Old 02-06-2008, 12:59 PM   #16 (permalink)
Kiz

Credits: 14,051
Originally Posted by sebas4920 View Post
Question for believers. Why does god get to have absolute power?

Question two: Do people really think god is doing something? If he is, then what is he doing? For example, look at places like Haiti, Bosnia, Darfur. Christians or Muslims will say "I will pray for them" I LAUGH at this!! You mean to tell me that maybe, if we pray enough, god will realize "hey this is wrong, I should probably fix this!"

Question three: Why do bad things happen at all?
He gets to have absolute power because he is the Almighty and he has made us.

All of these things must happen becuz it is written and has been fortold and it is coming to past. It's time for you to prepare yourself for his coming...The lord is coming.....these are all signs of the end of the world as we know it.....

God allow things to happen to you to keep you strong and to remind you that there is help in him.....Sometimes when bad things happen it turns out for a betterment.....and that you have faith to trust that he will help you

if bad things are happening to you all the while you need to search yourself and see if the problem lies within you
Old 02-06-2008, 01:01 PM   #17 (permalink)
Kiz

Credits: 14,051
and revelation is pure madness. thats an evil book I think.

like people that big that book up are some real masochists!
you need to start reading for understanding and stop looking at everything on the surface
Old 02-06-2008, 01:43 PM   #18 (permalink)
como el lindo clave

Credits: 5,005
Originally Posted by liteskinboy View Post
it's because you're white.

yeah, something can be said for this. europeans constantly shifted between pushing the churches various incarnations and its values and pushing free thought and reason... i guess this trickles down into my psyche. But what are you gonna say to all the black muslims, rastas, or african traditional religionists? hmmmmmmm?
Old 02-08-2008, 09:48 PM   #19 (permalink)

Credits: 3,245
Originally Posted by up2detime View Post
without darkness, light wouldnt irrelevant.

all the badness going on in the world and people still consumed in worldly things. if everything was perfect, many ppl still wouldnt give God the respect he deserves. because of the suffering, you need to learn to appreciate each and every blessing. you would think gosh a friend close to me just pass, life is real, let me geh my act together because i want to go to heaven. but many ppl miss the message and instead focus on the fact that God chose to take they friend. everything happen for a reason, maybe the friend served his purpose already. i know the bible is huge, but there is a lot to learn from it. you should take it up and start reading. probably Revalation to see how much worse things gone get. then you'll understand life is not that bad!
Well said!

However, it is understandable that anyone who believed the nonsense most churches teach about God could come to the point of saying there is no God.

I believe there is a God but I also believe that what or who is described by most people as God, does not exist!

God is within you.
1 Corinthians 3:16 Know ye not that ye are the temple of God, and [that] the Spirit of God dwelleth in you?

The essense of who you are is God
PSALM 82:6 Thus saith the Lord: Ye are gods and children of the Most High..

Jesus said: I and my father are one then He said that you and Him, Jesus, is one.

Do you now see why you must act royal?

Do you now see why you should listen to the voice within, the real you that is connected to the stars as it is connected to the seas as it is connected to everything manifested and unmanifested. Its God.

But the question remains - why is there so much bad?

my answer is, there isnt!

You call it bad.

What it is is an opportunity for you to develop a part of another manifestation of God - You.

Why?

Because its fun and so darm fulfilling - when done right

Think of something you worked hard at and acheived against all odds.

There is no greater feeling in the world.

Think of the people you admire the best.

Are they people who got things handed to them on a platter, or people who worked hard, loved and sacrificed for the ones they loved.

Ah, that is what Jesus was all about.

Earth is like a gym where we work had to acheive great results and become better souls.

Take up your cross, Jesus said, and follow me.

Thats your barbell so your character muscles become strong.

So the things you call BAD are really good if you see them as opportunities for the greatness of God, which is the greatness of you, to manifest itself.

"The devil may bring it but is God who allways send it." Ent yuh Granny tell yuh dat?

Last edited by Daveed; 02-08-2008 at 09:52 PM..
Old 02-11-2008, 07:53 PM   #20 (permalink)
como el lindo clave

why islam and christianity are more than likely false and mentally damaging religions:

1. Why do some choose god and why do some reject it?

or

why does sarah like robbing people and why does sara like feeding them?

or

why is person a different from person b?

This is a difficult point to explain. I have yet to explain it sufficiently I think, but I will attempt it now.

What makes me different from my twin brother?

Why did I grin after coming out of the womb and being burped for the first time while my twin brother giggled?

Are we a blank state upon being born as Locke thought? I say that we are to an extent

We have not yet been enculturated, we dont know values, words, we cant think in words, I wonder if we can even "think" at all. We dont differenitate. We dont see patterns. We dont know that blue and green are different.

At the same time, we are obviously not all equal. We have (genetic? divine?) predispositions and proclivities and nuances of temperment that become aware as we progress through life.

Or maybe everything is JUST a result of our unique experience as we prgress through life..

who knows?

the key with these questions is to get you to think about this kind of stuff, and for the purpose of this little argument, to think about how these ideas relate to the concept of a god!

Lets look at the question of free will, and also lets look at the differences between those that pick god (jesus, allah, other god) and those that either dont pick any god, or pick the wrong god....

What is the difference?

Why does one person choose to submit to allah and have a relationship with him, and why does the next person not choose allah?

