Old 04-10-2009, 10:51 PM   2 links from elsewhere to this Post. Click to view. #1 (permalink)
a wham 2 dem?

Credits: 76,738
Lightbulb Tabou Combo vs Kassav?

who u tink is de better band? i say kassav

BK's chune of de week- http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vJa2ikkyiTs

alliancefilife.com
Old 04-10-2009, 10:52 PM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 153,685
kassav
Old 04-10-2009, 10:56 PM   #3 (permalink)
Your Royal Sexiness

Credits: 128,050
I say Kassav
but remember they perform 2 different genres...... I like zouk more than kompas so I say Kassav but am I reight for Kassav is the better band?
Old 04-11-2009, 07:47 AM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 1,731
Originally Posted by bouyon king View Post

Tabou Combo is very good, but I love Kassav
Old 04-11-2009, 04:48 PM   #5 (permalink)
Got Kompa?

Credits: 16,548
Yall mad sick head nuh good. I am a hardcore fan of Kassav as are most haitians but Tabou has them beat by a longshot. What Kassav did was take what Tabou did and add alot more better marketing to the mix which i'm not mad at. More power to them. But don't get it twisted bow down to the kings Tabou. I love it when they perform together though. They are probably two of the greatest bands out of the Caribbean period. Both have the largest fan bases in Europe. Viv Tabou et Kassav!

Old 04-11-2009, 06:21 PM   #6 (permalink)
a wham 2 dem?

Credits: 76,738
dat tabou soundin rell nice, de quality is so clean, an de brass section is so precise

BK's chune of de week- http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vJa2ikkyiTs

alliancefilife.com
Old 04-11-2009, 09:54 PM   #7 (permalink)
Got Kompa?

dat tabou soundin rell nice, de quality is so clean, an de brass section is so precise
I'm teling you right now if you ever get a chance to see either Tabou or Kassav live go its a real treat. Now if you happen to catch both then you are really lucky. Together they are like the French Caribbean version of the Fania All Stars

Old 04-11-2009, 10:25 PM   #8 (permalink)

Credits: 10,442
I am bias

Us Panas love some Tabou Combo

Old 04-11-2009, 10:39 PM   #9 (permalink)

Credits: 153,685

Old 04-11-2009, 10:58 PM   #10 (permalink)

Credits: 3,828
De better band in terms of hits? musical quality? live-shows? fame?

Here's my point of view (I'll try to forget zouk is from my country...)

In terms of hits, KASSAV has more hits than TABOU.
In terms of musical quality, the 2 bands are equal.
In terms of Live shows, I think the 2 bands are equal
Concerning fame, i think KASSAV is more famous.(they performed in more countries around the world)
In terms of creativity , KASSAV created zouk, TABOU did not create Konpa but KASSAV created Zouk because at this time Konpa music was too popular in the french west-indies.
In Martinique KASSAV brings more people because TABOU performs too often here (lol)

I would say i prefer KASSAV but don't forget KASSAV exists because there was TABOU before them, so i would say the 2 bands are equal !
Old 04-11-2009, 11:09 PM   #11 (permalink)
Got Kompa?

Originally Posted by anakonda View Post
De better band in terms of hits? musical quality? live-shows? fame?

Here's my point of view (I'll try to forget zouk is from my country...)

In terms of hits, KASSAV has more hits than TABOU.
In terms of musical quality, the 2 bands are equal.
In terms of Live shows, I think the 2 bands are equal
Concerning fame, i think KASSAV is more famous.(they performed in more countries around the world)
In terms of creativity , KASSAV created zouk, TABOU did not create Konpa but KASSAV created Zouk because at this time Konpa music was too popular in the french west-indies.
In Martinique KASSAV brings more people because TABOU performs too often here (lol)

I would say i prefer KASSAV but don't forget KASSAV exists because there was TABOU before them, so i would say the 2 bands are equal !
With me forgetting Konpa is from my country I have to agree with just about everything you said. I think you nailed it.Only thing is the fame part. I think there are certain places where Kassav is more famous and certain places where Tabou is more famous it all depends. Tabou does perform too much for my taste sometime though But overall you still nailed it.
Old 04-13-2009, 03:17 AM   #12 (permalink)
100 % Haitian-0 % Yankee

Location: Brooklyn.Flatbush –Kings county Borough (home to the largest Islanders,west-Indian, Caribbean community living aboard from home)state of statue of liberty
Credits: 5,813

Thats a tough choice you're compareing a zouk artist verse a Kompa artist.

Thats like compareing a Reagge artist verse a Soca Artist .

I put like this when comes to Zouk -Kassav are the winners
and when comes to Kompa- System band is the best

(R.I.P Grandpa-your memories will always be here with me !!!!).

I'm Chillin in New Orleans,Louisiana with Beyonce' and Lil Wayne and lil' Fizz (b2k),Fleur-de-lis (imix creole,homegirl) .Drinking some Hand-Grenade (Liquor Drink), near The Bayou.
Old 04-13-2009, 08:29 AM   #13 (permalink)
Royal

Credits: 24,344
I love what I hear from both of them overall, even though I don't understand. Zouk and kompa are beautiful genres.
Old 04-13-2009, 09:38 AM   #14 (permalink)

Credits: 3,828
Originally Posted by haitianprince View Post
Thats a tough choice you're compareing a zouk artist verse a Kompa artist.

Thats like compareing a Reagge artist verse a Soca Artist .

I put like this when comes to Zouk -Kassav are the winners
and when comes to Kompa- System band is the best
Everybody knows TI MANNO was the best !
Old 04-13-2009, 10:19 AM   #15 (permalink)
Hot fuh so

Credits: 7,169
Kassav Kassav

LinkBacks (?)
LinkBack to this Thread: http://www.islandmix.com/backchat/f33/tabou-combo-vs-kassav-193558/
Posted By For Type Date
Moteur de recherche : Web, Photos, Videos, Voyages, Encyclopdie This thread Refback 08-16-2009 02:15 PM
Moteur de recherche : Web, Photos, Videos, Voyages, Encyclopdie This thread Refback 08-16-2009 02:14 PM