Old 12-10-2005, 01:14 AM   #1 (permalink)
The Key

Credits: 1,046
Unity?

I see here through many posts our yearning and desire for acknowledgement of a higher power than ourselves...which is universal among us. That's a very good thing. It's also a good thing that we move in and out of religions and beliefs. That's good because it means that those of us on a spiritual road are searching for something beyond the books we've been given to learn from, the beliefs our parents may have instilled in us, for example, that don't quite sit right with us...

We will find in all religions and creeds the elements of history, nationalism, social values and economics. The other thing is in the purposeful assasination of our character as a people historically and spiritually. For example, if you are a Christian, where is your holy land ? If you are Judaic, where is your holy land? If you are a Muslim, where is your holy land? If you are a Buddist, where is your holy land? So...how is it that the oldest people on the planet who taught all others, who gave birth to all others, who gave civilization and science and spiritual concepts and even language now find themselves jumping over to Africa to go to someone elses holy land ??? Did our people not have their own ? Sure they did. Did they not have THEIR OWN HOLY BOOKS OR SPIRITUAL WRITINGS long before the Bible and Quran existed on this earth? Of course they did. Or, for those of us who are only able to see some things and not others, are we trying to say that WE WERE ON EARTH FOR MILLIONS OF YEARS WAITING IN HUTS FOR SOMEONE ELSE TO COME AND TEACH US ABOUT GOD OR A CREATOR?

History is a good thing and I find delight in it, but it can be dangerous also. Dangerous because of the emotional and mental energies it may cause someone to go through as they learn that which we have not been given yet...the truth. So we will see a post such as this for example:

"its funny how ppl will believe all dese lil chupidness dey does learn in history class, but when it comes to da Bible, dey want to question/doubt/not acknowledge the events taken place in da scriptures." hmmmm...Did not Job question God? Did not Moses question God? Did not Jeremiah question God? and others? Many questions are put to God in Psalms 10, 44, 74, 77. So why is it silly for some to question a book edited by man?

We have two world powers...one is religion and the other is politics. We can understand how politics became a world power, but how can religion or truth be a world power in the face of so much corruption?

"There must be understanding of and tolerance for other faiths. Once we strive for that, ppl will begin to come together."
Old 12-10-2005, 01:19 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wastin Time

Credits: 3,342
Originally Posted by Queen of Sanity
We have two world powers...one is religion and the other is politics. We can understand how politics became a world power, but how can religion or truth be a world power in the face of so much corruption?
[/I]

I disagree, I think there is one world power nowadays, religion and politics are one.
Old 12-10-2005, 01:34 AM   #3 (permalink)
The Key

Originally Posted by Dutty
I disagree, I think there is one world power nowadays, religion and politics are one.
I can totally understand they are one. Something I've been saying for years and have consciously separated the two for the benefit of not offending anyone giving a chance for someone like you to point this out. Now why did I not say that politics is a religion to begin with? Well, it has caused quite a stir in some discussions I have had in the past so I didn't want to cause a stir from the very start of this thread but to throw the statement out there to provoke thoughts. Religion has been the basis of most wars historically.
Old 12-10-2005, 02:11 AM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 701
Originally Posted by Queen of Sanity
So we will see a post such as this for example:

"its funny how ppl will believe all dese lil chupidness dey does learn in history class, but when it comes to da Bible, dey want to question/doubt/not acknowledge the events taken place in da scriptures." hmmmm...Did not Job question God? Did not Moses question God? Did not Jeremiah question God? and others? Many questions are put to God in Psalms 10, 44, 74, 77. So why is it silly for some to question a book edited by man?
I think it's highly unfair of you to misapply that quote out of context. The gist was that some of the "li'l chupidness" is readily lapped up by some, while yet still some live to question seemingly every little bit of minutiae. There's intellectual/academic probing and then there's 'negative activism' as I'd term it.

As for your last statement above...aren't history books edited by man? You're citing the experiences of prophets and holy men as detailed in the very book that you question...a bit curious, no?
Old 12-10-2005, 02:21 AM   #5 (permalink)

Credits: 701
Religion and politics may converge from time to time... but I'd hardly say that they're one. Nice to make random sound bites to score some cheap yuks...but can you substantiate what you claim? Which religion has become one with politics? Judaism in Israel...Islamic fundamentalism in Iran....Christian conservatism to some extent here in the US...but you'd be hard-pressed to mount a credible argument in support of it.

