She
Credits: 743
In God we trust...
The Atheist Michael Newton, has fought with schools over the past couple of years to remove the pledge of allegiance because it refers to the notion of religion "One nation, Under God....".
Now he plans to argue the "In God we trust" symbol be removed from dollar bills and coins. Should it be removed from the US currency? Those who are heavy into religion, do you think this effects you? Are you peeved by this? Does the saying mean anything to you or you dont care? I think this belongs in Real talk, I will judge depending on your repsonses. |
Credits: 700
Don't care...I hardly pay attention to anything that's printed on my currency that isn't numerical...
RasYardHindian
Credits: 358
if the law is interpreted as is says (direct), then it is a violation. They also had the same issues with "In God we Trust" in court-rooms. Another problem that may arise is the "definition" of God. Should it be removed? - hmmm is that upsetting to see it on currency? not to me. Newton seems to be nit-picking on the currency issue. |
not ur friend...
Credits: 1,865
i really dont care...it's not that serious...i think he just has personal issues and is looking for attention..what's he gonna argue next that tv stations should stop showing church services on sunday mornings ?
RasYardHindian
L O S T
Credits: 43,470
as much as i am for seperation of church and state
"in god we trust" is a relic from the cold war at this point in time it has cliche status i dont care either way I do think it should be taken back out of the pledge thought........ ![]() |
RasYardHindian
Isnt it unconstitutional? |
She
Credits: 743
Good point and it is a violation in regards to the First Ammendment. Mr Newtown is basically excerising his rights as a human being. However, taking the line out of the US currency is definitely alot. DreadJockey... why should it be removed from the pledge? |
#9 (permalink) | ||
L O S T
Credits: 43,470
the original pledge was nice simple and to the point........
but since school superintendents didnt see blacks(niggas) or women(the baby makers) as equals he didnt use it... Last edited by .; 11-22-2005 at 08:57 AM.. |
||
Credits: 41,531
Is it really that serious for him to have that line taken off the currency??? To me these athiests seem to want any mention of God taken out of the country period, we talk about his rights but what about the rights of the believers? What's next we can't say "God bless you" or "Bless you" when somebody sneezes???
My only concern about the currency is the denomination. As long as I know that pic of Ben Franklin means $100 I'm cool.
"If u put a small price on ur value.. rest assure that the world wont raise ur price! Love U 2day!" ~ Rev. Run "If you keep believing in yourself and seek enthusiasm inside your soul, things will get simpler, more spontaneous." ~Paulo Coelho "Knowledge is like the wind, once you obtain it, you can go anywhere." ~Yellow Hare(Native-American Chief) Be the kind of woman that when your feet hit the floor each morning the devil says: "Oh Crap, She's up!"
Last edited by Shandy 2.0; 11-28-2005 at 04:51 PM.. |
Credits: 14,066
I cant undrstand why they always trying to tek God out of everything and then when sumptin happen yuh seeing the politician coming on tv and the radio bawling "Pray for our nation, pray for dis, pray for dat. They only kno how to use God's words or know him when its convenient
Credits: 41,531
"If u put a small price on ur value.. rest assure that the world wont raise ur price! Love U 2day!" ~ Rev. Run "If you keep believing in yourself and seek enthusiasm inside your soul, things will get simpler, more spontaneous." ~Paulo Coelho "Knowledge is like the wind, once you obtain it, you can go anywhere." ~Yellow Hare(Native-American Chief) Be the kind of woman that when your feet hit the floor each morning the devil says: "Oh Crap, She's up!"
RasYardHindian