#16 (permalink) | |
Credits: 29,598
I guess we can bring some information here for everyone to read perhaps. Soca souljah or Simple Simon if you plan on doing any research or you find anything bring it here for all of us to read... this post has definitely peeked my interest and couldn't help but find some books from my library that I have about pertaining this thread: Here's the book: Opening to Spirit : Contacting the Healing Power of the Chakras and Honouring African Spirituality (Paperback) Chakras are vibrant wheels of energy that support your health and well-being. This in-depth exploration of the chakra system draws on a wealth of wisdom and mythology from ancient Egypt, early India and West Africa. The many techniques in Opening to Spirit provide a truly holistic approach to spiritual and personal development. Caroline Shola Arewa http://www.shola.co.uk/books.htm Coach, Speaker, Author - Health and Success Success without Stress London, England UK |
#17 (permalink) | |
Alliouagana Garveyite
Credits: 10,980
BLESSED LOVE EMPRESS ! LONG TIME NO SPEAK how are yuh ? __________________ Agitate until we create a stable society that benefits all our people. Instigate the nation until we remedy the injustices of society. Motivate our people to set a meaningful path for coming generations. Educate our people to free our minds and develop our consciousness Mwongozi Cudjoe (Chedmond Browne) Chairman of Free Montserrat United Movement |
#18 (permalink) | |
(thanks Simple Simon fuh blessin' us tonight with it) S.Souljah how are you? Just wondering what's your religion/faith/spirituality/or way of life?? |
#19 (permalink) | |
RasYardHindian
Credits: 1,783
Hinduism has one Supreme God - Brahman..all the the other Gods are manifestation of the One God. Last edited by Simple Simon; 01-19-2006 at 09:24 PM.. |
#20 (permalink) | |
RasYardHindian
If 1st man was from Africa then migrated..he must have took some of his myths with him?) ****different thread.. I really hope I can read this ..looks like a good place to start. |
#21 (permalink) | ||
Think of it like this, like Christianity different groups or denominations (*all share the same core beliefs, but some of the things they do will be vastly different from each other*) or in the Yoruba faith, various groups but all stem from one place.
||
#22 (permalink) | |
Alliouagana Garveyite
I haven't choose one but MAAT, rastafari , are a few paths that strike up interest ! __________________ Agitate until we create a stable society that benefits all our people. Instigate the nation until we remedy the injustices of society. Motivate our people to set a meaningful path for coming generations. Educate our people to free our minds and develop our consciousness Mwongozi Cudjoe (Chedmond Browne) Chairman of Free Montserrat United Movement |
#23 (permalink) | |
Alliouagana Garveyite
cosighs __________________ Agitate until we create a stable society that benefits all our people. Instigate the nation until we remedy the injustices of society. Motivate our people to set a meaningful path for coming generations. Educate our people to free our minds and develop our consciousness Mwongozi Cudjoe (Chedmond Browne) Chairman of Free Montserrat United Movement |
#24 (permalink) | |
RasYardHindian
I dont think there is a specific path. Some scholars will say that Vedic culture is the most preserved path - The Vedas as it is today is as it was in the beginning. The doctrine doesnt seem to be altered they say.. Agony sez I'm Ras YardHindian ... from my study I've come to realize that all one really need to know is that there is a force stronger than he. All that is left is to pay homage to it by creating a union with it and the Self ..glorify it and Self and like Bob say ..."every likkle thing is gonna be alright"..... |
#25 (permalink) | ||
Well you definitely want to read this because it draws on Ancient Egypt, West Africa, and Early India. Allyuh may want to check this link out: Vedic Connection-Ancient Vedic World
||
#26 (permalink) | |
I actually half way co-sign, lol... I think we all can claim so many paths, why one may ask? Well look at some of us, especially coming from the Caribbean or just from years of bi-cultural marriages, we're all very different. Not only is our physical make up and race are mixed but our spiritual paths are all so very different and universally combined. I was telling my friend, Rory the other day that each time I come across something in life spiritually or culturally and I know my ancestors are of the culture/religion/ way of life I add and claim it to my name... Like how we take one of our parent's name, I respect my ancestor's spiritual beliefs and try to understand it. I know for a fact that my great great grandmother was from Calcutta (I'm not Hindu) but I respect what some of my family members have eventually claimed as their faith. I know for a fact that on both sides of my family there is a West African blood that runs through our veins (and when I hear drums or around that vibe I know it's APART OF ME and chose to follow this path), I also know that 2 of my great grandmothers were mixed with Carib Indians which means one of their parents were full blood Carib (and these indigenous people had their own spirituality which I researched and I respect)... I think we can't help but want to know and understand other cultures because if not all but pieces of it speak to us and we're called to it. But if one meditates and become one within themselves they can find what makes them ONE. |
#27 (permalink) | |
RasYardHindian
#28 (permalink) | |
RasYardHindian
but like you said meditation makes one become ONE. I think man, regardless of race, class, nationality etc all have the same inate nature and is subject to the same "earth forces" (Prakrati in Hinduism)..for instance if rain falls on a white man and a black man they both get wet. It is up to him to learn/understand the force - then overcome it. |
#29 (permalink) | |
*gets pen n' journal* One day my child will be reading that quote and underneath it will say Simple Simon said it January 19, 2006! lol... (I'm creating a journal of quotes to give mi children and I tiefin dat right there, sorry) lol... |
#30 (permalink) | |
RasYardHindian
. ![]() |