Old 09-26-2009, 09:02 PM   #1 (permalink)
Above and Beyond

Credits: 42,928
Church presence determine your ticket to Heaven ?

How much impact do you believe you being present at Church has on whether or not you make it to heaven. I've always heard from alot of religious people that your not going to make it to heaven if you dont go to church regardless if your a good man/woman and believe in GOD. I'm sure some of you have heard something similar to " your going to hell" when you told someone "I have not been to church in a long time"..based on your religious point of view, what is your opinion on this theory ?

Last edited by Lieutenant; 09-26-2009 at 09:05 PM..
Old 09-29-2009, 02:30 AM   #2 (permalink)
~Dare to be freeeeeee~

Credits: 16,095
I think your ticket to heaven has more to do with how you live your life and serve god, than how much you went to church. To me attending church is just to teach and show you the direction which is expected of you, it's up to you to follow that direction though.
Old 09-29-2009, 12:38 PM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 5,630
Originally Posted by Val3nie2debone View Post
I think your ticket to heaven has more to do with how you live your life and serve god, than how much you went to church. To me attending church is just to teach and show you the direction which is expected of you, it's up to you to follow that direction though.
I agree.

Going to church is guidance IMO. I mean how much time in church would be enough? WOuld that mean you have to go every day? It's more about living your life as rather than being there religiously.. lol
Old 09-29-2009, 01:43 PM   #4 (permalink)
Above and Beyond

So a good man who has connection with his GOD and lives a GOD fearing life, treats everyone the way he wants to be treated himself and love his family but does NOT go to church will not enter heaven gates ?
Old 09-29-2009, 02:22 PM   #5 (permalink)

Credits: 5,630
Originally Posted by Lieutenant View Post
So a good man who has connection with his GOD and lives a GOD fearing life, treats everyone the way he wants to be treated himself and love his family but does NOT go to church will not enter heaven gates ?
uhm.. I think based on her response he WILL. *waits on val*
Old 09-29-2009, 03:56 PM   #6 (permalink)
steups...

Credits: 16,331
I not going to Heaven.
Old 09-29-2009, 04:42 PM   #7 (permalink)
Possunt Quia Posse Vident

Credits: 6,900
Firstly, what is a church? Certainly not the four walls of a building. It is the people. Matthew 18:20, "For where two or three are gathered together in My name, I am there in the midst of them." So you and a group of friends can have 'church' in the comfort of your own home.

Hebrews 10:25-27 says, "Not forsaking the assembling of ourselves together..." This way we encourage each other and have fellowship with one another.

There is a parable in Luke 14:16-20, 24 which I think speaks to your main question of if you don't attend church, are you hell bound.

"A certain man gave a great supper and invited many, and sent his servant at supper time to say to those who were invited, come for all things are now ready. But they all with one accord began to make excuses. The first said to him, I have bought a piece of ground, and I must go and see it. I ask you to have me excused. And another said, I have bought five yoke of oxen, and I am going to test them. I ask you to have me excused. Still another said, I have married a wife, and therefore I cannot come."

But notice the conclusion in verse 24. "For I say unto you that none of those men who were invited shall taste my supper." How do you interpret this?

No where in the bible does it say that you will go to hell if you don't go to church. It is only by His grace that you will get to Heaven. However he did leave certain guidelines on low to live and grow spiritually (like the above) so that you don't just scrape into heaven.

Maya Angelou
Old 09-30-2009, 12:37 AM   #8 (permalink)
~Dare to be freeeeeee~

Credits: 16,095
Originally Posted by Lieutenant View Post
There's a very huge possibility that he will enter heaven's gates. Renze you're right lol....

There are people who go to church everyday of the week and outside of the church they doing everything opposite of what the church teaches. Them so will have a might hard time getting into heaven.

Live your life right, serve god in the right way and all will be well. He doesn't ask for much yunno, is us who does make it look/seem more difficult than it needs to be.
Old 09-30-2009, 01:58 AM   #9 (permalink)
Above and Beyond

There's a very huge possibility that he will enter heaven's gates. .
I know this is your opinion..but what are you supporting this opinion with ?? ..I think he has a possibly of entering also but its just based on my personal morals...
Old 09-30-2009, 01:59 AM   #10 (permalink)
Above and Beyond

Originally Posted by Bajan Cherry View Post
Firstly, what is a church? Certainly not the four walls of a building. It is the people. Matthew 18:20, "For where two or three are gathered together in My name, I am there in the midst of them." So you and a group of friends can have 'church' in the comfort of your own home.

Hebrews 10:25-27 says, "Not forsaking the assembling of ourselves together..." This way we encourage each other and have fellowship with one another.

There is a parable in Luke 14:16-20, 24 which I think speaks to your main question of if you don't attend church, are you hell bound.

"A certain man gave a great supper and invited many, and sent his servant at supper time to say to those who were invited, come for all things are now ready. But they all with one accord began to make excuses. The first said to him, I have bought a piece of ground, and I must go and see it. I ask you to have me excused. And another said, I have bought five yoke of oxen, and I am going to test them. I ask you to have me excused. Still another said, I have married a wife, and therefore I cannot come."

But notice the conclusion in verse 24. "For I say unto you that none of those men who were invited shall taste my supper." How do you interpret this?

No where in the bible does it say that you will go to hell if you don't go to church. It is only by His grace that you will get to Heaven. However he did leave certain guidelines on low to live and grow spiritually (like the above) so that you don't just scrape into heaven.

Good post Bajan Cherry...rel informative