Old 11-30-2005, 02:08 PM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 9,996
I think all Preachers/Priests/Ministers should have a side job

I think that every Preacher, Priest, Minister, etc. should be forced to have a regular ( I guess it would be called secular ) job. There is no reason for a priest or minister to make more than...I dunno $100,000 a year. Anything over that ( even if they have a family ) should be given to the poor. And if they feel they should make more, then they should get another job.

My reason for this is that I see many preachers out of touch with reality. In some churches the preacher becomes rich and out of touch with people who have jobs, kids in school, or plain old regular people who have something else going on besides church. Some preachers put unrealistic expectations on people, because they have nothing else besides church going on in their life.

Also, many people have issues at work or kids have issues in school, and a preacher usually only surrounds himself with people of similar faiths and beliefs who 'look up' to him/her. This leaves them ( I think ) unable to fully associate and relate to their flock. Remember the scripture,"to the poor, I became poor". I think in essence a preacher has to live in this secular world, and not only enclose himself in a spiritual bubble.

A preacher should at least have a small part time job, so that he isn't a financial burden to the ministry and so he can relate to when people can't make it to church or when they have work related problems. This would also help the preacher to become more humbled, because he'd have to be at a certain place at a certain time and if he's not there performing up to a standard, he's fired, like real people in the real world.

Paul, who worked extremely hard and was a basketweaver on the side so he wouldn't be a financial burden. I think that example should be followed. I don't think Jesus had a job for the 3 years of his ministry up until his death, but he was never rich because he was always asking for places to stay and wore regular clothes.

Thoughts??? I don't think this happens in any church, but if you know one let me know.
Old 11-30-2005, 02:10 PM   #2 (permalink)
Freedom

Credits: 6,415
Cool

I do not think a preacher should have a part time job. If he is worth his salt, he should be constantly busy in his ministry for Christ. What I will say it that if pasta makin 6 figures an people in he own congregation suffering den dies a problem tuh me. Short answer fuh now, long one tuh come later.
Old 11-30-2005, 02:15 PM   #3 (permalink)
Mrs . (A.k.A Mrs. Dot)

Credits: 60,862
Originally Posted by Soca Taliban
I do not think a preacher should have a part time job. If he is worth his salt, he should be constantly busy in his ministry for Christ. What I will say it that if pasta makin 6 figures an people in he own congregation suffering den dies a problem tuh me. Short answer fuh now, long one tuh come later.
I agree
Old 11-30-2005, 02:19 PM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 24,385
priests getting living allowances not salaries..
Old 11-30-2005, 02:23 PM   #5 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Soca Taliban
I won't say most, cuz I don't know figures, but I've seen many people who are pastors grew up in a church with no real aspirations to do anything else but preach, and don't really do well in school. Then they end up in a ministry and don't really know anything else but preaching and never worked a regular job in their lives, how will they know how to minister to people with regular jobs?
Old 11-30-2005, 02:25 PM   #6 (permalink)

Oh...and my post was cuz I knew 'preachers' personally who during the week would wake up at like 11:00 every day, lounge around, go 'minister' to people at like 2. Then go to church meetings in the afternoon, then work on a 'lesson' for the congregation in spare time.

It just seemed like too much spare time that I am paying for in contribution.
Old 11-30-2005, 03:20 PM   #7 (permalink)
30 Never looked this good

Credits: 17,435
If a pastor is doing his job, he wouldn't really have time to have a second job...I know I don't have time for it, because I'm busy, so why should I expect my pastor to?

I know my pastor stays busy...my church is a baby making factory, and he's always visiting someone, praying with someone, meeting with someone/group...every new member who comes into the church (whether by baptism or transferring of membership) is introduced to the pastor personally...face to face...he does an internet radio program daily where people can call in with prayer requests, and he offers intercessory prayer...when my singles' group was going out of town, he met us at the church, to see us off, and to offer prayer...and not just once...

That to me is a good minister...and had he been busy conducting a side job, he would not be available for the many people in the congregation who need him.

My pastor (and the other pastors of my denom) isn't paid based on the # of people sitting in my church's congregation...he is paid a salary based on his # of years of service...so his motivation is not to get people in the church to get more money, but to introduce them to Christ...
Old 11-30-2005, 03:24 PM   #8 (permalink)
30 Never looked this good

Credits: 17,435
Originally Posted by RotiKing2004eva
I won't say most, cuz I don't know figures, but I've seen many people who are pastors grew up in a church with no real aspirations to do anything else but preach, and don't really do well in school. Then they end up in a ministry and don't really know anything else but preaching and never worked a regular job in their lives, how will they know how to minister to people with regular jobs?
That's something that causes me to ask questions...I feel that a pastor must be called...not just up and say well dais where de money is so leh me go and be a pastor...same way I consult God in every aspect of my life, is de same way a person ought to do when deciding to go into the ministry...when you step out with God's blessings...He will show that pastor who has done nothing but study to be a pastor how to relate to others.