Old 07-24-2007, 12:00 AM   #1 (permalink)

Help me out with this one too

You ever watch those people on Christian television and others in church who are always taking about binding satan in the "name of Jesus?" With all these folks binding the devil, how come he keeps escaping? And if pastor so and so in church A is binding satan, who is pastor so and so in church Q binding?
Old 07-24-2007, 01:58 PM   #2 (permalink)
DJ
evil personified

i think God is eihter giving his followers cheap handcuffs
or
he/she/it/them really is not ALL powerfull

Last edited by DJ; 07-24-2007 at 02:01 PM.
Old 07-24-2007, 02:49 PM   #3 (permalink)

Originally Posted by DJ View Post
i think God is eihter giving his followers cheap handcuffs
or
he/she/it/them really is not ALL powerfull
Unfunny punchline attempts aside...

quite simply "many are called, but the chosen are few"...not everyone who claims to exercise this power actually wields it. False prophets are everywhere.

Additionally, those who do, have limited power to bind Satan...that is, they bind him in that limited instance (personifying a crippling disease as Satan, for instance) and not in absolute entirety. As I said Earlier...Satan is very much part of the plan, so he has to be allowed to 'do his thing' within limitations.
Old 07-24-2007, 04:09 PM   #4 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Bake n Shark View Post
Unfunny punchline attempts aside...

quite simply "many are called, but the chosen are few"...not everyone who claims to exercise this power actually wields it. False prophets are everywhere.

Additionally, those who do, have limited power to bind Satan...that is, they bind him in that limited instance (personifying a crippling disease as Satan, for instance) and not in absolute entirety. As I said Earlier...Satan is very much part of the plan, so he has to be allowed to 'do his thing' within limitations.
So considering what this satan dude can do or does (allegedly) which is supposedly is to "kill and devour," it's quite embarrassing of bible-god to "allow" him to terrorize the planet - for what??? So I am to expect that the child, lying in a hospital bed racked in extreme pain and dying from some incurable disease is part of some "divine plan' in which satan plays a role to "learn somebody a lesson?" Who can I pin the responsibility on? God? Satan? Both? They work together? Frightening don't you think?
Old 07-25-2007, 09:05 AM   #5 (permalink)

Originally Posted by 24/7 View Post
You ever watch those people on Christian television and others in church who are always taking about binding satan in the "name of Jesus?" With all these folks binding the devil, how come he keeps escaping? And if pastor so and so in church A is binding satan, who is pastor so and so in church Q binding?
The only way that I can make sense of this, ...Is that Satan CAN ONLY be interpreted as a set of personal characteristics that are completely anthropomorphized. Thus, 'binding Satan' is actually overcoming weaknesses or flaws such as jealousy, greed, logical thinking, obsessive compulsive masturbation, etc.
Old 07-27-2007, 01:27 AM   #6 (permalink)
como el lindo clave

wait wait, OC masturbating is funny. but logical thinking is also a flaw?
Old 07-27-2007, 12:58 PM   #7 (permalink)

So considering what this satan dude can do or does (allegedly) which is supposedly is to "kill and devour," it's quite embarrassing of bible-god to "allow" him to terrorize the planet - for what???

It's not necessarily for you to understand. You either accept it or reject it. Chances are that even IF you tried, the concepts would be too profound for your tiny mind to grasp. That's why there's such a thing as FAITH. If you don't subscribe to that, then can't help you friend.

So I am to expect that the child, lying in a hospital bed racked in extreme pain and dying from some incurable disease is part of some "divine plan' in which satan plays a role to "learn somebody a lesson?" Who can I pin the responsibility on? God? Satan? Both? They work together? Frightening don't you think?
Not at all...in fact, stepping outside of the typical Judeo-Christian construct, it makes total sense.

...btw, still ent reconcile yuh issues wid God eh Dex?
Old 07-28-2007, 12:21 AM   #8 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Bake n Shark View Post
Not at all...in fact, stepping outside of the typical Judeo-Christian construct, it makes total sense.

...btw, still ent reconcile yuh issues wid God eh Dex?
Guess not, N. He seems deaf.
Old 07-31-2007, 03:59 PM   #9 (permalink)
OBAMA 4 President!

