View Poll Results: My religion is
Christian - Catholic, Anglican 10 33.33%
Christian - SDA 2 6.67%
Christian - Baptist 3 10.00%
Yoruba - African mysticism 0 0%
Buddhist 1 3.33%
Rastafarian 3 10.00%
It's not listed - I'll post it with a response 11 36.67%
Voters: 30. You may not vote on this poll

Old 05-10-2006, 06:20 PM   #1 (permalink)
RasYardHindian

Credits: 358
Imix - whats your religion

me - Vedic and Rastafarian.
Old 05-10-2006, 06:24 PM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 34,879
Orginal went to a Anglican church
but my views are closer to Rastafarian
I more do my own thing
Old 05-10-2006, 06:52 PM   #3 (permalink)
Freedom

Credits: 46,598
i don't claim any religion because i believe religion is man made and it causes separation and a whole bunch of other stuff...but i do believe in monotheism
Old 05-10-2006, 07:25 PM   #4 (permalink)
aka Karl Logan

Credits: 878
Smile other

I think that what you will find from those who will answer this post is that most people "do there own thing"
Old 05-10-2006, 08:37 PM   #5 (permalink)
Alliouagana Garveyite

Credits: 2,210
[QUOTE=Simon S]me - Vedic and Rastafarian.[/QUOTE]

Rastafarian is NOT a religion

I do my own thing ...God neva create reliegon

I believe in the Creator weither man or woman
Educate our people to free our minds and develop our consciousness

Mwongozi Cudjoe (Chedmond Browne)
Chairman of Free Montserrat United Movement
Old 05-10-2006, 08:42 PM   #6 (permalink)
Alpha Male

Credits: 10,042
I dont claim any Religion.
Old 05-10-2006, 08:56 PM   #7 (permalink)
RasYardHindian

[QUOTE=soca_souljah]
Originally Posted by Simon S
me - Vedic and Rastafarian.[/QUOTE]

Rastafarian is NOT a religion

I do my own thing ...God neva create reliegon

I believe in the Creator weither man or woman
Rasta may not be a religion ,but it has its doctrine .... for the forum purposes.
God created ALL that is seen and unseen - wether it be re-lie-gion or religion..

What is this "own thing" that most of you speak of?
Old 05-10-2006, 09:11 PM   #8 (permalink)

Credits: 56,871
I don't have a religion. Brought up catholic and still find catholic church and ritual soothing but don't subscribe to the beliefs. my beliefs today lean toward african tradition and a few other things and I believe that I'll probably end up following the Yoruba path.
Old 05-10-2006, 09:13 PM   #9 (permalink)

Originally Posted by fntsy19
i don't claim any religion because i believe religion is man made and it causes separation and a whole bunch of other stuff...but i do believe in monotheism
I think we probably use the term religion pretty loosely in here, I try to stick to "spiritual path" cause its more general and yet more specific.
Old 05-10-2006, 09:16 PM   #10 (permalink)

[QUOTE=Simon S]
Originally Posted by soca_souljah

Rasta may not be a religion ,but it has its doctrine .... for the forum purposes.
God created ALL that is seen and unseen - wether it be re-lie-gion or religion..

What is this "own thing" that most of you speak of?
A set of beliefs that may include beliefs from more than one religion/tradition/doctrine or even some beliefs that are part of no existing religion/tradition/doctrine.
Old 05-10-2006, 09:31 PM   #11 (permalink)
RasYardHindian

[QUOTE=BacchanalDiva]

A set of beliefs that may include beliefs from more than one religion/tradition/doctrine or even some beliefs that are part of no existing religion/tradition/doctrine.
OK... but do they include reverence to a divine?
do they have "life after death" implications..

I'm assuming that none of the "own-thingers" believe in a Messiah - that would probably align them with an already established "religion"...

For me there is no "Death" of Self..on in the physical .ie, Simon S will die but not the spirit/Atmam/Self of Simon S...there is a divine - Brahmam which is totality (all pervading, omni-present, permeable) .....kinda along the lines of matter (cant be destroyed or created , just transformed)
Old 05-10-2006, 09:48 PM   #12 (permalink)
Alliouagana Garveyite

Everthing bachannal diva said

And i DON'T BELIEVE IN Death, Hell, Trinity

I take a spiritual path" sumthing of a Kemtic/hindu principles

I was raised(programed) a seveth day adventist, but since the inner self awakenin this is my lifestyle

Old 05-10-2006, 09:57 PM   #13 (permalink)
RasYardHindian

Originally Posted by soca_souljah

I take a spiritual path" sumthing of a Kemtic/hindu principles
he he he he he ..

mine yu self with that path thing and Hinduism...a path to enlightenment?? - to realize Moksha??

anyway just by you saying something of a ...... shows me your aligning yourself with something that's already established.. so maybe its not necessarily ya own thing then ent?

for me there are certain parts of Hinduism I will not partake in - not necessary IMO - all you need is Yoga
Old 05-10-2006, 10:14 PM   #14 (permalink)
Alliouagana Garveyite

he he he he he ..

mine yu self with that path thing and Hinduism...a path to enlightenment?? - to realize Moksha??

anyway just by you saying something of a ...... shows me your aligning yourself with something that's already established.. so maybe its not necessarily ya own thing then ent?

for me there are certain parts of Hinduism I will not partake in - not necessary IMO - all you need is Yoga
ok !

My own ting
1. God is omnipresent
2.God is in all living this
3.There is no death, hell
4. U cannot be born in sin
5. Heaven is a state of mind

these all come from some form the established "spirituality"
that make up "my" lifestyle

Old 05-10-2006, 10:19 PM   #15 (permalink)

[QUOTE=Simon S]
Originally Posted by BacchanalDiva

OK... but do they include reverence to a divine?
Yes, my concept of the divine is one that emcompasses all the facets of humanity, earth and spirit -if the divine is truly everything then it can't include only the things that we consider good. So I don't believe that the divine is a good that humans can never achieve but that all facets of humanity are reflections of the divine.do they have "life after death" implications..
depends how you define life. I believe that there are different phases of being and that when the earthly body is shed the spirit moves on to another phase of being.
I'm assuming that none of the "own-thingers" believe in a Messiah - that would probably align them with an already established "religion"...
No, I'm not convinced that any of the people that are considered to have been messiah were or if they did have a spiritual purpose/message that was meant to effect all of mankind that that purpose was honestly and accurately recorded.

For me there is no "Death" of Self..on in the physical .ie, Simon S will die but not the spirit/Atmam/Self of Simon S...there is a divine - Brahmam which is totality (all pervading, omni-present, permeable) .....kinda along the lines of matter (cant be destroyed or created , just transformed)