Old 07-21-2008, 12:45 AM   #1 (permalink)
Administrator

Credits: 8,285
Oracle is taking over the worl

I will come back here later in the week ... but bottom line... is ... ppl need to get involved in ORACLE development... BPEL, J2EE, FUSION... learn it all... or the functional side
Old 07-22-2008, 04:01 AM   #2 (permalink)
Alpha Male

Credits: 10,038
What is it?

And good to see your posting.... i heard u was a active member back in the days.
Old 07-22-2008, 06:30 AM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 24,367
lol at ORACLE taking over the world you could make the same argument for IBM/Microsoft even SUN, and it hasnt happened yet. I will say this much, cloud computing does open a lot of possibilities
Old 07-22-2008, 06:43 AM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 6,719
Originally Posted by STRYKA View Post
I will come back here later in the week ... but bottom line... is ... ppl need to get involved in ORACLE development... BPEL, J2EE, FUSION... learn it all... or the functional side
TRUE.....was looking into acquiring a financial mgmt product recently and realized that oracle now owns half of those companies who previously competed with them or who had a complementary product they could package.
Old 07-22-2008, 02:57 PM   #5 (permalink)

Credits: 697
Originally Posted by trinidarkie View Post
TRUE.....was looking into acquiring a financial mgmt product recently and realized that oracle now owns half of those companies who previously competed with them or who had a complementary product they could package.

Big fish eat little fish...
Old 07-23-2008, 09:49 AM   #6 (permalink)

Credits: 6,719
Oracle gives ppl exclusive rights to their products? Seems to go against their model.
Old 07-23-2008, 11:17 AM   #7 (permalink)
steups...

Credits: 16,321
Originally Posted by trinidarkie View Post
Oracle gives ppl exclusive rights to their products? Seems to go against their model.
Oracle doesn't give anyone "exclusive rights" to anything. Their sales reps tell you that to make the sale.

Oracle's marketshare in databases has been been declining in the past decade due to open software solutions like MySQL. Oracle has countered that by building applications and better infrastructure around their databases as well as buying other companies to speed up research and development. It will be interesting to see what happens when open source developers put their pride aside and increase the quality of their apps.

« - | Let's talk code »