Old 10-02-2006, 05:37 PM   #1 (permalink)
RasYardHindian

Credits: 356
Rastafarians / Supporters ..

What makes someone a Rastafarian?

in my opinion:
- it is the acceptance of Haile Sellasie as the incarnation of God (Jesus Christ).
- acknowledgment of bible tenets; in particular Numbers 6, and Psalm 68
- a belief that Marcus Garvey was a prophet.

what say u?

Last edited by Simon S; 10-02-2006 at 08:01 PM..
Old 10-02-2006, 06:06 PM   #2 (permalink)
Alliouagana Garveyite

Credits: 2,203
Originally Posted by Simon S View Post

what say u?

I seh belief in

-the prescence of JAH in all tings

-spreading JAH message thru the principles such as MAAT(truth, justice, harmony, balance, cosmological order, reciprocity, and propriety ) Moral integrity

- reverence for Marcus Garvey, Haile Selassie , Leonard P.Howell , as Prophets to the message that embodies Rastafari (Jah Glory)

-LOVE AND RIGHTEOUSNESS
Educate our people to free our minds and develop our consciousness

Mwongozi Cudjoe (Chedmond Browne)
Chairman of Free Montserrat United Movement
Old 10-02-2006, 08:00 PM   #3 (permalink)
RasYardHindian

I forgot to post another reason. In my effort to not sugar coat this I must add it.

- rejection of the ideology/principles/laws of racist supremist devils.

"bunnin Babylon" didnt just fall out of the sky
Old 10-02-2006, 08:10 PM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 24,364
Read:

Marcus Garvey and Haile Selassie were not enemies; nor were they friends.
http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/amex/garvey/...f_forum_4.html

Editorial by Marcus Garvey in the Black Man - London, March/April 1937

THE FAILURE OF HAILE SELASSIE AS EMPEROR
http://www.jamaicans.com/culture/ras...ditorial.shtml
Old 10-02-2006, 08:20 PM   #5 (permalink)
RasYardHindian

maybe a good read, but dont rock the boat yet. Sellasie and Garvey's relationship in that context was not relevant to the creation of Rastafarianism. Garvey and Sellasie were not Rastafarians. Didnt both reject the movement in the beginning?

better you did post L. Howell.

Rasta Philosopher

"SEDITION was a charge developed by white supremacy to protect its legitimacy. It was during my recent research and study of South Africa that I grasped the full power and meaning of this legal instrument. This law was often backed up by state terrorism in the real sense against Rastafarians. Yes, the evidence of state sponsored terrorism against Rastafari in this country is glaring." - EA Moyston

Last edited by Simon S; 10-02-2006 at 08:25 PM..
Old 10-03-2006, 09:55 AM   #6 (permalink)
Humbled

Credits: 516
Originally Posted by Simon S View Post

in my opinion:
- it is the acceptance of Haile Sellasie as the incarnation of God (Jesus Christ).
- acknowledgment of bible tenets; in particular Numbers 6, and Psalm 68
- a belief that Marcus Garvey was a prophet.

what say u?

Accepting JESUS is as European as anyone can get! Christ is a diffrent story!

To see Haile Selassie as Christ signifies that that one can see majestic works in MAN instead of looking for Spirits.

The bible is the bible, a book of stories copied over years! Many false hoods and many twisted truths!

Marcus is important just as Howell or Blyden and many others before him that spoke of Ithiopia as our home. If Itiopia is our home then it's God's must be our GOD's! Many modern day messengers trod earth today carrying on the words of these ones b4 us! ie people like Army

Rasta is a continous work within the InI. This work directs one towards the betterment of Africans, resulting in a better world for all!

A Rasta is real!