Old 03-30-2009, 03:55 PM   #16 (permalink)
~Dare to be freeeeeee~

Credits: 16,072
Nice thread. I remember growing up and attending thanksgivings and feasts. As I got older I kept ducking church though lol and my grandfather was an Archbishop. Is only now that he's not here, I've finally decided to stop running and start going to church. I must say it's a great feeling.
Old 03-30-2009, 03:56 PM   #17 (permalink)
Mrs . (A.k.A Mrs. Dot)

Credits: 60,835
Originally Posted by Val3nie2debone View Post
Nice thread. I remember growing up and attending thanksgivings and feasts. As I got older I kept ducking church though lol and my grandfather was an Archbishop. Is only now that he's not here, I've finally decided to stop running and start going to church. I must say it's a great feeling.
Wait wait wait....you go church? What church you go? You does go feast too?
Old 03-30-2009, 04:50 PM   #18 (permalink)
~Dare to be freeeeeee~

Originally Posted by **Vincy-Soca-Diva** View Post
Wait wait wait....you go church? What church you go? You does go feast too?
yes I just started back going to church. I decided to frequent Mantle of Christ. My mom goes to St. Anthony's SB Church in Queens. I have been to a couple feasts, but haven't been to one in a long time. Which church do you go to?
Old 03-30-2009, 04:52 PM   #19 (permalink)
Mrs . (A.k.A Mrs. Dot)

yes I just started back going to church. I decided to frequent Mantle of Christ. My mom goes to St. Anthony's SB Church in Queens. I have been to a couple feasts, but haven't been to one in a long time. Which church do you go to?
I stop going I might start going back soon... I participate in other things within the religion but I haven't gone to church church in about 2 years I know shame on me. Where is your church?
Old 03-30-2009, 05:05 PM   #20 (permalink)
~Dare to be freeeeeee~

I stop going I might start going back soon... I participate in other things within the religion but I haven't gone to church church in about 2 years I know shame on me. Where is your church?
Buffalo bet. Eastern Pkwy and Lincoln.
Old 03-30-2009, 05:13 PM   #21 (permalink)
Mrs . (A.k.A Mrs. Dot)

Buffalo bet. Eastern Pkwy and Lincoln.
Dats not a S.B church right
Old 03-30-2009, 05:14 PM   #22 (permalink)
~Dare to be freeeeeee~

Dats not a S.B church right
yup it is.
Old 03-30-2009, 05:18 PM   #23 (permalink)
Mrs . (A.k.A Mrs. Dot)

yup it is.
The name sound familiar when I was giving invites last year for recognition day. Might check it out one day. You going Ashton Feast in May.... last year was real nice. pilgrimage was good too.
Old 03-30-2009, 05:31 PM   #24 (permalink)
~Dare to be freeeeeee~

The name sound familiar when I was giving invites last year for recognition day. Might check it out one day. You going Ashton Feast in May.... last year was real nice. pilgrimage was good too.
I'm not sure if i'll go. Right now I just tagging along with my mother, so where ever she goes, i'll try to make an appearance. I believe where Mantle of Christ is, it's Kiz's mom's place.
Old 03-30-2009, 05:36 PM   #25 (permalink)
Mrs . (A.k.A Mrs. Dot)

I'm not sure if i'll go. Right now I just tagging along with my mother, so where ever she goes, i'll try to make an appearance. I believe where Mantle of Christ is, it's Kiz's mom's place.
Exactly, that means your service is on a Sunday and their service Saturday...so who is the pastor or you not too sure? I may visit one Sunday after I go granny church.
Old 03-30-2009, 05:39 PM   #26 (permalink)
~Dare to be freeeeeee~

Exactly, that means your service is on a Sunday and their service Saturday...so who is the pastor or you not too sure? I may visit one Sunday after I go granny church.
Yup it's on Sunday. i'll send u a pm, doh wanna have de man government on imix
Old 03-30-2009, 05:42 PM   #27 (permalink)
Mrs . (A.k.A Mrs. Dot)

Yup it's on Sunday. i'll send u a pm, doh wanna have de man government on imix
no problem.
Old 03-30-2009, 05:44 PM   #28 (permalink)
Half Man - Half Beast

Credits: 27,273
Val or VSD how is the baptist church dem in NY/U.S? I live in Maryland but I've never been to one up here, I know it's probably nothing like the ones in the Caribbean but just wanted to know since you guys attended SB church over here. I'm a catholic but my father, grandmother, aunt etc are all baptist so I've been more open to the baptist ting than the anything else from since back home in trini.

The best inheritance parents can give their children is
a few minutes of their time each day.
Old 03-30-2009, 05:57 PM   #29 (permalink)
~Dare to be freeeeeee~

Originally Posted by notorious saga View Post
Val or VSD how is the baptist church dem in NY/U.S? I live in Maryland but I've never been to one up here, I know it's probably nothing like the ones in the Caribbean but just wanted to know since you guys attended SB church over here. I'm a catholic but my father, grandmother, aunt etc are all baptist so I've been more open to the baptist ting than the anything else from since back home in trini.

They're definitely not the same as back home, in some ways churches up here are limited with what they can do. For instance the feasts and baptisms etc I find are limited. But overall the churches are good. My biggest issue with choosing a church is the feeling I get from it. A lot of these churches aren't "clean" so I'm very careful about where I go. Right now the one I attend I get a very good vibe from it and it's not a big church.
Old 03-30-2009, 06:06 PM   #30 (permalink)
Mrs . (A.k.A Mrs. Dot)

Originally Posted by notorious saga View Post
No they aren't the same. I grew up in baptist church in America and when I attended service in Vincy (first time I went to baptist church down there I was 8, usually I go to catholic church down there with my aunt) it was very differnt the way they conduct themselves, dressing, preaching style teaching style were diffent...most importantly the time of service. America service start late end late in Vincy it start early end early or at a descent hour.