Female Imixer!!!
Credits: 35,935
Erykah Badu...Wingate Field, Brooklyn... August 4th
Martin Luther King Jr. Concert Series: Erykah Badu
Monday, August 4, 2008 7:30 p.m.–11:00 p.m. Wingate Field Martin Luther King Jr. Concert Series
Female Imixer!!!
Another good night at Wingate Field!!!!
I had a time.
Ms Badu gave an awesome performance. Anybody else went? ![]() I will be back later to share some more.
Credits: 1,828
i tried to get in around 8:30 but it was too late !
Female Imixer!!!
Damn. But guess what it did not start till around that time anyway so it would have been perfect. Too bad they did not let you in. Will you be there for Jill Scott's performance next week?
Female Imixer!!!
I enjoyed myself like I said.
Crowd: a lot. From young children to the elderly. Good mixed crowd of females and males. Her band and singers. Excellent. They are cool in how they shake and grove to the music. Made it fun. Ms. Badu First time I have seen her perform. She has style, a fun and sexy style when she dances and sings, she is cool, confident, funny, socially and politically aware. She sang mostly classics: On and On, Love of My Life, Tyrone... I enjoyed how she told her band to "Wait" The band obeyed and waited. while she did rapped and sang acapella. She played a percussion instrument (electronic drum),tiny shak shaks, a drum with a stick, and had other props. She sang repeating words that sounded cool like: my my; my, my, my... At one point she said: like yall came to have church. There were people seated. I too felt more people should have got up and had a time. I liked the opening song that included the words: "Hip Hop is bigger than religion" "... is bigger than the government (as she slowly raised her fist in the air) She said tonight is dedicated to those not heard: the artists, djs, sculptors, flutists, bassists, singers.... It was funny how she threw in one of her songs that she has two children by two different daddies (for those who happened to talk about that) and she said after her political/activism bit "I'll be in the paper again tomorrow" ![]() The political/activism bit has to do with her saying all people ( have to fight the system: the real problem. Those in power. She said Obama did his part but we have to change the system. She gave the analogy of the bowling alley we go to. One day we decide we are going to make it better with a skating rink. She said it is not going to work. She said we have to build our own skating rink (change the system) She spoke of Mexicans who were fighting for their land. And they came head to head with the soldiers. They started to sing and the more they sang they reached the hearts of the soldiers (the soldiers looked just like the people fighting for land... ) and the soldiers fell back. She said we are ruled by fear and consumption right now.....
Mrs . (A.k.A Mrs. Dot)
Credits: 60,844
What date is Beres performing at Wingate?
Credits: 9,230
woW.....IM VEX THAT I MISSED HER BUT i WILL BE THERE FOR JILL
Southern Belle
Credits: 23,301
Female Imixer!!!
Yuh see she was introducing a song off her upcoming album. "I believe it is called 4th World War. Think how Erykah sings and her style. It was not like a shove down your throat type of thing. She even used humor. Humor part I remember: "they were singing a song...*spanish words*..." something, something.. no speak espanol". Well it was funny when she said it. ![]() Many in the crowd laughed. Cheered for the comments. Do you think artists should not speak of their political views? To me is okay provided it does not go reallllllllllllllll long. What she said which most I don't remember, was needed to be said and what place better than a crowd with people. Maybe its just me. After she said her piece she sang the new song. One of her old songs. Then Tyrone but it was all cool. She did not sing Master Teachers.
Mrs . (A.k.A Mrs. Dot)
No one know when Beres performing?
Female Imixer!!!
Sorry, did have much time to post this morning.
He will be performing: August 18th. Check this link: Martin Luther King Jr. Concert Series Note I posted it in my first post ![]()
Southern Belle
Credits: 23,301
but dang, I actually like "Master Teachers," and some people need to actually hear that song live. Anyways still sounds like a good show.
Mrs . (A.k.A Mrs. Dot)
. |
SEVENTH ANNUAL FAMILY DAY, August 9th, Paerdegat Park
Jill Scott...Wingate Field, Brooklyn... August 11th.... Tonight!!!