So despite this convergence on these varied fronts...still we don't see any one religion dominating global politics...therefore how can one credibly claim that they're ONE?
Old 12-10-2005, 02:57 AM   #6 (permalink)
Wastin Time

Credits: 3,342
Originally Posted by Bake n Shark
Religion and politics may converge from time to time... but I'd hardly say that they're one. Nice to make random sound bites to score some cheap yuks...but can you substantiate what you claim? Which religion has become one with politics? Judaism in Israel...Islamic fundamentalism in Iran....Christian conservatism to some extent here in the US...but you'd be hard-pressed to mount a credible argument in support of it.

So despite this convergence on these varied fronts...still we don't see any one religion dominating global politics...therefore how can one credibly claim that they're ONE?

random sound bites are the best

but let me rephrase

Religion and Government are One in these times.

when i meant one world power, i wasn't referring to the illumanati or one specific religion but what has combined to make one mess. (religion and politics)

What else is motivating this so called middle east crisis and the extreme christian conservatism in this country?

everyone fighting for the holy land. if not what then?

as for the world stage, islam, christianity and judaism no doubt have starring roles.

re: queen

how religion can be a world power in the face of corruption?

i think those two go hand in hand..moreso the men behind the religion not the religion itself..ppl just havent noticed i guess or care.
Old 12-12-2005, 12:06 AM   #7 (permalink)
The Key

Originally Posted by Bake n Shark
I think it's highly unfair of you to misapply that quote out of context. The gist was that some of the "li'l chupidness" is readily lapped up by some, while yet still some live to question seemingly every little bit of minutiae. There's intellectual/academic probing and then there's 'negative activism' as I'd term it.

As for your last statement above...aren't history books edited by man? You're citing the experiences of prophets and holy men as detailed in the very book that you question...a bit curious, no?
...and these very details in the bible wasn't edited by man? Don't get me wrong, Bakes, I do read the bible and take instruction from it as you do. I've been baptised, had my first communion, confirmation, and so on as it goes in de church while educated in Catholic School for several years. I'm one who asked a lot of questions during my youth, and when an elder or priest tells me "because the bible says so", well that just was not good enough for me b/c my next question was who wrote the bible and look how we still trying to find out who did. For those who believe god created the heavens and earth
The fact remains that I do believe in a Supreme Being but my goal is to serve in Truth and if it means I have to question the bible, I will do so. If you want to call it 'negative activism' so be it, dais your terms.

A co-worker shared a story from when he was a youth that touched me this week. He and his friends went door to door singing christmas carols for money. They knocked on this man's door and asked him if they can sing for him. The man said he has no money to give. My co-worker told the man money was not necessary, they'll do it for free. The man reluctantly said it was okay. His friends grumbled at the idea but obliged and sang the song anyway. This man invited them into his house to sing more carols along with his family. After they were done the man gave the boys a twenty dollar bill. He was a muslim and muslims do not celebrate Christmas. The boys thinking this was the way to get their money, afterwards went door to door telling folks they will sing for free but no one offered them any money (the ones who believe in Christmas). This muslim (HIS holy book being the Quran) obviously had more christmas spirit than those other christians, no?

This is not my personal story but my point is again, "There must be understanding of and tolerance for other faiths. Once we strive for that, ppl will begin to come together."

"Wherefore brethren, we ought the more diligently to inquire after those things that belong to our salvation, that the adversary may not have any entrance into us, and deprive us of our spiritual life."

"Forasmuch then as we are not without understanding, we ought to apprehend the design of our merciful Father. For he speaks to us, being willing that we who have been in the same error about the sacrifices, should seek and find how to approach unto him." - Epistle of Barnabas
Old 12-12-2005, 12:10 AM   #8 (permalink)
The Key

re: queen

how religion can be a world power in the face of corruption?

i think those two go hand in hand..moreso the men behind the religion not the religion itself..ppl just havent noticed i guess or care.
Old 12-12-2005, 09:47 AM   #9 (permalink)
RasYardHindian

Credits: 359
I think they are one nowadays depending on what part of the world you are from. It is no secret that the worlds political matters were controlled by religion, especially when we think of the Western World. - which was basically founded from the Treaty Of Tordesillas in which the Pope decided who was going to get where.

The present day US is probably the prototype for countries where politics and religion are completely independent, as per the 1st Amendment (laws cant be founded based on religion).

If you look at the East; Afghanistan for instance, was ruled under Sharia Law - radical Muslim laws, making that country's politics and religion, one.