Old 11-13-2005, 12:41 PM   #16 (permalink)

Credits: 26,938
Originally Posted by Blunt Griot
Yea but if you tithing, you mind will lead you to some out the way place to find Dolce & Gabana at a significantly reduced price. And you find that used Benz for $13-15K while everywhere else have it at $18-25K. It ent have no better bargain shopper than God....I've seen it happen time and time again. I once went to Hechts and got a designer sweater for less than $20. The thing retailed for about $75
WOW... is all i can say
Old 11-13-2005, 02:20 PM   #17 (permalink)
Unregistered User

Credits: 2,905
Originally Posted by Trinikiz
Can someone give me a testimony please. Have it worked for you. Do you still meet all your bills on time. Do you leave your bills unpaid to pay tithes?

Lastly do you believe in tithing?
When I tithe I tithe in faith. The lord asks for 10% and when I can afford it he gets 10%. I'm not gonna let my car get reposessed over tithing. I give what I can. Yes some church officials are crooked but I am not going to church to watch them. Let God deal with them.

This lady from my church was living paycheck to paycheck but she made sure she paid her 10% every month. She prayed and asked God for a new job and she increased her tithes to 15%. Within 2 months she found a job that was paying her $3 more per hour then her employer offered her $5 more per hour.

Another thing...I don't see anything wrong with a pastor driving a nice car and his wife wearing expensive clothes. Most pastor's wives I know have a job. Also, why must someone not look good just because they are a pastor?
Old 11-13-2005, 03:05 PM   #18 (permalink)
Freedom

Credits: 11,989
Cool

I believe in tithing. I give my 10% for tithes. I always hear about people complaining about the crooked pastors and such. Dies why I'm glad that the denomination I belong to doesn't operate in such a manner. The offerings are kept in the local church to pay for church expenses and programs. The tithes goes to the conference. The conference is the one who pays the pastors. Now get this. Whether you're a pastor of a 5000 member congregation or a 5 member congregation, you get the same salary. This is good, because now the pastor can worry about preaching the BIBLE and the BIBLE alone. Many pastors in these other denominations can't preach the Bible alone cause it might OFFEND some of their members which causes the members not to come back which cause a loss of revenue for them which means less and less and less $$$$ for them. Hence they preach what the members want to hear and not what they NEED to hear. A pastor job is to spread the gospel. period!! Not beg dey members tuh help pay fuh de fuel dat go into he LearJet!! Tithing works. You do it not to get blessings, but in faith. God will bless you. I am a living witness!!
Old 11-14-2005, 08:07 AM   #19 (permalink)
Kiz

Credits: 34,771
Is tithing 10% of your Base(before taxes) pay or your Net (take home)pay?
Old 11-14-2005, 09:44 AM   #20 (permalink)
Registered Introvert

Credits: 1,042
Is tithing 10% of your Base(before taxes) pay or your Net (take home)pay?
I tithe on my net. Remember Jesus himself said "render unto Cesear what is Cesear's." So after dey tek dey taxes I tithe off of that. But I know people who do it off the gross/Base but they said they were led to do so by God.
Old 11-14-2005, 09:46 AM   #21 (permalink)
Registered Introvert

Mis understood you question. Sorry. Tithing is off your net. At least that's what I was told. So that's what I've been doing.
Old 11-14-2005, 09:50 AM   #22 (permalink)
Kiz

Originally Posted by Blunt Griot
Mis understood you question. Sorry. Tithing is off your net. At least that's what I was told. So that's what I've been doing.

I was told 10% of ones Base Pay.
Old 11-14-2005, 10:14 AM   #23 (permalink)
She

Credits: 3,681
I like this question...

They do say tithing is supposed to be 10% of your income. I am not a member of a church; however, when I do go to church I do not give 10%. The tithing is something that is based on faith such as religion. So, when you give up ur 10%, you are supposed to have faith in God that you will recieve that monay back, bills will be paid etc.
Old 11-14-2005, 10:43 AM   #24 (permalink)

Credits: 9,358
so de 10% of your salary ting dont mek it for you den.

I was thinking. If I give tithes and pray that God will bless me abundantly for giving him his share of my income and the pastor/church is doing whatever wid it, does it make me look like a fool or is it on the pastors head and my conscious is clear.
I don't tithe for selfish reasons which I'm trying to shake...plus I haven't found a 'church home' yet. I do believe in tithing though and have seen some of my friends become really blessed financially and otherwise with committed tithing. Can I honestly say one is related to the other? No...but I'll step out on faith and make the correlation if I had to.

