Old 03-30-2009, 06:22 PM   #31 (permalink)
Half Man - Half Beast

Credits: 27,458
Originally Posted by Val3nie2debone View Post
They're definitely not the same as back home, in some ways churches up here are limited with what they can do. For instance the feasts and baptisms etc I find are limited. But overall the churches are good. My biggest issue with choosing a church is the feeling I get from it. A lot of these churches aren't "clean" so I'm very careful about where I go. Right now the one I attend I get a very good vibe from it and it's not a big church.
Originally Posted by **Vincy-Soca-Diva** View Post
No they aren't the same. I grew up in baptist church in America and when I attended service in Vincy (first time I went to baptist church down there I was 8, usually I go to catholic church down there with my aunt) it was very differnt the way they conduct themselves, dressing, preaching style teaching style were diffent...most importantly the time of service. America service start late end late in Vincy it start early end early or at a descent hour.
Yea the service in most church in america starts late and end late ah dunno why, the baptist church back home when you go is like you can feel the energy of the church and the people in it like you become a part of the church automatically just by the vibes you get from the members.

The best inheritance parents can give their children is
a few minutes of their time each day.
Old 03-30-2009, 06:33 PM   #32 (permalink)
Mrs . (A.k.A Mrs. Dot)

Credits: 60,863
Originally Posted by notorious saga View Post
Yea the service in most church in america starts late and end late ah dunno why, the baptist church back home when you go is like you can feel the energy of the church and the people in it like you become a part of the church automatically just by the vibes you get from the members.
I agree.... I think up here people get tie up with status and power, and back home everyone know their stuff, most teachers not afraid to teach and share so in a form the knowledge is equal and people who recieve their gifts aren't tested as much as they are up here.
The vibration is different there vs. here...... and up here you have a few services where you feel uplifted while some cases you like shit I shoulda gone to that fete in truth. (As of the last few years I don't party as much I go to church and a few times I'm satisfied with the service while other times I leave shaking my head.) When I'm in Vincy I usually leave content but then again it could all seem cool because you are the visitor and no one wants their house to seem unclean but I feel spirit would let you know in advance if a place is unfit.
Old 03-30-2009, 06:38 PM   #33 (permalink)
Mrs . (A.k.A Mrs. Dot)

YouTube - CNN On the Oshun Festival in Oshogbo 2008 (Òsun Osogbo Òrìsà Òsun)
Old 03-30-2009, 06:52 PM   #34 (permalink)
~Dare to be freeeeeee~

Credits: 16,102
Yeah, my mother spends her whole sunday in church lol...she leaves home around 10 and doesnt get home until 5 or 6 in the evening. I used to tease her and ask her if they went on a pilgrimage to meet god or something

I agree.... I think up here people get tie up with status and power, and back home everyone know their stuff, most teachers not afraid to teach and share so in a form the knowledge is equal and people who recieve their gifts aren't tested as much as they are up here.
The vibration is different there vs. here...... and up here you have a few services where you feel uplifted while some cases you like shit I shoulda gone to that fete in truth. (As of the last few years I don't party as much I go to church and a few times I'm satisfied with the service while other times I leave shaking my head.) When I'm in Vincy I usually leave content but then again it could all seem cool because you are the visitor and no one wants their house to seem unclean but I feel spirit would let you know in advance if a place is unfit.
You're absolutely right about eople getting caught up with status and power. They forget the purpose of the church and focus more on what they can get out of the church.

Something with a lot of elders in the faith, it's like they're afraid to teach and explain things to you. It's like everything is a big secret. I does ask questions though. The church I currently attend I get a really good feeling after each service, something I don't get from the church my mother attends.
Old 03-30-2009, 06:57 PM   #35 (permalink)
Half Man - Half Beast

I went to a church here in Maryland where one of the leaders was really rude to my wife and I, actually that's the church we got married in but at the time everything was cool until this leader got out of hand couple times - an incident started when we went to church one Sunday and was listening to the pastor preaching after some of the usual stuff they always call people to pray with the children so the woman look at me and my wife and said " yall aint gonna be come in this church looking all pretty pretty every Sunday yall gonna git up there and pray with those children this sunday wid one nasty look" (it's just the way she said it) well boy I've been with my wife long enough to know when it's time to hold her back but it look like god was on her side and I didn't have to budge but that lady was lucky not to get a proper cussin. we talked to the pastor after the incident and he did nothing so we found another church.

