Old 10-19-2006, 11:32 AM   #1 (permalink)
Freedom

Credits: 6,408
Cool Why Did Jesus Have To Die?????????

I'm curious as to what you guys think. Why did
Jesus have to give his life in order for us to have
a chance. Even you Athiest, Agnotics, Hindus, Muslims, Orisha people, EVERYONE etc. etc. can chime in to.

Just want to hear you reasonings.

Okay folks shoot!
Old 10-19-2006, 11:34 AM   #2 (permalink)
XTC Inc.

Credits: 8,307
he died so we can live.. I think god was gonna whipe us oiut and Jesus said give them a chance nuh... so god say since you like them so much you better go help them cus they makin me sick.. so thats why jesus died
Old 10-19-2006, 02:43 PM   #3 (permalink)
Salsero de pura cepa

Credits: 711
Originally Posted by Soca Taliban View Post
a chance. Even you Athiest, Agnotics, Hindus, Muslims, Orisha people, EVERYONE etc. etc. can chime in to.

Okay folks shoot!
I don't beleive he had to, but it sure helped get his message across. We some stubborn people in need of drastic input to believe.
Old 10-19-2006, 02:52 PM   #4 (permalink)
Freedom

Credits: 46,533
but they say jesus is god and god is jesus so y would god let his son/himself die? and if jesus was already living in heaven before and was supposed to be here temporarily anyway wats the big deal with him 'sacrificing' himself to go back to his home?
Old 10-19-2006, 02:59 PM   #5 (permalink)
Salsero de pura cepa

Originally Posted by fntsy19 View Post
but they say jesus is god and god is jesus so y would god let his son/himself die? and if jesus was already living in heaven before and was supposed to be here temporarily anyway wats the big deal with him 'sacrificing' himself to go back to his home?
technically it's not the death per se, but the process of torture and painfully dying while in a human state that was the sacrifice.
Old 10-19-2006, 03:08 PM   #6 (permalink)
Freedom

Cool

Originally Posted by Otorongo View Post
I don't beleive he had to, but it sure helped get his message across. We some stubborn people in need of drastic input to believe.
So you think Jesus really came down to earth to get beat up and hang up like a scarecrow on ah cross juss to get his point across? I doh understand that, can you elaborate?
Old 10-19-2006, 03:11 PM   #7 (permalink)
Kiz

Credits: 14,038

Okay folks shoot!
ah ting becuz b4 christ came the priest/whoever had to mek intercession for us wid sacrifices.........so Jesus was the ultimate sacrifice......no longer did we have to go thru the priest/whoever or mek sacrifices
Old 10-19-2006, 03:11 PM   #8 (permalink)
Salsero de pura cepa

So you think Jesus really came down to earth to get beat up and hang up like a scarecrow on ah cross juss to get his point across? I doh understand that, can you elaborate?
Didn't say I beleived that. But many do. Like I said before, I think it helped get the point across, but I don't think that is what he was about. I think his message was more important.
Old 10-19-2006, 03:16 PM   #9 (permalink)
Salsero de pura cepa

Originally Posted by Trinikiz View Post
ah ting becuz b4 christ came the priest/whoever had to mek intercession for us wid sacrifices.........so Jesus was the ultimate sacrifice......no longer did we have to go thru the priest/whoever or mek sacrifices
That occured much earlier with the dispersal of the Jews by the Babylonians. Individual communion with God was seen as normal.

"During the Babylonian dispersion or Diaspora, the religion underwent an evolution. The Temple had been tied by law to Jerusalem and sacrifice had to be offered in accordance with a rigid ritual and formula. Because there no longer was a Temple in Jerusalem for sacrifice, the Jews built synagogues for religious assemblies. Instead of rituals for God, Jews offered prayers to God. The faith was no longer tied to a specific priesthood, temple or country. The Jew could practice his religion anywhere and still be in communication with God. The Jewish religion became an exportable commodity. The religion was now freed from constraints of time and place. Survival of the Jew in captivity and in the Diaspora was now assured."

Max Dimont, Jews, God and History, (New York,: The New American Library, 1962) p.65.
Old 10-19-2006, 03:19 PM   #10 (permalink)
Freedom

Cool

But the sacrifices the priest offered only represented what Jesus had to come and do. Why did he have to die though? Do you think there could of been another way?
Old 10-19-2006, 03:20 PM   #11 (permalink)
Lady Steel

Credits: 2,550
that is exactly it...and the sacrifice of Jesus caused the veil to be removed so that we now can in turn go to God ourselves and not have to be represented by an intercessor...God of Grace and Mercy is also a God of terror...and he just made things easier for us by giving his son as a living sacrifice
Old 10-19-2006, 03:26 PM   #12 (permalink)
Kiz

But the sacrifices the priest offered only represented what Jesus had to come and do. Why did he have to die though? Do you think there could of been another way?
He had to die becuz it was written......he had to fullfull the prophesy.........and how else would man believe......
Old 10-19-2006, 03:26 PM   #13 (permalink)
Freedom

Cool

He had to die becuz it was written......he had to fullfull the prophesy.........and how else was man believe......
Okay maybe meh question wasn't clear. Jesus chose to die for us right..... so was dying the only option?
Old 10-19-2006, 03:30 PM   #14 (permalink)
Kiz

Okay maybe meh question wasn't clear. Jesus chose to die for us right..... so was dying the only option?
Yes becuz that was Go'd plan........

Last edited by Kiz; 10-19-2006 at 03:33 PM..
Old 10-19-2006, 03:31 PM   #15 (permalink)
Lady Steel

Credits: 2,550
he chose to be obedient to his Father...plain and simple

Last edited by starangel; 10-19-2006 at 04:19 PM..