Lets remove the extremely complicated dynamics of being raised in a muslim vs non muslim culture.... and lets also ignore the weird questions that arise from examining what people are most likely to pick as their idea of god given the type of culture environment they were raised in!

Lets focus on two test subjects, both raised in 20th/21st century america.... Maybe even in the same town! MAybe even twins!

Why does one twin follow jesus and the bible and the other does not?

Free will doesnt answer the question. Free will simply states that it is us and not god that control our destinies. (unless I am mistaken)

So given that we have a free will, and ignoring the question of "how much are we really "in control of our destiny?" when none of us asked to be here and had to be created by an outside being!...." then why does one person make one decision and another person make a different decision?

Is one person called by god and the other not called by god? If this is so, when did god decide he would call the person, and why did he decide he would call the person? If he doesnt call someone, does god still exact punishment on the uncalled person after death?

Does god control absolutely everything? To the point that he is controlling me typing this sentance, and the thoughts of you as you read them? This is possible, but it would negate the notion of a true free will. It would also be pretty screwed up, implying that god created people solely to lead astray and send to hell!

So why does one person reject god and another accept it? What, exactly, is the difference?

Is it random?

Maybe we are dropped into a world of esxperiences, and those expereinces shape our perceptions and our future expereinces, which in turn shape future and later expereinces, resulting in one big huge expereince/interaction... followed by death. You cant back out of this and say its too complicated. Life IS in TOTALITY the sum of ALL our experiences, combined with the sum of ALL of our perceptions of those expereinces combined with ALL the "choices" we made during those expereinces, combined with ALL the thoughts we had durning those experiences and while making choices! ITs complicated as the ################ens, but it is what it is, and it can be looked at and thought about!

So what is the answer?

why are you accepting jesus and me rejecting him. why exactly... becuase we have free will does not answer this question!

2. Are we all being gambled with?

Does god know who is going to choose him and who is going to accept him "since before time began?" IF HE DID, than this is almost unexcusable behavior! How is it "with our best interests at stake" to create people knowing they will go to hell? That seems wrong.

IF HE DIDNT, then he is GAMBLING with our eternal destinies! IT could very well be that every sinbgle human rejects god!

either way.... IT appears to be a divine game that we are forced into playing.... and as the chrisitans like saying, we are playing roulette with a fully loaded gun....

3. Are gods machines out of control?

We have free will... Doesnt this imply a lack of control on gods part? We have the freedom to go against his will! He cant control us. Or can he? Pklease discuss!

Also, if he is not controlling us... is he controllingn things like being mauled by animals, tsunamis, earthqukes, being run over, catching aids, etc? Is he copntrolling the perceptions that people make about reality after being exposed to forces not under gods control (like other humans, or natural events?)

4. How much power does the devil have? Does the devil decieve people to the point of them going to hell?

Why does god let the devil have so much power that he leads countless humans astray?

5. Cognitive dissonance. Most mainstream religions preach that it is okay, acceptable and good that god punishes unbelievers ofrever in hell. At the same time most mainstream religions preach that we should love each other!

This leads to cognitive dissonance, holding two or more radically opposed ideas in the mind and using both of those ideas to shape our view of a given situation! In this case the given situation is "how to view humanity and how to treat humans all the time, at the most fundamental level, at every point in time!"

How is it truly possible to love someone when in your mind you also think it is perfectly fine for them to be tortured FOREVER???
Old 02-11-2008, 08:37 PM   #21 (permalink)
como el lindo clave

6! (I knew I left something out)

Are we to assume that this world and everything in it is evidecne of "the best god can do?"

Are we to assume that an all perfect being is responsible for all of this?

Or are we the unfortunate participants in Gods big cosmic screw up!
Old 03-05-2008, 07:24 PM   #22 (permalink)
L O S T

Credits: 43,424
I told youlong time the god stuff was foolishness

next you goin end up as loony as moses

Last edited by .; 03-05-2008 at 07:28 PM..
Old 03-06-2008, 02:46 PM   #23 (permalink)

Credits: 18,084
too many questions to answer realistically. google is a powerful tool, do some soul searching
Old 03-08-2008, 05:08 AM   #24 (permalink)
como el lindo clave

Originally Posted by DJ View Post
I told youlong time the god stuff was foolishness

next you goin end up as loony as moses
too late yo
Old 03-08-2008, 05:09 AM   #25 (permalink)
como el lindo clave

ok

I figured it out

christianity and islam cannot be true

torture is wrong

torturing conscious beings is not good

a good creator would not allow the possibility of eternally torturing a conscious being
Old 03-10-2008, 06:03 AM   #26 (permalink)
L O S T

http://www.islandmix.com/backchat/sh...91#post2722691

I think Pat agrees
ok

I figured it out

torture is wrong

a good creator would not allow the possibility of eternally torturing a conscious being
Old 03-10-2008, 12:37 PM   #27 (permalink)

Credits: 18,084
ok

I figured it out

torture is wrong

what exactly have you figured out?
Old 03-10-2008, 12:48 PM   #28 (permalink)

Credits: 34,865
Old 03-12-2008, 12:25 PM   #29 (permalink)
Brown Milk

There is a supreme being, that's for sure...

Sebas, U cant believe everything that's in the Bible, after all, man has written it...
Old 03-13-2008, 12:38 PM   #30 (permalink)
L O S T

Originally Posted by Afro Samurai View Post
There is a supreme being, that's for sure...

Sebas, U cant believe everything that's in the Bible, after all, man has written it...
what makes you say that