I'll give my money towards God's purposes...whatever is done with God's money after that is between God and the person who misappropriated it. As for this focus on what the pastor is driving and what not...that's the least of my concern, the pastor deserves a salary commiserate to his worth/value to the church. If the church and it's board deems it appropriate to give him a big salary then so be it...and if he's rich enough to afford a Benz then why shouldn't he drive one? Why we paying so much attention to other peoples' business anyways? We pay taxes begrudginly but without fail...I'm yet to see anybody say, I'm not paying tax because I don't want to help pay for some Congressman/Government lawyer type's Benz or Beamer.
Old 11-14-2005, 11:38 AM   #25 (permalink)
Kiz

Originally Posted by buss up shot
They do say tithing is supposed to be 10% of your income. I am not a member of a church; however, when I do go to church I do not give 10%. The tithing is something that is based on faith such as religion. So, when you give up ur 10%, you are supposed to have faith in God that you will recieve that monay back, bills will be paid etc.

bottom line!

Last edited by Kiz; 11-14-2005 at 11:44 AM..
Old 11-14-2005, 11:51 AM   #26 (permalink)
Kiz

Originally Posted by Bake n Shark
I don't tithe for selfish reasons which I'm trying to shake...plus I haven't found a 'church home' yet. I do believe in tithing though and have seen some of my friends become really blessed financially and otherwise with committed tithing. Can I honestly say one is related to the other? No...but I'll step out on faith and make the correlation if I had to.

I'll give my money towards God's purposes...whatever is done with God's money after that is between God and the person who misappropriated it. As for this focus on what the pastor is driving and what not...that's the least of my concern, the pastor deserves a salary commiserate to his worth/value to the church. If the church and it's board deems it appropriate to give him a big salary then so be it...and if he's rich enough to afford a Benz then why shouldn't he drive one? Why we paying so much attention to other peoples' business anyways? We pay taxes begrudginly but without fail...I'm yet to see anybody say, I'm not paying tax because I don't want to help pay for some Congressman/Government lawyer type's Benz or Beamer.
true true
Old 11-14-2005, 12:47 PM   #27 (permalink)
Welcome to Roti Bell.

Credits: 705
Originally Posted by Bake n Shark
.... We pay taxes begrudginly but without fail...I'm yet to see anybody say, I'm not paying tax because I don't want to help pay for some Congressman/Government lawyer type's Benz or Beamer.
Nice! I borrowing this from you. Someone said to render unto Caesar what is Caesar's. We use Caesar's roads, hospitals, schools etc, so we pay Caesar's taxes. But the verse continues, "... and unto God the things that are God's." This may be my own condemnation, because this is one area in which I'm seriously lacking. I've been dillegently paying taxes as if Caesar is in possession of, or has authority over, anything that isn't the Lord's in the first place.
Mal 3:8 Will a man rob God? Yet ye have robbed me. But ye say, Wherein have we robbed thee? In tithes and offerings.
Mal 3:9 Ye are cursed with a curse: for ye have robbed me, even this whole nation.
Mal 3:10 Bring ye all the tithes into the storehouse, that there may be meat in mine house, and prove me now herewith, saith the LORD of hosts, if I will not open you the windows of heaven, and pour you out a blessing, that there shall not be room enough to receive it.
Tithing carries promise and "The Lord is not slack concerning his promise ... 2 Pet 3:9" I need to start doing better.
Old 11-14-2005, 01:03 PM   #28 (permalink)
Kiz

Originally Posted by Agony
Nice! I borrowing this from you. Someone said to render unto Caesar what is Caesar's. We use Caesar's roads, hospitals, schools etc, so we pay Caesar's taxes. But the verse continues, "... and unto God the things that are God's." This may be my own condemnation, because this is one area in which I'm seriously lacking. I've been dillegently paying taxes as if Caesar is in possession of, or has authority over, anything that isn't the Lord's in the first place.
Mal 3:8 Will a man rob God? Yet ye have robbed me. But ye say, Wherein have we robbed thee? In tithes and offerings.
Mal 3:9 Ye are cursed with a curse: for ye have robbed me, even this whole nation.
Mal 3:10 Bring ye all the tithes into the storehouse, that there may be meat in mine house, and prove me now herewith, saith the LORD of hosts, if I will not open you the windows of heaven, and pour you out a blessing, that there shall not be room enough to receive it.
Tithing carries promise and "The Lord is not slack concerning his promise ... 2 Pet 3:9" I need to start doing better.

I will prove this starting Friday
Old 11-14-2005, 02:27 PM   #29 (permalink)
Registered Introvert

I will prove this starting Friday
Dont try to prove. Just believe.....If you set out to prove I don't think you will see results because of your intent/intention is wrong. Tithe because you believe. Tithe because you obey. Tithe because you have faith. But if you are looking for a direct cause & effect thing to happen it wont. Just tithe without expecting anything.....it might take a day, a week, a month, a year before you see the benefits of it (the actually time depends on your relationship with God) but don't expect an immediate reciprocal release from God. Because you giving to get and it does not work so with God.
Old 11-14-2005, 02:31 PM   #30 (permalink)
Registered Introvert

Originally Posted by Agony
Dont start just do it! beginning with your next paycheck. Even if you dont feel like it just obey. Tithing has help me greatly that's all I can say.