Old 11-22-2005, 03:42 PM   #1 (permalink)
aka Karl Logan

Credits: 876
Lightbulb Here's a Thought......

“Well over 90 percent of North Americans say they believe in God, and the figure is much the same in western Europe . . . What is interesting, however, is that less than 50 percent of the people believe that Christianity is the only true religion. And this opens up the possibility of much more experimentation in the field of religion and for much greater movement between religions. Many people are not leaving God for no God, as Eliot imagined, but for new ways of understanding God and new forms of religion to suit their contemporary situation. This often, but not always, entails a rejection of older forms of religion or notions of God. . . ."

Dr. P. B. Clarke, The World's Religions,
A Reader's Digest Book, 1993 p. 14-5.)
--------------------------------------------------------------

Do you see any validity to this writers statements?

Lets discuss!
Old 11-22-2005, 04:15 PM   #2 (permalink)
Welcome to Roti Bell.

Credits: 173
The writer makes some valid statements. There's no problem in what he's saying. Where I digress from this is the process of finding the "right" religion. What is the "right" religion? What makes it right? How would you know when you've found it?
Old 11-22-2005, 04:26 PM   #3 (permalink)
aka Karl Logan

Credits: 876
Originally Posted by Agony
The writer makes some valid statements. There's no problem in what he's saying. Where I digress from this is the process of finding the "right" religion. What is the "right" religion? What makes it right? How would you know when you've found it?
I don't think there is a "RIGHT" religion. Traditionally, people within various religions have fought over this concept for ages. I believe that within this generation of people, the religion itself is not the key, but rather the relationship with yourself and your God IS the key. We can no longer down play anothers belief becuase it is not your own. we each have a walk to go on during our lives. Each person's walk is relative to there own lifes experience, which will inevitably lead to realization that there is no one "right" religous belief and/or faith.
Old 11-22-2005, 04:28 PM   #4 (permalink)
Freedom

Credits: 6,413
Cool

Originally Posted by kevlocks
Each person's walk is relative to there own lifes experience, which will inevitably lead to realization that there is no one "right" religous belief and/or faith.
I understand what you're saying here, but I don't know if I agree here or not. This can be interpreted in other ways. Can you restate this so I can make up meh mind?
Old 11-22-2005, 05:17 PM   #5 (permalink)
RasYardHindian

Credits: 358
And this opens up the possibility of much more experimentation in the field of religion and for much greater movement between religions. Many people are not leaving God for no God, ...., but for new ways of understanding God and new forms of religion to suit their contemporary situation. This often, but not always, entails a rejection of older forms of religion or notions of God. . . ."

-------------------------------------------------------------

Do you see any validity to this writers statements? :
I dont agree with the suit their contemporary situation part at all - Some religions are totally ridiculous. I dont also think its necessarily wise to reject the older forms of religions either.

Religious ideas take time to understand and to formulate.

The part I like is the increase in the acceptance of God. It shows that more people acknowledge the fact that their is a higher Being - a force more powerful than the individual. All in all tho I can respect that, and however we wish to pay homage to that being - fine by me.

It is the nature of that being that will forever remain subject of hot debate.
Old 11-22-2005, 05:17 PM   #6 (permalink)
Welcome to Roti Bell.

Credits: 173
Originally Posted by Kevlocks
Each person's walk is relative to there own lifes experience, which will inevitably lead to realization that there is no one "right" religous belief and/or faith.
I think I understand what Kev is saying. This reasoning would be ideal if everyone eventually came or could come to the same place in their spiritual walk. As we see today, many people have come to "some" place (ignoring of course that we're all still travelling). The place is not common and leads to opposition and/or in-fighting between schools of theosophical thought. Taking the spiritual walk without direction leads all over the place. Where do people find the clearest, detailed and promising spiritual map?
Old 11-22-2005, 05:20 PM   #7 (permalink)
RasYardHindian

Credits: 358
I think you are saying everyone's path (which are many) to enlightenment will vary depending on one's experience?

If so I cosign