Old 03-30-2009, 07:01 PM   #36 (permalink)
~Dare to be freeeeeee~

I went to a church here in Maryland where one of the leaders was really rude to my wife and I, actually that's the church we got married in but at the time everything was cool until this leader got out of hand couple times - an incident started when we went to church one Sunday and was listening to the pastor preaching after some of the usual stuff they always call people to pray with the children so the woman look at me and my wife and said " yall aint gonna be come in this church looking all pretty pretty every Sunday yall gonna git up there and pray with those children this sunday wid one nasty look" (it's just the way she said it) well boy I've been with my wife long enough to know when it's time to hold her back but it look like god was on her side and I didn't have to budge but that lady was lucky not to get a proper cussin. we talked to the pastor after the incident and he did nothing so we found another church.
Yeah that's something with a lot of "elders" in the church, they don't know how to talk to people. I don't blame you guys for finding another church.
Old 03-30-2009, 07:01 PM   #37 (permalink)
Mrs . (A.k.A Mrs. Dot)

Some people mean well but does talk hard I think it's us as West Indian's. I hear African's they does talk harsh too . God will point you in the right direction. I think the mother just wanted you to actively participate in the service, how she went about it wasn't the greatest but it is what it is. I think Kiz might know of a church down there I'm not too sure.
Old 03-30-2009, 07:03 PM   #38 (permalink)
Mrs . (A.k.A Mrs. Dot)

Yeah that's something with a lot of "elders" in the church, they don't know how to talk to people. I don't blame you guys for finding another church.
at least she ent tump one some of them leaders does tump hard too... but that's how they discipline in the caribbean you don't see much giving licks too I have no problem being disciplined but it's how you do it and explain to me what I did wrong and how I should correct the problem.
Old 03-30-2009, 07:09 PM   #39 (permalink)
~Dare to be freeeeeee~

at least she ent tump one some of them leaders does tump hard too... but that's how they discipline in the caribbean you don't see much giving licks too I have no problem being disciplined but it's how you do it and explain to me what I did wrong and how I should correct the problem.
Exactly, some of them does just thump you and doh bother to explain. Just say "you should know better" mean while you have this dumb "huh?" look on ur face lol
Old 03-30-2009, 07:15 PM   #40 (permalink)
Half Man - Half Beast

Exactly, some of them does just thump you and doh bother to explain. Just say "you should know better" mean while you have this dumb "huh?" look on ur face lol
Aye the woman was loud as hell, everyone in the church look around at us de way the woman bawl is like meh granny calling me or something dem kinda ting eh call for athal is like deh tink is come kinda elder god deh is or something like deh wor beat yuh up fuh not participating.

Old 03-30-2009, 07:25 PM   #41 (permalink)
Mrs . (A.k.A Mrs. Dot)

Aye the woman was loud as hell, everyone in the church look around at us de way the woman bawl is like meh granny calling me or something dem kinda ting eh call for athal is like deh tink is come kinda elder god deh is or something like deh wor beat yuh up fuh not participating.
I don't know.....but the best of luck in finding the right fit.

I found this

W.I.U.S.B.S.O. Inc. - Welcome read thorugh see if it helps.
Old 03-30-2009, 07:35 PM   #42 (permalink)
Half Man - Half Beast

I don't know.....but the best of luck in finding the right fit.

I found this

W.I.U.S.B.S.O. Inc. - Welcome read thorugh see if it helps.
Well that church I'm talking about is our old church, we've been away from that church about 8yrs now - we move from the area where we were living before and since we relocated we found a new church that we've been attending for about 3 years now, the pastor & members are very nice - is like a multi-cultural church and everyone is one family at the church, there is people from west africa, kenya, brazil, puerto rico, mexico, israel, whites, blacks, chinese etc is not a baptist church the other one wasn't also. so we have found the right church they don't beat yuh up and ting over deh.

