Old 12-14-2005, 12:32 PM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 4,516
Ignorance Can Be Bliss:

December 14, 2005
Knowing Too Much
Ignorance Can Be Bliss
These days, we can know too much. And while sometimes it can be a great benefit to us to know the tiniest details of events, both bitter and sweet, there are also times when knowing less about the future, our situations, and the world, in general, can be beneficial. Being blissfully ignorant does not mean ignoring vital information or shutting out the world's tragedies. Rather, it is a way to step away from knowledge that may only needlessly have a negative impact on your life experience. It's not always necessary to expose yourself to information that will only overwhelm you, hold you back, or cause you pain. Sometimes, ignorance can be truly blissful.
While having all the information you need can help you make an informed decision, sometimes knowing all the information can be unnecessary excess. Especially when you are trying to pursue a goal, the knowledge of all the ways in which you could fail can keep you from even trying. Blissful ignorance can sometimes propel you forward because you never even knew that the possibility of failure existed. Ignorance can also be bliss when you are facing hardships. If circumstances force you to take on a job you dislike, you may enter your new situation with unpleasant and preconceived notions that can likely create the very circumstances you are dreading. Experiencing a situation with no expectations and no advanced notions can allow you to experience it as new, because your blissful ignorance prevented you from having any preset ideas.

There is nothing wrong with avoiding "too much information," particularly when the knowledge isn't going to serve you. When information is emotionally draining, impedes your progress, causes distress, and isn't necessary to your experience, consider letting it pass you by. Remember the bliss of ignorance can sometimes be a gift.
Old 12-14-2005, 03:25 PM   #2 (permalink)
xtremeintl.com

Credits: 11,425
An expert description of what's wrong the nightly local TV news and gossiping, among other things.

Good stuff
Old 12-14-2005, 03:43 PM   #3 (permalink)
Dippity Doo-Dah

Credits: 2,426
Originally Posted by HoneyEmpress
December 14, 2005
Knowing Too Much
Ignorance Can Be Bliss
These days, we can know too much. And while sometimes it can be a great benefit to us to know the tiniest details of events, both bitter and sweet, there are also times when knowing less about the future, our situations, and the world, in general, can be beneficial. Being blissfully ignorant does not mean ignoring vital information or shutting out the world's tragedies. Rather, it is a way to step away from knowledge that may only needlessly have a negative impact on your life experience. It's not always necessary to expose yourself to information that will only overwhelm you, hold you back, or cause you pain. Sometimes, ignorance can be truly blissful.
While having all the information you need can help you make an informed decision, sometimes knowing all the information can be unnecessary excess. Especially when you are trying to pursue a goal, the knowledge of all the ways in which you could fail can keep you from even trying. Blissful ignorance can sometimes propel you forward because you never even knew that the possibility of failure existed. Ignorance can also be bliss when you are facing hardships. If circumstances force you to take on a job you dislike, you may enter your new situation with unpleasant and preconceived notions that can likely create the very circumstances you are dreading. Experiencing a situation with no expectations and no advanced notions can allow you to experience it as new, because your blissful ignorance prevented you from having any preset ideas.

There is nothing wrong with avoiding "too much information," particularly when the knowledge isn't going to serve you. When information is emotionally draining, impedes your progress, causes distress, and isn't necessary to your experience, consider letting it pass you by. Remember the bliss of ignorance can sometimes be a gift.

Noam Chomsky would agree wholeheartedly with this.
Old 12-14-2005, 04:03 PM   #4 (permalink)
Kiz

Credits: 14,068
Originally Posted by HONEYEMPRESS
When information is emotionally draining, impedes your progress, causes distress, and isn't necessary to your experience, consider letting it pass you by
I especially like dis part
Old 12-14-2005, 04:28 PM   #5 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Trinikiz
I especially like dis part

That's my favorite as well... because I realized sometimes I was taking on things that just was not for me to understand at the time or at all...

Trinikiz I just realized something eheh , lol... did yuh bold the letters in mi name and if so why?
Old 12-14-2005, 04:40 PM   #6 (permalink)
Kiz

Credits: 14,068
That's my favorite as well... because I realized sometimes I was taking on things that just was not for me to understand at the time or at all...

Trinikiz I just realized something eheh , lol... did yuh bold the letters in mi name and if so why?

oh my bad....ah didnt quote yuh like ah shoulda, I copied and paste it den I had to type in de [QUOTE] stuff so since I have to type quote in caps to mek it show up I just continued it in caps
Old 12-14-2005, 04:50 PM   #7 (permalink)

[QUOTE=Trinikiz]oh my bad....ah didnt quote yuh like ah shoulda, I copied and paste it den I had to type in de
stuff so since I have to type quote in caps to mek it show up I just continued it in caps

steups and all this time I thought you was given me the "HONEYEMPRESS" title instead of small lil Honeyempress, lol... Just kiddin
bless
Old 12-17-2005, 10:29 PM   #8 (permalink)
Mi Ever Ready

Credits: 126
December 14, 2005
Knowing Too Much
Ignorance Can Be Bliss

I read your piece here and what comes to mind is having knowledge yet at the same time lacking wisdom and understanding. Teenagers because they hear so much about sex implies that they are ready because they have an itch and can scratch it. There is more to everything. I even see some of the conversation that takes place in some of these threads and it leaves me troubled. There is knowledge but no understanding nor wisdom. We are caught in a world of sensual gratification and there is no desire for a deeper level of meaning or existence. We are caught up in something that just does not promote growth in the expression of life. What is being expresses is our most base desires.

We have folks who adhere to some book and SUSPENDS all of there God given faculties when evaluating the same book. Then some have the nerve to want to judge others and their beliefs and actions by their book of confusion and act as if they are objective. Their book is far from objective.

I know I may have went a bit off task, but there is nothing wrong with knowledge. As long as you have a framework from which to judge the information you have that is the only thing that counts. My over arching question is in what way does this information lead to the physical, mental, and spiritual liberation of the psychic and physical space that belongs to African people? If the information aids in answering that question, then it is retained. If not, I wont even preoccupy myself. In the search for self and liberation from the fetters that binds man to this earthly existence and is the obstacle to overcome if man is to attain godhood here on earth, we must learn to separate the wheat from the chaff.

Alaafia