Old 07-31-2007, 11:27 AM   #1 (permalink)

Question(s) for the believers

From experience and personal observations, many believers really do not think their beliefs through. All they know is that they believe and that they should believe even if they only give lip service to the more serious elements of their faith. "Mi believe inna gad" is often most need to hear to accept inclusion.

Anyway, one of the most popular objections young believers will hear in schools of higher learning is that the story of Jesus was not new or unique (well some elements were tailored for Jewish public consumption). Evidence is then provided that hundres and thousands of years before the time of Jesus there were stories of virgin born "gods" and heroes who in some cases died in the prime of their lives (at the hands of their enemy(ies)) only to rise again and ascend into the heavens to take their rightful positions. How do you respond to this objection?

FYI, the early church fathers had to deal with this in the early days of the Christian church. The most popular argument was (still used by Seventh Day Adventists) is that Satan knew of God's plan during his stay in heaven and tried to preempt and prevent it from being fulfilled so he presented all kinds of fakes prior to the real thing in order to deceive whole nations. That argument has all kinds of holes, but nevertheless, what would be your explanation?
Old 07-31-2007, 12:28 PM   #2 (permalink)
Princess!

Eh eh, yuh reach IMIX???
Old 07-31-2007, 12:31 PM   #3 (permalink)

Originally Posted by currygyal View Post
Eh eh, yuh reach IMIX???
Lol...yuh see it? Wasn't until after ah dun answer one ah he questions that ah realize who it was. Like Jacob he still wresslin' wid he angel, lol
Old 07-31-2007, 01:05 PM   #4 (permalink)
Princess!

Originally Posted by Bake n Shark View Post
Lol...yuh see it? Wasn't until after ah dun answer one ah he questions that ah realize who it was. Like Jacob he still wresslin' wid he angel, lol
*dead* :
Old 07-31-2007, 01:43 PM   #5 (permalink)

Eh eh, yuh reach IMIX???
Reach? Was an original member way back when. Just came back to stir the mental juices.
Old 07-31-2007, 01:46 PM   #6 (permalink)

No, like Celsus I'm calling a spade a spade.
Old 07-31-2007, 01:54 PM   #7 (permalink)
Princess!

Originally Posted by 24/7 View Post
Reach? Was an original member way back when. Just came back to stir the mental juices.
Nobody engaging you on CP or wha? Guess you returned with a new identity then.
Old 07-31-2007, 02:09 PM   #8 (permalink)

Nobody engaging you on CP or wha? Guess you returned with a new identity then.
They're there. Kinda noticed no real "hard questions" being asked here or serious discussions so I decided to put some out there. Might get no response, but the numbers show people are at least peeping in.

Yeah I cam back with a new identity because I have no clue what my alias was back then when there we like 4 members.
Old 07-31-2007, 02:32 PM   #9 (permalink)

Originally Posted by 24/7 View Post
They're there. Kinda noticed no real "hard questions" being asked here or serious discussions so I decided to put some out there. Might get no response, but the numbers show people are at least peeping in.

Yeah I cam back with a new identity because I have no clue what my alias was back then when there we like 4 members.
We know you pitch marbles wid Moses pardna no need tuh show off, lol
Old 07-31-2007, 03:20 PM   #10 (permalink)

We know you pitch marbles wid Moses pardna no need tuh show off, lol
Not really N. You are a witness of the fact that this is nothing new for me. I have always been one to start topics (you know forums have those who start topics and those who only sit around and respond). Back when I was very active in starting threads that were very pro-christian for the sake of information. The passion is still the same. The only thing that has changed is the argument.