Naimro ,Mariejose Alie, and Liyannaj.

Don't get me wrong,I do agree and say that zouk is zouk,soca is soca.......,but when I ask about the version of the two musical art forms I am looking and trying to get at what is common between them rather than what is different.Just like what is common between our cultures rather than what is different.That is not to say that the differences should not be discussed.I opened this thread for discussion of open dialogue on two great music forms of our people.

There are various dimensions to soca music which began as an "offspring" to calypso music.While for the most part it is more,and as you referred to it as "aggressive",up-tempo party-type music that you hear today,it is also "conducive to slow yet deliberate rhythmic movements".A very slow-groove rhythmic one.

And, the term "soca" HAS BEEN EXPANDING SINCE ITS INCEPTION.Do you know when that was?

One more thing.As you can see by my knowledge of zouk artists,your condolences are unneccessary.It's unfounded.
Old 04-30-2006, 11:54 AM   #29 (permalink)
SAINTSational

Yes,I have even heard of Kassav.I have even heard of Tanya St.Val,Malavoi,Thierry Cham,Kaysha,Jean-Claude Naimro ,Mariejose Alie, and Liyannaj.
you know Kaysha.....cool. I like his style....he fuses hip hop with zouk. He seems to think he's the pdiddy of the zouk world though.

www.cookingwithval.com
@cookingwithval
@NicaBlack

Old 04-30-2006, 01:15 PM   #30 (permalink)
Earth Angel

Credits: 1,301,126
Zouk is a distinct genre in itself, as is soca.