aka Karl Logan
Credits: 768
The Third Jesus: The Christ We Cannot Ignore
by Deepak Chopra
Who is Jesus Christ? In The Third Jesus, bestselling author and spiritual leader Deepak Chopra provides an answer to this question that is both a challenge to current systems of belief and a fresh perspective on what Jesus can teach us all, regardless of our religious background. There is not one Jesus, Chopra writes, but three. Third Jesus video First, there is the historical Jesus, the man who lived more than two thousand years ago and whose teachings are the foundation of Christian theology and thought. Next there is Jesus the Son of God, who has come to embody an institutional religion with specific dogma, a priesthood, and devout believers. And finally, there is the third Jesus, the cosmic Christ, the spiritual guide whose teaching embraces all humanity, not just the church built in his name. He speaks to the individual who wants to find God as a personal experience, to attain what some might call grace, or God-consciousness, or enlightenment. When we take Jesus literally, we are faced with the impossible. How can we truly “love thy neighbor as thyself”? But when we see the exhortations of Jesus as invitations to join him on a higher spiritual plane, his words suddenly make sense. Ultimately, Chopra argues, Christianity needs to overcome its tendency to be exclusionary and refocus on being a religion of personal insight and spiritual growth. In this way Jesus can be seen for the universal teacher he truly is–someone whose teachings of compassion, tolerance, and understanding can embrace and be embraced by all of us [ame=http://www.brightcove.tv/title.jsp?title=1417398861]Deepak Chopra Speaks of Latest Book - Brightcove[/ame] |
Credits: 4,861
Chopra start bad; there was no historical Jesus, at least not any Jesus whose teachings became the "foundation of Christian theology and thought"; that is a amalgam of already existing Pharasaic philosopy and the Wisdom Teachings of Egypt, India and Sumer. I mean, this has been known and spoken about for years, when will the Deepak Chopras of the world just tell their readers that and stop perpetuating what even they know is not correct? If he was to speak openly about the patricentric cultural ideologies that fed Western Xianity (like Judaism before it) perhaps more people would finally come to understand just why the religion paints itself as this exclusionary faith, different and superior to all others. Personal insight and growth was never part of the Western Christian ethic, otherwise the Gnostics would not have been wiped out. |
Credits: 23,659
Have you ever considered that the Jesus could indeed be the personification of the existing philosophies. This would meaning that the different "Jesus" would be just the same teaching being viewed through a different lens
In which case, Oneshot, one still has no legitimate justification for putting Xianity up on the pedestal of exclusivity or superiority. In fact for centuries people have been pointing out that it's the same teachings but just altered according to culture.
Another thing, the idea that Jesus is the "personification of the existing philosophies" wasn't unique either. At the same time, and this always amuses me, to use this rationale in effect means that Christians are as guilty of the same "idolatry" they like to accuse other faiths of being. |
aka Karl Logan
![]() In reading this brief synopsis, I think the author is trying to reach the hardliners of the faith that have driven the overall direction of western thought for the past several years. I think that this book will provide a safe area for people who are not comfortable with anyone talking about "There" Jesus. In plan on buying it. to check it out! ![]() I'm good man. Got this new gig and they lock off every other site except this site of all sites! ![]() |
Credits: 3,231
Wow!
I have to agree with Deepak thesis so far. I was brought up Christian But most times I feel like an alien in the church Hypocrisy and Egos rule... The preservation of Traditions more important than human beings Thats not the Jesus. Jesus could not stand the established church - the Scribes and pharissees. He prefered the company of "sinners" to the hypocrisy of the "righteous" The third Jesus according to Deepak makes more sense for Humanists like me. [QUOTE=kevlocks;2920029]by Deepak Chopra Who is Jesus Christ? In The Third Jesus, bestselling author and spiritual leader Deepak Chopra provides an answer to this question that is both a challenge to current systems of belief and a fresh perspective on what Jesus can teach us all, regardless of our religious background. There is not one Jesus, Chopra writes, but three. Third Jesus video First, there is the historical Jesus, the man who lived more than two thousand years ago and whose teachings are the foundation of Christian theology and thought. Next there is Jesus the Son of God, who has come to embody an institutional religion with specific dogma, a priesthood, and devout believers. And finally, there is the third Jesus, the cosmic Christ, the spiritual guide whose teaching embraces all humanity, not just the church built in his name. He speaks to the individual who wants to find God as a personal experience, to attain what some might call grace, or God-consciousness, or enlightenment. When we take Jesus literally, we are faced with the impossible. How can we truly “love thy neighbor as thyself”? But when we see the exhortations of Jesus as invitations to join him on a higher spiritual plane, his words suddenly make sense. Ultimately, Chopra argues, Christianity needs to overcome its tendency to be exclusionary and refocus on being a religion of personal insight and spiritual growth. In this way Jesus can be seen for the universal teacher he truly is–someone whose teachings of compassion, tolerance, and understanding can embrace and be embraced by all of us |
como el lindo clave
Credits: 4,901
that guy is going to hell
and we dont really know if there was a historical jesus or not |
Try not to miss the message that we should choose GOD over religion, Choose Inspiration over dogma...choose LOVE over scripture. |
Credits: 23,659
True never said otherwise, but you have to appreciate that religion does serve a function in governing the masses. By seeking out this spiritual nature of man you may be release him from the protective barrier that his mind should belong.
It also serves a cultural and social function - church is still a good place to meet some nice ladies. ![]() |
#11 (permalink) | |||
aka Karl Logan
: |
|||
aka Karl Logan
who Jah bless no man cus
Credits: 534
Greetings Mr.Logan long time.....
Intresting read
#14 (permalink) | |||
It sure as hell is the subject of my own (if I could only find the time to finish the damn thing). And why should we not discuss the question of the Gospel Jesus' so-called historicity - long since decided anyway in many other blogs and conferences, if what I've read and participated in among the more "white" oriented sites is any indication. It's either yuh want to change the ills plauging society or yuh don't, why de half-pick duck approach? What is there to be afraid of? Many whites don't seem to have a problem in understanding the fact that the thing is largely a myth so why should we still be ducking it? Last edited by Ananci_7; 11-22-2008 at 07:37 AM.. |
|||
aka Karl Logan
Bless Up Bossman
AND WHEN THE HECK ARE YOU GONNA BE FINISHED WITH THAT BOOK ![]() |
if u dont think there was a real jesus
You must DIE! Do you still want to follow the Bible literally?