Old 12-09-2005, 01:06 PM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 1,661
Immaculate Conception

My Catholic brothers and sisters and other peoples of faith, blessing to you all! I have a quick question on the concept of Immaculate Conception. What is the purpose of this concept? Is it supposed to be taken literally i.e. that a woman conceived without intercourse? I believe that this is biologically impossible. And this was the work of some higher being? Then based on the story what of her husband? No pun intended, but I would have taught that she cheated on me. Anyway, putting my secular thinking aside; if not to be taken literally is there some deeper meaning or message that is to be derived from the story or concept? If so, what? The doctrine of the Immaculate Conception was defined circa 1854 (although I think the concept was around way before this) by Pope Pius Xl. What was the Pope’s purpose for solidifying this doctrine in the church? Would really like to get some info...what do you guys think? Blessings
Old 12-09-2005, 01:56 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ban Obama

Credits: 25,112
Originally Posted by recess
I believe that this is biologically impossible.
Artificial insemination.
Old 12-09-2005, 02:21 PM   #3 (permalink)

Immaculate Conception

Originally Posted by Skilzman
Artificial insemination.

LOL True...for real!
Old 12-09-2005, 02:39 PM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 24,369
non scientifically explained = miracle.. also muslims believe it immaculate conception
Old 12-09-2005, 02:44 PM   #5 (permalink)

Credits: 56,869
My Catholic brothers and sisters and other peoples of faith, blessing to you all! I have a quick question on the concept of Immaculate Conception. What is the purpose of this concept? Is it supposed to be taken literally i.e. that a woman conceived without intercourse? I believe that this is biologically impossible. And this was the work of some higher being? Then based on the story what of her husband? No pun intended, but I would have taught that she cheated on me. Anyway, putting my secular thinking aside; if not to be taken literally is there some deeper meaning or message that is to be derived from the story or concept? If so, what? The doctrine of the Immaculate Conception was defined circa 1854 (although I think the concept was around way before this) by Pope Pius Xl. What was the Pope’s purpose for solidifying this doctrine in the church? Would really like to get some info...what do you guys think? Blessings
From what I was taught (and my memory of some of it is sketchy so anyone correct me if I'm wrong) the term Immaculate Conception does not actually refer to Mary conceiving Jesus but to Mary being immaculate from conception. She was born without the stain of original sin. Since she was born w/out that stain, the passage in Genesis that says something "I will greaty mulitply thy sorrow and thy conception; in sorrow thy shall bring forth children" did not apply to her. Mary was born with exemption from the stain that other humans have to be cleansed from through baptism. This is the reason we start her prayer by saying "Hail Mary, full of Grace" (originally said by angel Gabriel). Full of grace=a godlike (sinless) state of the soul.

The Miraculous Birth is what refers to the conception and birth of Jesus. It is supposed to be taken literally. Mary became with child before she and her husband came together. Joseph was confused if not upset by his wife's pregnanacy but an angel (don't remember if it was Gabriel again) came to him and said "Fear not to take unto thee Mary thy wife for that which is conceived in her is of the Holy Ghost".

What man would could be upset when an angel tells him his wife was supernaturally imgregnated with the Saviour or the world? LOL

Technically she was still a virgin even after she gave birth to Jesus (that's me reading between the lines of a CCD teacher many years ago saying something like "the integrity of her virginity was preserved").

Pope Martin I was the one that actually brought together a council to define the whole thing drawing from the writing of St. Jerome though there were a bunch of councils and creeds before and after him dealing with both the Immaculate Conception and the Miraculous Birth. You're right that its biologically impossible of course, at least in terms of our understanding -that's why those two (IC & MB) along with the Eucharist are considered The Mysteries of Our Faith.
They love it; they living in a fool's paradise."
-Brother Valentino
Old 12-09-2005, 04:09 PM   #6 (permalink)

Credits: 698
you are looking at it through human eyes and reasoning using human logic. Never discount the abilities and workings of the divine.
Old 12-09-2005, 04:11 PM   #7 (permalink)

Originally Posted by BacchanalDiva
From what I was taught (and my memory of some of it is sketchy so anyone correct me if I'm wrong) the term Immaculate Conception does not actually refer to Mary conceiving Jesus but to Mary being immaculate from conception. She was born without the stain of original sin. Since she was born w/out that stain, the passage in Genesis that says something "I will greaty mulitply thy sorrow and thy conception; in sorrow thy shall bring forth children" did not apply to her. Mary was born with exemption from the stain that other humans have to be cleansed from through baptism. This is the reason we start her prayer by saying "Hail Mary, full of Grace" (originally said by angel Gabriel). Full of grace=a godlike (sinless) state of the soul.

