Old 06-19-2006, 11:09 AM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 2,449
A Father's Legacy

'THE RIGHTEOUS MAN WALKS IN...INTEGRITY; BLESSED...ARE HIS CHILDREN
AFTER HIM.' PROVERBS 20:7

Max Lucado writes: 'Today's my first [Father's Day] without a father.
For 31 years I had one of the best but now he's...buried under an oak
tree in a west Texas cemetery. Strange he isn't here...because he was
always available. His words were nothing novel; his achievements, though
admirable, were nothing extraordinary. But his presence was. 'Because he
was there life went smoothly...the future was secure...and my growing up
was what God intended. He taught me how to shave and how to pray. Helped
me memorise verses for Sunday school, and taught me that wrong should be
punished...that rightness has its own reward. He modelled... the elusive
balance between ambition and self-acceptance. 'I knew if I ever needed
him he'd be there. Like a warm fireplace. Maybe that's why this Father's
Day's a bit chilly. The fire's gone out. The winds of age swallowed the
splendid flame, leaving only golden embers. But there's a strange thing
about those embers, stir them...and the flame will dance...and knock
just enough chill out of the air to remind me that he's still...
present.' 'Compare that to an interview with actor Gene Hackman who
recalls: "I was just 13, but that Saturday morning is still vivid. I was
playing down the street...when I saw my father drive by and give me a
light wave. Somehow I knew that gesture meant he was going away forever.
To this day, the memory's a ghost that never seems to fade." Solomon
said, 'The righteous man walks in integrity...blessed are his children
after him.' Attention dads! What legacy will your kids inherit when
you're gone?
Old 06-19-2006, 11:13 AM   #2 (permalink)
Kiz

Credits: 14,051
Originally Posted by CurryAnna
'THE RIGHTEOUS MAN WALKS IN...INTEGRITY; BLESSED...ARE HIS CHILDREN
AFTER HIM.' PROVERBS 20:7

Max Lucado writes: 'Today's my first [Father's Day] without a father.
For 31 years I had one of the best but now he's...buried under an oak
tree in a west Texas cemetery. Strange he isn't here...because he was
always available. His words were nothing novel; his achievements, though
admirable, were nothing extraordinary. But his presence was. 'Because he
was there life went smoothly...the future was secure...and my growing up
was what God intended. He taught me how to shave and how to pray. Helped
me memorise verses for Sunday school, and taught me that wrong should be
punished...that rightness has its own reward. He modelled... the elusive
balance between ambition and self-acceptance. 'I knew if I ever needed
him he'd be there. Like a warm fireplace. Maybe that's why this Father's
Day's a bit chilly. The fire's gone out. The winds of age swallowed the
splendid flame, leaving only golden embers. But there's a strange thing
about those embers, stir them...and the flame will dance...and knock
just enough chill out of the air to remind me that he's still...
present.' 'Compare that to an interview with actor Gene Hackman who
recalls: "I was just 13, but that Saturday morning is still vivid. I was
playing down the street...when I saw my father drive by and give me a
light wave. Somehow I knew that gesture meant he was going away forever.
To this day, the memory's a ghost that never seems to fade." Solomon
said, 'The righteous man walks in integrity...blessed are his children
after him.' Attention dads! What legacy will your kids inherit when
you're gone?
good question! the legacy I inherited is being the daughter of a drug pusher
Old 06-19-2006, 11:21 AM   #3 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Trinikiz
good question! the legacy I inherited is being the daughter of a drug pusher
You are funny as hell.......i hope you inherited some of the $$$$$ benefits, just use it wisely now :-)
Old 06-19-2006, 12:03 PM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 4,482
Originally Posted by CurryAnna
You are funny as hell.......i hope you inherited some of the $$$$$ benefits, just use it wisely now :-)

Lol... Allyuh too funny this morning!

I have to say as much as my dad and I don't have the best RELATIONSHIP he has taught me so much of culture, music, religions, life, and just showed me a side of life that not much parents do with their children... I'm glad I cand make up MY mind and choose to inherit the best part of him and don't blame him for not doing what is traditionally the role of a father... I realized that the years of blaming is years wasted...
Old 06-19-2006, 02:50 PM   #5 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Ancientwomyn

I have to say as much as my dad and I don't have the best RELATIONSHIP he has taught me so much of culture, music, religions, life, and just showed me a side of life that not much parents do with their children... I'm glad I cand make up MY mind and choose to inherit the best part of him and don't blame him for not doing what is traditionally the role of a father... I realized that the years of blaming is years wasted...

you are wise. in the end we are responsible for ourselves right?
Old 06-19-2006, 03:18 PM   #6 (permalink)
Kiz

Credits: 14,051
Originally Posted by Ancientwomyn

mine ent do nutten for me but ah also ent miss nutten. I am not a worst person becuz of it. I only seen him maybe 9-10 times in my whole life