Old 12-15-2005, 02:03 PM   #1 (permalink)
aka Karl Logan

Credits: 879
Magic versus Miracles

Interesting essay:
+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Magic versus Miracles: This is a spiritual subject that has caused more arguments and misunderstandings than just about any other. Maybe, with Harry Potter running loose, this is a good time to bring out the dirty laundry from under the stairs and let it all come clean.

Many Christians feel that Harry's influence is not a good thing. And yet throughout all of the Harry Potter books, the issue of good versus evil and the proper use of magical powers is explored through the metaphors of the story. So let us explore it more explicitly here.

continue reading

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

I like how the article ended with this statement:

In reading this, you may have realized something about yourself and your own spiritual path and actions. Whatever you have noticed, don't worry. God loves every single person, and knows that eventually you will find what you have truly been seeking. Be easy on yourself. Trust in Life. For Life itself is a Miracle!
Old 12-15-2005, 02:14 PM   #2 (permalink)
Kiz

Credits: 14,065
Originally Posted by kevlocks
Interesting essay:
+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Magic versus Miracles: This is a spiritual subject that has caused more arguments and misunderstandings than just about any other. Maybe, with Harry Potter running loose, this is a good time to bring out the dirty laundry from under the stairs and let it all come clean.

Many Christians feel that Harry's influence is not a good thing. And yet throughout all of the Harry Potter books, the issue of good versus evil and the proper use of magical powers is explored through the metaphors of the story. So let us explore it more explicitly here.

continue reading

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

I like how the article ended with this statement:

In reading this, you may have realized something about yourself and your own spiritual path and actions. Whatever you have noticed, don't worry. God loves every single person, and knows that eventually you will find what you have truly been seeking. Be easy on yourself. Trust in Life. For Life itself is a Miracle!

so what do you think about the article
Old 12-15-2005, 02:18 PM   #3 (permalink)
Freedom

Credits: 6,413
Cool

Now Kev that article said absolutely nothing. After reading that article Kev, I want you to tell me how you can differentiate between magic and miracles.
Old 12-15-2005, 02:19 PM   #4 (permalink)
Kiz

Originally Posted by Soca Taliban
Now Kev that article said absolutely nothing. After reading that article Kev, I want you to tell me how you can differentiate between magic and miracles.
now ah ent feel bad for not reading it

nah ah going and read it and come again
Old 12-15-2005, 02:38 PM   #5 (permalink)
Kiz

ok dis is what ah get from it............ if God isn’t involved and the person’s ego is involved den its magic and if God is involved and the person ego isn’t involved den it’s a miracle.

someone may interpret it different

Last edited by Kiz; 12-15-2005 at 02:42 PM..
Old 12-15-2005, 02:46 PM   #6 (permalink)
Freedom

Cool

Originally Posted by Trinikiz
ok dis is what ah get from it............ if God isn’t involved and the person’s ego is involved den its magic and if God is involved and the person ego isn’t involved den it’s a miracle.

someone may interpret it different
SO what do we call it if God isn't involved and the person's ego is not involved as well?
Old 12-15-2005, 02:49 PM   #7 (permalink)
Kiz

SO what do we call it if God isn't involved and the person's ego is not involved as well?

magic! I guess once god isnt in it it's magic
Old 12-15-2005, 02:57 PM   #8 (permalink)
aka Karl Logan

Credits: 879
Good question. I was hoping the article would open up the floor for discussion. The reason being is what I read this morning:

Originally Posted by Lagawho
Tell that to Moses, he was the biggest obeah man to walk the face of this earth. Why do you think his books was removed from the king james version But still used by catholic preists and certain lodges? Remember Albertus Magnus, he was a catholic high priest.
It got me thinking: what really seperates a miracle from magic? Is a miracle vs magic positive vs negative? If so, why and who or what is the barometer to measure which is which?

When Moses parted the Red Sea,what was that considered? Even Jesus and what he did for his people.

I was also reading a book called Core of Fire by Aina Olomo and the author of the book coined a termed called Core Belief System (CBS). Our CBS is heavily influencial in our use of language as well as how we view the world and others in it.

In reading this, I was wondering is the miracle vs. magic debate along those same lines: a topic that is subject to personal interpretation and/or core belief.

so what do you think about the article
read the thing then come again.
Old 12-15-2005, 03:03 PM   #9 (permalink)
Kiz

Good question. I was hoping the article would open up the floor for discussion. The reason being is what I read this morning:

It got me thinking: what really seperates a miracle from magic? Is a miracle vs magic positive vs negative? If so, why and who or what is the barometer to measure which is which?

When Moses parted the Red Sea,what was that considered? Even Jesus and what he did for his people.

I was also reading a book called Core of Fire by Aina Olomo and the author of the book coined a termed called Core Belief System (CBS). Our CBS is heavily influencial in our use of language as well as how we view the world and others in it.

In reading this, I was wondering is the miracle vs. magic debate along those same lines: a topic that is subject to personal interpretation and/or core belief.

