Old 11-09-2005, 11:32 AM   #1 (permalink)
RasYardHindian

Credits: 358
RE Agony's Prayer..

I wouldnt want to be that savage who will desecrate such a tribute..
however most of you R+S thread Aficiansdo's know my position on Christianity.
It is never my intention to make Christianity a "whiping boy" or even to be-little the system. However is it my intention to highlight some inconsistencies I see in it,and others - for my own benefit no less.
I dont know If I said this before , but my goal is to understand the nature of man on a level beyond subscribing to any one thing. There are certain commonalities we all share. There are valid points in most systems as far as answering the fundamental questions

- Who Am I?
- From where I came?
- What is my purpose?

My study is rather intense at times, and at times the transmitting of what I have understood may seem arrogant or ignorant - and it is to some extent.
This leads me to question certain things which I fail to understand; some of them I have a full understanding of - for instance the question of the existence of God.

That I will answer positively with a firm YES. i.e. Mankind is of Divine origin - There absolutely is the transcendantal, all pervading, permeating force present in the universe which connects us all - and I'll dare any aetheist to debate these matters with me at any time (..he's being arrogant again) - and I'll win ; whether an adversary debates from the standpoint of time being a continuum or being linear. (too easy) ...

This leads me to the question which I ask any Jew, Christian, Muslim or anyone who fully understand this, and if you have read the above you may realize that this is in now way or fashion a question of the existence of God....

What makes one believe that there is a Messiah, one who will return from the heavens to judge the living and the dead. and to place the unworthy in everlasting fire and the worthy in eternal bliss?
Old 11-09-2005, 01:09 PM   #2 (permalink)
30 Never looked this good

Credits: 17,434
Originally Posted by Simple Simon
What makes one believe that there is a Messiah, one who will return from the heavens to judge the living and the dead.
Faith makes me believe in Christ, and His soon return. The Word outlines what will take place, and I am convinced in my mind that it is unfolding.

If at the end of time, I discover that my belief was wrong, I would be happier having believed in Christ during my life than not at all.
Old 11-09-2005, 01:16 PM   #3 (permalink)
RasYardHindian

Originally Posted by triniprincess76
Faith makes me believe in Christ, and His soon return. The Word outlines what will take place, and I am convinced in my mind that it is unfolding.

If at the end of time, I discover that my belief was wrong, I would be happier having believed in Christ during my life than not at all.
I can respect your answer ...thank you. tho I wish you answered the judgement part of it.. what you said was enough tho

I expect that if others answer they will share the same ideology as you.
Old 11-09-2005, 02:56 PM   #4 (permalink)
Welcome to Roti Bell.

Credits: 173
Choice

Certainly I believe that this universe, this earth and all that inhabits it, are the handiwork of the Creator. Rev 4:11, "Thou art worthy, O Lord, to receive glory and honour and power: for thou hast created all things, and for thy pleasure they are and were created." Just as the angels, we too were given the ability to choose; free will. We were made to love, worship and serve Him, but to do so willingly. After all, a gift demanded is no gift at all. One saw fit to question the authority of God. But God is good, He is patient, infinitely wise and just. That rebellious one could have been obliterated from existence, but a true and just God wouldn't do that. The Lord stands accused of being unfair; mandating that we must obey Him.

Why must we obey God? Why are we not free to serve our own interests? Well, here we are, on Earth. The accuser has been given his opportunity to make his case. We have our chance to demonstrate what serving our own interests will accomplish. This world chose to go against the will of God. God is a parent appealing to a wayward child. Anything against the will of God is chaos, it is sin, it leads to destruction. Does the Creator still have to provide for His creations when they reject Him? No. But He's such a loving God, He does it anyway, but only for a time.

We weren't left alone, clueless, to find our own solution to our prison of sin and senetence of death. Like a truly concerned Father, He has made every effort to reconcile us unto Him. He wants to restore what we've forfeited in our selfishness. His Son left His place of glory and took on the nature of man, so that none could ever say that He does not know what it's like to live in a sinful world. The accuser seized upon the opportunity to destroy the Son of God, but his plan failed. Because the Saviour lives, we now have a way to earn a place in the Kingdom of God.

If you accept His sacrifice and acknowledge that He is indeed worthy to be praised, if you choose from here onward to do His will, then you can reap that reward. How much more could a parent do, to show that they would do anything to save their children? How else can we be assured of forgiveness and reconciliation, but by an undeniable offering of love from our Father? How else can He be assured of our true repentance, but save we do as He asks? Joh 3:16 and 17, "For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life. For God sent not his Son into the world to condemn the world; but that the world through him might be saved."

Never let it be said that the Lord is a persecutor just waiting to see who he can incinerate in the end. 2 Pet 3:9, "The Lord is not slack concerning his promise, as some men count slackness; but is longsuffering to us-ward, not willing that any should perish, but that all should come to repentance." The way is made clear and we have been given more than sufficient time. We have a choice to make and it is by our choice that we are to be judged. We each either accept or reject Him.
Old 11-09-2005, 04:19 PM   #5 (permalink)
RasYardHindian

you post is duly noted Agony....

but like the Princess did, would you give a direct answer from your own understanding without the bible verses..one from the heart -
Old 11-09-2005, 04:22 PM   #6 (permalink)
Welcome to Roti Bell.

Credits: 173

but like the Princess did, would you give a direct answer from your own understanding without the bible verses..one from the heart -
That's exactly what I did.
Old 11-09-2005, 04:29 PM   #7 (permalink)
RasYardHindian

Originally Posted by Agony
That's exactly what I did.
OK...
Old 11-10-2005, 09:16 AM   #8 (permalink)
Freedom

Credits: 6,412
Cool

I think dies ah shupid request. If de man bases his belief on something and uses it to build the foundation for his belief den how yuh could ask d man tuh doh use where he derived his belief from. Seems kinda silly don't you think?
Old 11-10-2005, 10:56 AM   #9 (permalink)
RasYardHindian

Originally Posted by Soca Taliban
I think dies ah shupid request. If de man bases his belief on something and uses it to build the foundation for his belief den how yuh could ask d man tuh doh use where he derived his belief from. Seems kinda silly don't you think?
whats kinda silly is you not seeing where I said his answer was noted... did you see the ?