Credits: 16,238
Imposing Your Believes and Religious Judgements on Others
I don't really come in here often but while I was away something occured to me. . . .
Why do so many Christians feel the need to preach to you and speak you in a manner that is belittling because you are not a follower of thier religion or you do not attend thier church? I am a Catholic but I do not go to church often. But the Baptists and Methodists I know always feel the need to tell me I should not be going to Catholic church, and I should be going to church more. What business is of thiers? I find it very rude to impose upon people in this manner. The other day I was out with my two cousins who are Pentacostal. And my cousin looked at me and said don't you feel like the odd man out because you do not go to church? How can you be an instrument of the word and get more followers when you are approaching them in an offensive manner? |
The Key
Credits: 1,046
I find this question being asked quite a lot deez days.
![]() Which question? I asked like 8 million of them. |
The Key
yeah you did. The questions about christians judging non-christians in general. |
aka Karl Logan
Credits: 887
Reds, I didn't even know it was like that amongst fellow chrisitians. How is one way of practicing the same belief seen as better than the other way of following the same faith? ![]() |
Well, I here waiting too. But yes Kev, I am Catholic and I catch nuff slack for it all the time. "Oh those molesting priests, etc" When they pastor done run off with all the church money and sleeping with mad women in the congregation. I look at everyone as an individual and despite the religion you follow. But some Baptists I know can be fierce I tell you! |
Freedom
Credits: 6,416
Yuh need Jesus Cook meh ah plate ah food an I shall absolve dey. |
![]() I am not a mankilla I could hook you up with some stewed chicken, flying fish, macaroni pie, rice and peas, and potato salad on saturday. I could FedEx that to you? ![]() |
Silent Notches
Credits: 1,380
We tred a thin line between Religion and Christianity. Christianity is the belief that there is a God, and that you believe his word (in the bible). Christianity is NOT religion, for illustration purposes let's say it's a turkey. Religion (in my opinion and the way I understand it) is christianity with trimings, again let's say it is the turkey with trimings. You can have stuffing (one religion) or you can have cranberry sauce (another religion) or gravy (another religion) etc. Does the turkey need the trimings? Nope. But trimings give it an extra umph.
Everybody wants to believe that their trimming is the best when each triming does something uniquely different for the turkey! I am a Non denominational Christian... what does that mean?... I just have the turkey with no triming. I think (again this is my own personal conviction) that religion tends to complicate things, religion makes people feel better about what and how they're doing things, and it makes it okay for them to condemn how somebody else does the exact same thing. The bible says that you must "Work out your own salvation with fear and trembling". To me that right there says screw religion and stick to the bible, it's the only rule book god left on earth! So why are we turning to all these other pamphlets and guidelines of this and that religion is beyond me, all that is is SOMEONE ELSES interpretation of what God says, and you have to work out on your own if that interpretation sits well with you... in the end it's between YOU AND GOD! I don't make it a habit of judging people based on their religion, I take it back to the facts. I open my NKV or my NIV and i say well it says here.. not in father sams manual or bishop so and so's handbook but right here in the bible... Now what religion indoctrinates is another story!... and again (like my momma always tell me).. when you hear something on the pulpit IT IS NOT GOSPEL! You go home in your quiet time with God pick up your bible read it again and YOU and GOD work it out!.. Because yes your blood is on the pasters hands if you go to hell.... but guess what, YOU GOIN THERE ANYWAYS.. why?.. Because you didn't do your own research. And I think that's the issue with alot of christians and religion.. They want Christianity made easy. They want to sit in church on Sunday, listen to a sermon and then go harp it off like a parrot. Ask them how many times God reveal something to THEM personally, ask them when was the last time they got up and had a one on one with God... some of them really cyan tell you. ![]() |
Freedom
Credits: 6,416
![]() On condition dat meh food arrive and eatable. If not ![]() |
XTC Inc.
Credits: 8,350
Credits: 10,001
It's tough cuz in Christianity you supposed to do it, cuz Jesus did it and he said life like me, etc...but Jesus knew when to push peoples buttons and when to leave them alone cuz he was really wise....so it's a tough call....
The Key
Champion!
Credits: 4,328
DEEP....................nice point of view |

Cook meh ah plate ah food an I shall absolve dey.