When God sent Moses to Pharaoh and Moses threw down his staff it turned into a snake and Pharaoh in turn did the same and it also turned into a snake.

So would we say that what Moses did was a miracle and what Pharaoh did was magic?

Last edited by Kiz; 12-15-2005 at 03:20 PM..
Old 12-15-2005, 03:04 PM   #10 (permalink)
Kiz

yuh blind or wha? direct yuh attention to post #5

Last edited by Kiz; 12-15-2005 at 03:07 PM..
Old 12-15-2005, 03:09 PM   #11 (permalink)
Freedom

Cool

Okay nice way tuh sidestep meh question but fair enough. Simple, supernatural occurances do not validate nor affirm my faith. My faith is has it's foundation in the Word of God. Not miracles. All miracles and miracle workers must be tested by the Word of God. To the law and to the testimonies, if they don't speak according those then there is no light in them. Period! So my question to you now is, since you don't use the Bible as your ultimate rule of faith, what do you have/use to decipher genuine vs. counterfeit???

Last edited by Soca Taliban; 12-15-2005 at 03:11 PM..
Old 12-15-2005, 03:12 PM   #12 (permalink)
Kiz

Okay nice way tuh sidestep meh question but fair enough. Simple, supernatural occurances do not validate nor affirm my faith. My faith is has it's foundation in the Word of God. Not miracles. All miracles and miracle workers must be tested by the Word of God. To the law and to the testimonies, if they don't speak according those then there is no light in them. Period! So my question to you now is, since you don't use the Bible as your ultimate rule of faith, what do you have/use to decipher genuine vs. counterfeit???

So Tali do you belive in the miracles that was peformed in the bible. Is'nt that what you are equating the word of God to be?
Old 12-15-2005, 03:21 PM   #13 (permalink)
Freedom

Cool

So Tali do you belive in the miracles that was peformed in the bible. Is'nt that what you are equating the word of God to be?
I believe in miracles, but they do not validate my faith in God. According to the Bible, Satan and he whole pack ah imps have power to carry out supernatural events also. D Bible call he d biggest deceiver. How much times the Bible warns us to be careful, watch, pray, less we be deceived. All that says to me is that deception would be running rampant. So if deception running rampant and the Bible plainly tells me that unless I'm grounded I won't be able to tell the difference between true and false, good and evil, real and counterfeit, den miracles/magic cannot be used as a source for my faith or stance. Remember when Satan was tempting Jesus, he tried to get Jesus to do a miracle to validate his Godship, how did Jesus respond. Man shall not live by bread alone, but by every word that proceedeth from the mouth of God. Jesus used scripture as his guide. So if some miracle man healing people, but chanting thing dat's no Biblical or living a life contrary to what the Bible says then, according to the Bible, he and his miracles is not of God.
Old 12-15-2005, 03:33 PM   #14 (permalink)
Kiz

I believe in miracles, but they do not validate my faith in God. According to the Bible, Satan and he whole pack ah imps have power to carry out supernatural events also. D Bible call he d biggest deceiver. How much times the Bible warns us to be careful, watch, pray, less we be deceived. All that says to me is that deception would be running rampant. So if deception running rampant and the Bible plainly tells me that unless I'm grounded I won't be able to tell the difference between true and false, good and evil, real and counterfeit, den miracles/magic cannot be used as a source for my faith or stance. Remember when Satan was tempting Jesus, he tried to get Jesus to do a miracle to validate his Godship, how did Jesus respond. Man shall not live by bread alone, but by every word that proceedeth from the mouth of God. Jesus used scripture as his guide..

That bold part I understand to the fullest. However Jesus himself did perform miracles and wasnt these things done to get the people to believe (to validate/or increase their faith)?.

So if some miracle man healing people, but chanting thing dat's no Biblical or living a life contrary to what the Bible says then, according to the Bible, he and his miracles is not of God

No one is trying to justify dat. To me the article stated if God isnt the source den it it basically crap
Old 12-15-2005, 03:42 PM   #15 (permalink)
Freedom

Cool

That bold part I understand to the fullest. However Jesus himself did perform miracles and wasnt these things done to get the people to believe (to validate/or increase their faith)?.

I don't think so much to validate, but more to help and heal. Look at how many miracles he did for them, but they still denied him and crucified him. If they had been studying the word, and had they been digging into prophecy they would have known and believe that Jesus was God and would have have faith in him. But they didn't so the miracles did nothing for them except fulfill a temporary desire. Now compare them to the wise men who probably never saw Jesus do a miracle in their life, yet they believed and had faith in him even when he was a baby. Why because they were in the word. Look at moses and all the miracles that were given to the children of Israel, yet they still doubted God. Now compare them to the many people who believed and held on to the faith even in the face of persecution, why because the Word was their guide, not miracles.

No one is trying to justify dat. To me the article stated if God isnt the source den it it basically crap
*cosign*
But now the question is how do you determine if it's from God or not?