Old 08-09-2008, 08:31 PM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 16,152
Event Management

Does anyone have a degree in Event Management?

If so, what are you doing with the degree?

I have been considering it but very few schools seem to offer it.
Old 08-10-2008, 09:07 PM   #2 (permalink)
Your Royal Sexiness

Credits: 127,306
Most schools offer it as a concentration option of a hospitality degree.....you might want to try that.
Old 08-11-2008, 09:06 AM   #3 (permalink)
rhel sweet

Credits: 9,242
i'm readin for my BA (Hons) in Marketing with Events Management. i startin my second yr in october
not too too sure wha i doin wit it wen i dun
rite now i jus want tuh complete it oui
Old 08-11-2008, 09:59 AM   #4 (permalink)
~Dare to be freeeeeee~

Credits: 16,037
Originally Posted by XtasyReds View Post
Does anyone have a degree in Event Management?

If so, what are you doing with the degree?

I have been considering it but very few schools seem to offer it.
I agree with what Nica said. Most schools offer the hospitality degree with different concentrations. With my degree I was able to learn about all aspects of the hospitality field. Marketing, Event Planning, Conference dining, front desk, housekeeping, just to name a few. The funny thing is you learn a lot more in this business by experience than sitting in a class room. Some of the big wigs in hospitality probably just have their high school diplomas.

I believe UMASS has a hospitality program, you should check and see if they offer courses in specific areas of hospitality.
Old 08-11-2008, 10:14 AM   #5 (permalink)
rhel sweet

come tuh yuh home town redz
plenty courses in events across de pond
Old 08-13-2008, 04:22 PM   #6 (permalink)

Credits: 16,152
Originally Posted by sweetestrini View Post
come tuh yuh home town redz
plenty courses in events across de pond
I know and the great thing is it would be dead cheap!!!!

I considered the Hospitality with a concentration option but I want straight up Events Management (more on the Marketing side of things).

Girl - you might hear me ring you up other than time I was drunk in Liverpool.
Old 08-13-2008, 06:05 PM   #7 (permalink)
rhel sweet

Originally Posted by XtasyReds View Post
I know and the great thing is it would be dead cheap!!!!

I considered the Hospitality with a concentration option but I want straight up Events Management (more on the Marketing side of things).

Girl - you might hear me ring you up other than time I was drunk in Liverpool.

girl my degree is Marketing wit Events Management
and yuh KNO dey hav events management jus so by itself
come man.....we go lime....i bak in Birmingham but dais not no scene
Old 08-14-2008, 12:12 PM   #8 (permalink)

Credits: 18,062
Originally Posted by sweetestrini View Post
i'm readin for my BA (Hons) in Marketing with Events Management. i startin my second yr in october
not too too sure wha i doin wit it wen i dun
rite now i jus want tuh complete it oui
thats a HUGE problem right there. you should pick your degree based on what you want to do with it, not just cause it sound good, or the classes might be easy. by the time you done with that degree then you'll learn the hard way thats not where you want to be or the jobs looking for this degree might be very slim, then you gone end up back in shcool for another degree or doing something completely unrelated to your degree
Old 08-14-2008, 01:07 PM   #9 (permalink)
rhel sweet

Originally Posted by up2detime View Post
thats a HUGE problem right there. you should pick your degree based on what you want to do with it, not just cause it sound good, or the classes might be easy. by the time you done with that degree then you'll learn the hard way thats not where you want to be or the jobs looking for this degree might be very slim, then you gone end up back in shcool for another degree or doing something completely unrelated to your degree
nah i wantd to go into events management....in terms of shows and conferences and stuff
bt i nt sure if dais all i wanna focus on coz i multi-talentd
so rite nw i jus finishin de degree fuh finishin it sake....i'mma use it but dais not all i go do
Old 06-15-2009, 12:18 PM   #10 (permalink)

Credits: 4,061
Events management is a strange degree however if you are going to go through the trouble of doing it don't limit yourself. You may want to consider going all out and do project management if it is available.
Old 06-21-2009, 03:22 PM   #11 (permalink)
rhel sweet

Originally Posted by broaman View Post
Events management is a strange degree however if you are going to go through the trouble of doing it don't limit yourself. You may want to consider going all out and do project management if it is available.
yea i was considering that as well....thanx fuh d confirmation
Old 07-10-2009, 01:23 AM   #12 (permalink)
Above and Beyond

Credits: 42,460
Originally Posted by broaman View Post
Good advice right here..Project management will be a degree that will cater for more jobs..not knocking event management tho..