Old 12-08-2005, 10:38 AM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 4,506
Religious Stigma??

I'm actually getting tired of being labeled as such by my appearance. (Kevy n' Cocoa allyuh remember my 1st situation in a cab??)So I have mi hair twist up, I wear a red/gold/n' green scarf, I sometimes love to tie my head, I love afrocentric buttons with images of Marcus Garvey and patches on my shirt sleeve ... why do I enter a cab this morning and when I get in he has the radio on. So like me on my regular day I say "good day, where I'm going and I slip on my music in my ear for inspiration." So I'm not studying the man, I guess he changed the music to some Gospel music, he taps me and says "why aren't you listening to the music I put on for you??"... I'm like huh, I said thank you for the thought, but you didn't tell me that so how I'm supposed to assume especially when I'm listening to something else and you had the radio playing. Then he starts asking me if I'm Christian and all these set of questions about church... I realized we reached to my destination by the time he finish asking me all them questions, so I bid good day. This is not the first time, but why do people especially the people in my community feel that they must try and press the religious issue on some they feel are probably in their mind not saved, church going or some rasta not on the right path,m and even take it to levels of acting like a missionary?? Have anything like this happen to you?
Old 12-08-2005, 10:44 AM   #2 (permalink)
Freedom

Credits: 6,413
Cool

Originally Posted by HoneyEmpress
I'm actually getting tired of being labeled as such by my appearance. (Kevy n' Cocoa allyuh remember my 1st situation in a cab??)So I have mi hair twist up, I wear a red/gold/n' green scarf, I sometimes love to tie my head, I love afrocentric buttons with images of Marcus Garvey and patches on my shirt sleeve ... why do I enter a cab this morning and when I get in he has the radio on. So like me on my regular day I say "good day, where I'm going and I slip on my music in my ear for inspiration." So I'm not studying the man, I guess he changed the music to some Gospel music, he taps me and says "why aren't you listening to the music I put on for you??"... I'm like huh, I said thank you for the thought, but you didn't tell me that so how I'm supposed to assume especially when I'm listening to something else and you had the radio playing. Then he starts asking me if I'm Christian and all these set of questions about church... I realized we reached to my destination by the time he finish asking me all them questions, so I bid good day. This is not the first time, but why do people especially the people in my community feel that they must try and press the religious issue on some they feel are probably in their mind not saved, church going or some rasta not on the right path,m and even take it to levels of acting like a missionary?? Have anything like this happen to you?
Dude what's the big deal?? maybe I view things different, but say thanks and move on. Damn at least he wasn't blastin rap or hip hop.
Old 12-08-2005, 11:03 AM   #3 (permalink)
L O S T

Credits: 43,465
intersting
Old 12-08-2005, 11:05 AM   #4 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Soca Taliban
Dude what's the big deal?? maybe I view things different, but say thanks and move on. Damn at least he wasn't blastin rap or hip hop.
we all view things differently, no? lol... It's not so much of him blasting gospel my dear, I actually didn't mind it, BUT it's when he taps me as if I should've known he was playing it for me 1 and 2 the fact that after he feels that he has to question my every religious orientation... The questions came across as if why don't you go to church anymore, are you christian? I know it may not be serious to you, but I posted this to see if this has ever happened to anyone else, especially someone who perhaps may have locs or who may dress a certain way.
Old 12-08-2005, 11:08 AM   #5 (permalink)
Freedom

Cool

Originally Posted by HoneyEmpress
we all view things differently, no? lol... It's not so much of him blasting gospel my dear, I actually didn't mind it, BUT it's when he taps me as if I should've known he was playing it for me 1 and 2 the fact that after he feels that he has to question my every religious orientation... The questions came across as if why don't you go to church anymore, are you christian? I know it may not be serious to you, but I posted this to see if this has ever happened to anyone else, especially someone who perhaps may have locs or who may dress a certain way.
Cool, that could've been a perfect time to share with him your faith. Well if you had more time. Yuh never know God may have been testing you, a kind an positive answer could've or may have had something impact in his life. Always things to think about.
Old 12-08-2005, 11:24 AM   #6 (permalink)

Cool, that could've been a perfect time to share with him your faith. Well if you had more time. Yuh never know God may have been testing you, a kind an positive answer could've or may have had something impact in his life. Always things to think about.

Actually the last thing I asked for was his car number because this is my regular cab service and I will definitely request him on a day that will give us time to talk. I do love conversation and dialogue, but when someone appraoches on such a defensive level, that's a total TURNOFF. You're right about the test, I know it could've been that at such... but looking at the time period, the way he approached me, it was all too FRONTAL and too CRITICAL, and this early morning I had to be humble and leave the convo...
Old 12-08-2005, 02:43 PM   #7 (permalink)
aka Karl Logan

Credits: 878
wow!!!

(This happened AGAIN!!!!) YOU know what you need to do

In any event, this is a case where a person feels as though they need to let you know the way that you are carrying yourself is wrong and you need to correct it. Now, is it right for him to think this way, FACK NO. However, you know the society we live in and how morally screwed we are.

I actaully agree with Tali in the fact that it's a "test" (as I said, you know what you need to do).Pass or fail is irrelevant. What you learn versus what you didn't learn from that expereince is all that matters!
Old 12-08-2005, 02:46 PM   #8 (permalink)
Freedom

Cool

Originally Posted by kevlocks
this is a case where a person feels as though they need to let you know the way that you are carrying yourself is wrong and you need to correct it. Now, is it right for him to think this way,
I hate tuh hear this word thrown around on IMIX and I almost never use it, but this my friend is judging. How you know what he thinking? You is God? If yuh is den........ All d bad things ah does say tuh IMIXERS, ah sorry!
Old 12-08-2005, 02:55 PM   #9 (permalink)
aka Karl Logan

Credits: 878
I hate tuh hear this word thrown around on IMIX and I almost never use it, but this my friend is judging. How you know what he thinking? You is God? If yuh is den........ All d bad things ah does say tuh IMIXERS, ah sorry!
True as this may be, I too have had this happen to me. As you said I cannot judge his actions, but I can speak from experience.
Old 12-08-2005, 03:00 PM   #10 (permalink)
Freedom

Cool

Originally Posted by kevlocks
True as this may be, I too have had this happen to me. As you said I cannot judge his actions, but I can speak from experience.
No, his actions you can judge, but his motive you can't.