So considering what this satan dude can do or does (allegedly) which is supposedly is to "kill and devour," it's quite embarrassing of bible-god to "allow" him to terrorize the planet - for what??? So I am to expect that the child, lying in a hospital bed racked in extreme pain and dying from some incurable disease is part of some "divine plan' in which satan plays a role to "learn somebody a lesson?" Who can I pin the responsibility on? God? Satan? Both? They work together? Frightening don't you think?

My understanding is that God appears and works in your life once you invite him in. There are evil forces constantly at work seeking to kill and devour…..So its up to the believer to call upon God and have faith, be patient and trust that he’ll turn a distressing situation around, in HIS time. after all he’s not some bell boy or genie that comes a running as soon as one snaps their fingers.
Old 07-31-2007, 04:50 PM   #10 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Ms. QT CuTe View Post
My understanding is that God appears and works in your life once you invite him in. There are evil forces constantly at work seeking to kill and devour…..So its up to the believer to call upon God and have faith, be patient and trust that he’ll turn a distressing situation around, in HIS time. after all he’s not some bell boy or genie that comes a running as soon as one snaps their fingers.
Your response brings up a question, though QT. Who takes life? God or the Satan guy?
Old 07-31-2007, 05:01 PM   #11 (permalink)
OBAMA 4 President!

Your response brings up a question, though QT. Who takes life? God or the Satan guy?
IMO it would depend on the situation. something like that is not cut and dry or one dimensional.

However, I will say that due to the fact that there are evil forces at work looking to kill and destroy, its imperative that we actively seek Gods protection every day in our going out and in our coming back in, since we don’t know what evil is lurking outside our front doors. Some leave home and never make it back….Psalms 91 & 121 is good to read for that.
Old 07-31-2007, 09:10 PM   #12 (permalink)

IMO it would depend on the situation. something like that is not cut and dry or one dimensional.

However, I will say that due to the fact that there are evil forces at work looking to kill and destroy, its imperative that we actively seek Gods protection every day in our going out and in our coming back in, since we don’t know what evil is lurking outside our front doors. Some leave home and never make it back….Psalms 91 & 121 is good to read for that.
What situation darling? if you re-read your response, you never really answered the question.
Old 07-31-2007, 10:30 PM   #13 (permalink)
OBAMA 4 President!

What situation darling? if you re-read your response, you never really answered the question.
thats because the answer isn't at all simple...way to complicated to discuss with someone who obviously knows nothing about the Lord.

try going to a really good church and maybe u'll find a pastor with way more patience to answer your questions.
Old 08-01-2007, 12:18 AM   #14 (permalink)

thats because the answer isn't at all simple...way to complicated to discuss with someone who obviously knows nothing about the Lord.

try going to a really good church and maybe u'll find a pastor with way more patience to answer your questions.
lol...too cute. No I don't need to 'know the lord' to know the answer darling. It should just be a clear black and white answer, shouldn't it? If Satan can "kill and devour," as per the bible, then he should be blamed for people's deaths, shouldn't he, but then, we are also told only god gives and takes away life, right? The only other answer would be that god uses Satan as his agent to carry out people's demise, but then that's a whole other problematic situation, wouldn't it be?

As for finding a 'good church' with a pastor, from experience, quite a few of them don't even believe what they teach or preach and the others are really without solid answers for questions like these. In the end, without some credible and solid answer, they have to toss out the faith card in hopes that one can suspend their inherent nature to use logic and reason in order to buy some incredulous answer.
Old 08-01-2007, 10:05 AM   #15 (permalink)
OBAMA 4 President!

lol...too cute. No I don't need to 'know the lord' to know the answer darling. It should just be a clear black and white answer, shouldn't it? If Satan can "kill and devour," as per the bible, then he should be blamed for people's deaths, shouldn't he, but then, we are also told only god gives and takes away life, right? The only other answer would be that god uses Satan as his agent to carry out people's demise, but then that's a whole other problematic situation, wouldn't it be?

As for finding a 'good church' with a pastor, from experience, quite a few of them don't even believe what they teach or preach and the others are really without solid answers for questions like these. In the end, without some credible and solid answer, they have to toss out the faith card in hopes that one can suspend their inherent nature to use logic and reason in order to buy some incredulous answer.
yeah ok