Old 03-30-2009, 08:21 PM   #43 (permalink)
Kiz

Credits: 14,075
The name sound familiar when I was giving invites last year for recognition day. Might check it out one day. You going Ashton Feast in May.... last year was real nice. pilgrimage was good too.
I will be dere this year...Yes i will

I'm not sure if i'll go. Right now I just tagging along with my mother, so where ever she goes, i'll try to make an appearance. I believe where Mantle of Christ is, it's Kiz's mom's place.
Exactly, that means your service is on a Sunday and their service Saturday...so who is the pastor or you not too sure? I may visit one Sunday after I go granny church.
A little short Trini guy who likes to make plants.

They're definitely not the same as back home, in some ways churches up here are limited with what they can do. For instance the feasts and baptisms etc I find are limited. But overall the churches are good. My biggest issue with choosing a church is the feeling I get from it. A lot of these churches aren't "clean" so I'm very careful about where I go. Right now the one I attend I get a very good vibe from it and it's not a big church.
Cuz if dem police ketch yuh here is jail yuh making...back home dem police know bout baptist ting

lie.....its the same ppl from back home dat is in de ting up here......so yuh saying dat when the plane cross water they forget their stuff?? Dey just like playing de ass.

Yeah, my mother spends her whole sunday in church lol...she leaves home around 10 and doesnt get home until 5 or 6 in the evening. I used to tease her and ask her if they went on a pilgrimage to meet god or something

You're absolutely right about eople getting caught up with status and power. They forget the purpose of the church and focus more on what they can get out of the church.

Something with a lot of elders in the faith, it's like they're afraid to teach and explain things to you. It's like everything is a big secret. I does ask questions though. The church I currently attend I get a really good feeling after each service, something I don't get from the church my mother attends.
Yuh have to have ah man who does understand this faith yes cuz wen yuh come home at 12 in de night bawling yuh just come from church is cuss yuh go geh..lol

Secondly de leaders and dem doh like to teach cuz some ppl too fass and does dip dey hands in tings dat dont concern dem.....and dey does lie on the spirit too much...even doh it leaves us clueless yuh cant really blame dem..

Some people mean well but does talk hard I think it's us as West Indian's. I hear African's they does talk harsh too . God will point you in the right direction. I think the mother just wanted you to actively participate in the service, how she went about it wasn't the greatest but it is what it is. I think Kiz might know of a church down there I'm not too sure.
Old 03-31-2009, 11:30 AM   #44 (permalink)
Mrs . (A.k.A Mrs. Dot)

Originally Posted by Kiz View Post
I will be dere this year...Yes i will

A little short Trini guy who likes to make plants.

Cuz if dem police ketch yuh here is jail yuh making...back home dem police know bout baptist ting

lie.....its the same ppl from back home dat is in de ting up here......so yuh saying dat when the plane cross water they forget their stuff?? Dey just like playing de ass.

Yuh have to have ah man who does understand this faith yes cuz wen yuh come home at 12 in de night bawling yuh just come from church is cuss yuh go geh..lol

Secondly de leaders and dem doh like to teach cuz some ppl too fass and does dip dey hands in tings dat dont concern dem.....and dey does lie on the spirit too much...even doh it leaves us clueless yuh cant really blame dem..

Hmm so you going Ashton feast and pilgrimage too yay that should be fun ....yes when they take the plane over I think them people really does forget cause I keep hearing how so and so was good in their country and they don't know what happened when they reach here. I would love to see a real hardcore Trini style or Vincy stlye service and not just once in a blue but straight through.
Old 03-31-2009, 11:33 AM   #45 (permalink)
Mrs . (A.k.A Mrs. Dot)

Well that church I'm talking about is our old church, we've been away from that church about 8yrs now - we move from the area where we were living before and since we relocated we found a new church that we've been attending for about 3 years now, the pastor & members are very nice - is like a multi-cultural church and everyone is one family at the church, there is people from west africa, kenya, brazil, puerto rico, mexico, israel, whites, blacks, chinese etc is not a baptist church the other one wasn't also. so we have found the right church they don't beat yuh up and ting over deh.
oh hor so you going to a non-denominational church. Well cool as long as you found something that makes you smile and uplifts your spirits.