Old 05-04-2006, 02:54 PM   #1 (permalink)
The Key

Credits: 1,041
What does it mean to be Saved?

What are you saved from if you continue to sin since no one is perfect? Also, what is backsliding? Thanks for the responses in advance....
Old 05-04-2006, 03:14 PM   #2 (permalink)
aka Karl Logan

Credits: 866
Originally Posted by Queen of Sanity
What are you saved from if you continue to sin since no one is perfect? Also, what is backsliding? Thanks for the responses in advance....
Old 05-04-2006, 03:18 PM   #3 (permalink)
L O S T

Credits: 43,375
joins kevlox

Originally Posted by kevlocks
Old 05-04-2006, 03:19 PM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 9,868
Old 05-04-2006, 03:41 PM   #5 (permalink)

Credits: 696
Old 05-04-2006, 03:49 PM   #6 (permalink)
The Key

Come on fellas.....LOL.
Old 05-04-2006, 04:06 PM   #7 (permalink)

Credits: 696
Saved:

Accepting that Christ died for you and that eternal salvation is possible thru him. It is precisely that no one is perfect that one can continue to fall short and yet still be in good graces with the Lord.

Backsliding:

Picture a hill that your climbing with perfection being at the top...and you're striving towards that. It's slippery slope and rather than moving towards the top, you slid backwards down the slope...away from the perfection that you seek.
Old 05-04-2006, 04:10 PM   #8 (permalink)

Okay, seriously...I think to be saved you have to change your ways or strive to, knowing you'll fall short....and you have to accept God as your savior, realize Christ, and try to be a true Christian that follows the Bible. You probably have to try to be humble, help out the poor, but most importantly, I think if you love God and love people, then you're saved....but who really knows?

I think backsliding is falling back into your old bad sinful habits....but honestly who doesn't do that? Who on Earth really doesn't backslide on something?
Old 05-04-2006, 04:41 PM   #9 (permalink)
The Key

Originally Posted by Bake n Shark
Saved:

Accepting that Christ died for you and that eternal salvation is possible thru him. It is precisely that no one is perfect that one can continue to fall short and yet still be in good graces with the Lord.

Backsliding:

Picture a hill that your climbing with perfection being at the top...and you're striving towards that. It's slippery slope and rather than moving towards the top, you slid backwards down the slope...away from the perfection that you seek.
Then why can't they simply ask for forgiveness. What difference does being saved makes if you continue to 'fall short'? Are all Christians, no matter what denomination, saved since all accept Jesus the Christ as the savior?
Old 05-04-2006, 04:44 PM   #10 (permalink)
The Key

Originally Posted by RotiKing2004eva
Okay, seriously...I think to be saved you have to change your ways or strive to, knowing you'll fall short....and you have to accept God as your savior, realize Christ, and try to be a true Christian that follows the Bible. You probably have to try to be humble, help out the poor, but most importantly, I think if you love God and love people, then you're saved....but who really knows?

I think backsliding is falling back into your old bad sinful habits....but honestly who doesn't do that? Who on Earth really doesn't backslide on something?
Thanks for the input. Feel free to answer my last post of questions and are you saved?
Old 05-04-2006, 04:46 PM   #11 (permalink)

Thanks for the input. Feel free to answer my last post of questions and are you saved?
I have no idea? Does anyone really know if they saved or not? I hope so, but unfortunately, I could be wrong.
Old 05-04-2006, 04:53 PM   #12 (permalink)
30 Never looked this good

Credits: 17,433
Then why can't they simply ask for forgiveness. What difference does being saved makes if you continue to 'fall short'? Are all Christians, no matter what denomination, saved since all accept Jesus the Christ as the savior?
Being 'saved' means you have accepted Christ's gift...if an individual refuses to accept that gift...why would they be inclined to ask for forgiveness?

When you're saved you want to do what pleases Christ...I don't believe once saved always saved and that you can't be lost...
Old 05-04-2006, 05:00 PM   #13 (permalink)
The Key

Originally Posted by RotiKing2004eva
I have no idea? Does anyone really know if they saved or not? I hope so, but unfortunately, I could be wrong.
lol...okay but i've heard people say that they are saved and very proudly.
Old 05-04-2006, 05:02 PM   #14 (permalink)

lol...okay but i've heard people say that they are saved and very proudly.
maybe( and hopefully) they are....but there were Christians in the Church in the Bible ( Revelations, I forget where ) who were lukewarm and they thought they were saved, but God said he'd vomit them out.

Also, Jesus said there will be some on the last day that will say,"father father" and he'll say,"i don't know you"

so, who really knows?
Old 05-04-2006, 05:11 PM   #15 (permalink)
The Key

Originally Posted by triniprincess76
Being 'saved' means you have accepted Christ's gift...if an individual refuses to accept that gift...why would they be inclined to ask for forgiveness?

When you're saved you want to do what pleases Christ...I don't believe once saved always saved and that you can't be lost...
I didn't know Christ was giving away presents...... nah, seriously and no disrespect but....

Didn't we all receive this "gift" but first tell me what that gift is please? Everyone has their own terms and definitions please explain what it means to you so I may understand.

So there is no reason to ask for forgiveness once you are saved and continue to backslide? Dat doh sound right to me, but hey that's me.

I think all believers of god want to do what pleases god. No?