The Miraculous Birth is what refers to the conception and birth of Jesus. It is supposed to be taken literally. Mary became with child before she and her husband came together. Joseph was confused if not upset by his wife's pregnanacy but an angel (don't remember if it was Gabriel again) came to him and said "Fear not to take unto thee Mary thy wife for that which is conceived in her is of the Holy Ghost".

What man would could be upset when an angel tells him his wife was supernaturally imgregnated with the Saviour or the world? LOL

Technically she was still a virgin even after she gave birth to Jesus (that's me reading between the lines of a CCD teacher many years ago saying something like "the integrity of her virginity was preserved").

Pope Martin I was the one that actually brought together a council to define the whole thing drawing from the writing of St. Jerome though there were a bunch of councils and creeds before and after him dealing with both the Immaculate Conception and the Miraculous Birth. You're right that its biologically impossible of course, at least in terms of our understanding -that's why those two (IC & MB) along with the Eucharist are considered The Mysteries of Our Faith.
The Immaculate Conception does indeed refer to Mary being a 'pure vessel'...rather than to the circumstances surrounding her pregnancy.
Old 12-09-2005, 04:11 PM   #8 (permalink)

Credits: 24,369
Originally Posted by Bake n Shark
you are looking at it through human eyes and reasoning using human logic. Never discount the abilities and workings of the divine.
you sure you not Catholic??? never too late to return home
Old 12-09-2005, 04:12 PM   #9 (permalink)
Kiz

Credits: 14,057

what sin is dat?
Old 12-09-2005, 04:49 PM   #10 (permalink)

Credits: 56,869
Originally Posted by Trinikiz
what sin is dat?
The sin of Adam & Eve that we're all still paying for.
They love it; they living in a fool's paradise."
-Brother Valentino
Old 12-09-2005, 05:01 PM   #11 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Oneshot
you sure you not Catholic??? never too late to return home
When allyuh learn how tuh fete in Jesus name call me....
Old 12-09-2005, 05:19 PM   #12 (permalink)

Immaculate Conception

Originally Posted by Bake n Shark
Bakes: Yes true, I did acknowledge this. (Quote):" Anyway, putting my secular thinking aside ; if not to be taken literally is there some deeper meaning or message that is to be derived from the story or concept? If so, what?" (end quote)

To be honest, I do not know how else I can look at it i.e. aside from human logic and reasoning? Hence the reason for my inquiry. Thanks for the taught. Appreciated.

Bacchanal Diva: Thanks a lot for the information. Greatly appreciated.
Old 12-09-2005, 06:10 PM   #13 (permalink)

Bakes: Yes true, I did acknowledge this. (Quote):" Anyway, putting my secular thinking aside ; if not to be taken literally is there some deeper meaning or message that is to be derived from the story or concept? If so, what?" (end quote)

To be honest, I do not know how else I can look at it i.e. aside from human logic and reasoning? Hence the reason for my inquiry. Thanks for the taught. Appreciated.

Bacchanal Diva: Thanks a lot for the information. Greatly appreciated.
Secular means non-religious...I think you need to step even further back from that and recognize that the Creator simply is beyond our total comprehension, same for the way in which he works. As such it's not possible to always grasp meaning and understanding in what s/he does since, simply put, it's just beyond our scope of reasoning.

Try to imagine God as being shapeless and without form or appearance...difficult, right? B/c as humans we're just used to tangible representations of things.
Old 12-09-2005, 06:30 PM   #14 (permalink)
30 Never looked this good

Credits: 17,434
She was born without the stain of original sin.
Question (and no I'm not trying to attack anyone's faith) Is there somewhere in the bible where I can read this?
Old 12-09-2005, 06:36 PM   #15 (permalink)

Credits: 375
I ent catholic but i do go to catholic university and i thought yesterday was the feast of the immaculate reception

« hey !!! | Unity? »