Undercover
Credits: 283,503
The Greatest promise ever made
I was reading the introduction of a soon to be published book whick is titled "The Greatest Promise Ever Made" the author of the book is trying to clarify the misconception that Salvation will only be available to those who believe. In his book he tries to justify that Salvation is open for all and he bases his ideas soley on his 37 yrs of studying religion and the bible. I had a problem with some of his beliefs and therefore raise the question.
Do you think that salvation is for all or limited to only those who follow the works of the Lord? |
Wah mek yuh brazen so?
Credits: 127
Last edited by sapodilla brownin; 06-19-2006 at 05:42 PM.. |
Undercover
And that is exactly what the author argues in his book, that even if you do not choose to call upon his name that you will still receive Salvation. The author considers it a gift that is made available to all wether or not you choose to accept it, hence it being "The greatest promoise ever made" |
L O S T
Credits: 43,456
if its something that EVERYONE has its not SPECIAL or a GIFT just a GIVEN |
Credits: 56,870
I don't know what train of thought the author is following but in general I will say that it makes no sense to me that the supreme being would create all this mystery and controversy over what's true and what's not, give us a scientific mind but an unscientific reality only to give salvation to those who decided to believe that reality. Oh and let's not forget all those of us who were not exposed /brought up to believe that reality. So every baby born into a family that choses to only believe in and hold sacred the dandalion growing on their front lawn is doomed to eternal fire or endless death by an accident of birth?
Credits: 2,449
i believe that salvation is available to all. which could be what the author means when he says its the greatest promise ever made. but it is the acceptance of Christ as the saviour that makes you a believer. and it does not mean a believer is someone without sin just that his/her sin is not willful and forgiveness is granted at the calling of his name. God also knows each persons heart and truly not everyone who calls will be redeemed.....bec. ''be not deceived, God is not mocked...."
Undercover
your concept is pretty much what he bases the book on. He draws on the idea that we do not ask for life, yet it is given to us, he see salvation almost in the same light |
I'm looking for some good books to read this summer and this one sounds good and controversial....i shall put it on my list. |
Undercover
that might be a problem. it is no where close to being in print, just gave the exerpt to a publisher so it might be a little while before it is available, but as soon as it comes on the market I will let you know in the mean time add from "Niggas to Gods" to your list, "The Miseducation of the Negro", "New World Order", "Illuminati" and the "Willie Lynch Letter" i found those to be some good reads |
do let me know....and thanks for the other suggestions |
Credits: 14,059
I believe that salvation can be aquired by all.........Turn to the lord....he is and in him you can find salvation.......Salvation is ah form of deliverance and redemtion which we all can get...IMO |