Old 11-13-2005, 12:33 PM   #1 (permalink)
Kiz

Credits: 14,066
Tithing

Can someone give me a testimony please. Have it worked for you. Do you still meet all your bills on time. Do you leave your bills unpaid to pay tithes?

Lastly do you believe in tithing?
Old 11-13-2005, 12:46 PM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 19,794

Originally Posted by Trinikiz
Can someone give me a testimony please. Have it worked for you. Do you still meet all your bills on time. Do you leave your bills unpaid to pay tithes?

I have not found a church dat was not crooked as yet...and I refuse 2 contribute 2 de pastor Benz payment

So no...
Old 11-13-2005, 12:48 PM   #3 (permalink)
Kiz

Originally Posted by 1trini-gyal
I have not found a church dat was not crooked as yet...and I refuse 2 contribute 2 de pastor Benz payment

So no...

what do you think tithes is for? Do you think it is necessary
Old 11-13-2005, 12:50 PM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 2,709
i believe that if you worship in a church.. you should give something.. because the church does not exist for free.. but as for demanding a certain percent of my salary.... nah.. dat nah mek it..
Old 11-13-2005, 12:54 PM   #5 (permalink)
Kiz

Originally Posted by Trinibaje
i believe that if you worship in a church.. you should give something.. because the church does not exist for free.. but as for demanding a certain percent of my salary.... nah.. dat nah mek it..

so de 10% of your salary ting dont mek it for you den.

I was thinking. If I give tithes and pray that God will bless me abundantly for giving him his share of my income and the pastor/church is doing whatever wid it, does it make me look like a fool or is it on the pastors head and my conscious is clear.
Old 11-13-2005, 12:55 PM   #6 (permalink)

I always was taught tithes were 2 help support the work of the church and to help them spread the supposed word of God...

However..when i see pastors wid luxury cars, dem wifes wearing big furs and diamonds...and I know damn well dem not wukkin nowhere but de church...it leads me 2 believe it is not always necessary...or that it is in over abundance..which should be given back 2 de members...which it is not...and there are many folks out there that will leave their bills unpaid 2 contribute, hoping 2 be giving 2 a good cause...

For de good churches out there ( I have faith there are some though I have not found any) who are struggling 2 keep their doors open 2 give de congregation somewhere 2 worship...then yes it is necessary because that is de only source of income 2 keep lights on. mtg paid, etc...
Old 11-13-2005, 12:55 PM   #7 (permalink)

Credits: 42
not at all sometime dey jus askin for tooo much
Old 11-13-2005, 12:58 PM   #8 (permalink)

so de 10% of your salary ting dont mek it for you den.

I was thinking. If I give tithes and pray that God will bless me abundantly for giving him his share of my income and the pastor/church is doing whatever wid it, does it make me look like a fool or is it on the pastors head and my conscious is clear.

I would say a lil of boVh...more de latter...

but if you know good and well de pastor and dem crooked..I would say you would do just as well (if not better giving directly 2 those that are really needy
Old 11-13-2005, 12:58 PM   #9 (permalink)
Kiz

I always was taught tithes were 2 help support the work of the church and to help them spread the supposed word of God...

However..when i see pastors wid luxury cars, dem wifes wearing big furs and diamonds...and I know damn well dem not wukkin nowhere but de church...it leads me 2 believe it is not always necessary...or that it is in over abundance..which should be given back 2 de members...which it is not...and there are many folks out there that will leave their bills unpaid 2 contribute, hoping 2 be giving 2 a good cause...

For de good churches out there ( I have faith there are some though I have not found any) who are struggling 2 keep their doors open 2 give de congregation somewhere 2 worship...then yes it is necessary because that is de only source of income 2 keep lights on. mtg paid, etc...
oh ok. I was under the impression that tithes was for the upkeep of the church and for the pastor
Old 11-13-2005, 12:59 PM   #10 (permalink)
Kiz

I would say a lil of boVh...more de latter...

but if you know good and well de pastor and dem crooked..I would say you would do just as well (if not better giving directly 2 those that are really needy

got me thinking
Old 11-13-2005, 01:04 PM   #11 (permalink)

Credits: 2,709
oh ok. I was under the impression that tithes was for the upkeep of the church and for the pastor

for there are several churches in Little Haiti, here in miami, whose members are giving 10% of they tiny salaries for a church that exists as a store front in a dingy shopping mall, yet the pastor driving a Mercedes and his wife coming to church with Dolce and Gabana....
Old 11-13-2005, 01:07 PM   #12 (permalink)
Closet Exhibitionist

Credits: 3,309
for there are several churches in Little Haiti, here in miami, whose members are giving 10% of they tiny salaries for a church that exists as a store front in a dingy shopping mall, yet the pastor driving a Mercedes and his wife coming to church with Dolce and Gabana....
I always question tithing for that reason... but I get buff by one of my aunts..she said America brainwashing me....
Old 11-13-2005, 01:09 PM   #13 (permalink)

exactly meh point
Old 11-13-2005, 01:23 PM   #14 (permalink)
Registered Introvert

Credits: 530

Yes I believe in tithing. Yes it works for me, I still meet all my bills ontime and sometimes I get more (either moneywise or materially). I started with 10% and now I'm up to 15%. The first thing I do after making a deposit is to write out the 15% to Joyce Meyers Ministries and then mail the check. Joyce Meyers is the first preacher to really talk about "how to" get closer to God, and "how to" apply the word on a practical, daily basis. At least for me...
For those of you saying that the preacher/pastor misappropriating the funds....don't worry about it. Your job is to obey God and tithe at least 10% of your income (first fruits) to whoever/whatever organization is feeding you the Word. If they are abusing it, eventually they will be exposed. God don't play dat!!!! If you don't believe me look at Tammy Faye Baker.....she reduced to make appearances on the Surreal World with Ron Jeremy (grandfadda of porn), Vanilla Ice, Erika Estrada and a bunch of washed up entertainers.
Bottom line is that tithing working for me. The other day I get a pair of KYB gas struts for meh car for $130 + $35 shipping....KYB gas struts retial for $115 a piece!! I get a pair for $130. That people is God looking out for you! No Boost!! or maybe I shoud say Boost to God!
Old 11-13-2005, 01:28 PM   #15 (permalink)
Registered Introvert

Credits: 530
Yea but if you tithing, you mind will lead you to some out the way place to find Dolce & Gabana at a significantly reduced price. And you find that used Benz for $13-15K while everywhere else have it at $18-25K. It ent have no better bargain shopper than God....I've seen it happen time and time again. I once went to Hechts and got a designer sweater for less than $20. The thing retailed for about $75