Old 12-07-2005, 04:30 PM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 56,871
Colors & other symbolism in various faiths

So as not to jack HoneyE's post :-)

Can some of you please share the various symbolisms of your faiths? I'm very interested in the symbolism of the Baptist and Yoruba derived faiths but aspects of all faiths would be interesting.
They love it; they living in a fool's paradise."
-Brother Valentino
Old 12-07-2005, 08:15 PM   #2 (permalink)
L O S T

Credits: 43,465
care to give a few exampless of your own?
Old 12-07-2005, 10:24 PM   #3 (permalink)

Originally Posted by DreadJockey
care to give a few exampless of your own?
Unfortunately Catholic symbols are the only ones that I'm well versed in. I'm hoping Trinikiz, HoneyE and others will educate us on other symbolism.
-Brother Valentino
Old 12-09-2005, 01:56 AM   #4 (permalink)
Mrs . (A.k.A Mrs. Dot)

Credits: 60,852
wait for Sunday you'll see
Old 12-09-2005, 11:01 AM   #5 (permalink)
Kiz

Credits: 14,064
Originally Posted by **Vincy-Soca-Diva**
wait for Sunday you'll see

what will she see? Will they be educationg the people on what the colors mean
Old 12-09-2005, 11:22 AM   #6 (permalink)

STEUPS Allyuh being real stingy with the info. Now doh get mad when I sit next to you in church and all through the service I saying "whats that for", "whats that mean", "why they wearing that"
-Brother Valentino
Old 12-09-2005, 11:33 AM   #7 (permalink)
Kiz

Originally Posted by BacchanalDiva
STEUPS Allyuh being real stingy with the info. Now doh get mad when I sit next to you in church and all through the service I saying "whats that for", "whats that mean", "why they wearing that"

any colours in particular you want to know, I will see if I can remember dem
Old 12-09-2005, 12:04 PM   #8 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Trinikiz
any colours in particular you want to know, I will see if I can remember dem
I have tons of questions; here are a few to start....

Why do initiates wear white?

Whats the importance of the women wearing head ties?

What colors are used to bind the head for mourning and what do they mean? How do they choose which colors to put on which mourner?

What colors are you supposed to wear after baptism? Why?

Are there specific colors designated for Spiritual Leaders & Mothers?

What items go around that "pole" in the center and what do they mean?
-Brother Valentino
Old 12-09-2005, 12:12 PM   #9 (permalink)
Kiz

I have tons of questions; here are a few to start....

Why do initiates wear white?

Whats the importance of the women wearing head ties?

What colors are used to bind the head for mourning and what do they mean? How do they choose which colors to put on which mourner?

What colors are you supposed to wear after baptism? Why?

Are there specific colors designated for Spiritual Leaders & Mothers?

What items go around that "pole" in the center and what do they mean?

when you say initiates what do you mean
Old 12-09-2005, 12:19 PM   #10 (permalink)

when you say initiates what do you mean
Those just getting ready for baptism. Is that that wrong term?
-Brother Valentino
Old 12-09-2005, 12:21 PM   #11 (permalink)
Kiz

Those just getting ready for baptism. Is that that wrong term?

We call them candidates. I will ansa your question in a bit
Old 12-09-2005, 01:03 PM   #12 (permalink)

We call them candidates. I will ansa your question in a bit
Ahhh. Ok
-Brother Valentino
Old 12-09-2005, 01:19 PM   #13 (permalink)
Mrs . (A.k.A Mrs. Dot)

what will she see? Will they be educationg the people on what the colors mean
no but she's can ask all those questions then cause I was too sleepy to talk about it last night
Old 12-09-2005, 01:21 PM   #14 (permalink)
Mrs . (A.k.A Mrs. Dot)

shhh we cn't sit next to each other i have to sit in my seat on the other side of the room but don't worry if you get scared just signal and I'll try to come to your rescue
Old 12-09-2005, 01:22 PM   #15 (permalink)
Mrs . (A.k.A Mrs. Dot)

Form what i know baptism Candidates wear white cause white stands for purity, and they represent a clean garnment if I'm wrong Kiz let me know please.