Old 10-26-2006, 12:30 AM   #1 (permalink)
renegade

As a christian you should thank god for slavery and colonialism.

How else would the word of God have reached you if not by genocide and enslavement.
Old 10-26-2006, 12:46 AM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 685
De fack ?

African tribes had concepts of God and religion LONG before slavery. Remember, Islam had a presence and still does have a presence in several West African nations. Also, there was Voodoo (as in the Voodoo religion) and there were other animist beliefs.

We all know the men who came to Africa claiming to be missionaries were false messengers. There is no reason to believe that God and all of Christianity is to blame for the evils of man.

Also keep in mind, iin North America, some blacks may see Christianity as an oppressive religion. But talk to a Dinka from Sudan and they will say that no religion is more oppressive then Islam. Doesn't matter what religion u are, there will always be oppressive people who manipulate ur beliefs as a way to persecute others.
Old 10-26-2006, 12:49 AM   #3 (permalink)
renegade

The point is that you have colonialism and slavery to thank for your christian beliefs, islam, and whether or not locals already had religion is irrelevant.
So thank Jesus.
Old 10-26-2006, 01:07 AM   #4 (permalink)

I see what u're saying. However, I as a free man right now could change my beliefs at any time. No slavemaster is keeping me closer to the christian faith. There are a lot of core values that I believe in that can be found in Christianity.
Old 10-26-2006, 01:09 AM   #5 (permalink)

Credits: 1,243
Originally Posted by small_island_descent View Post
I see what u're saying. However, I as a free man right now could change my beliefs at any time. No slavemaster is keeping me closer to the christian faith. There are a lot of core values that I believe in that can be found in Christianity.
Ditto.

This topic likes to pop up a lot (not necessarily here).
Old 10-26-2006, 01:22 AM   #6 (permalink)
Nelson Walton

I find that the core values in chrisianity are the same in a lot of other religions, so why stick to christianity? Just asking.
Old 10-26-2006, 01:45 AM   #7 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Nelson Walton View Post
I find that the core values in chrisianity are the same in a lot of other religions, so why stick to christianity? Just asking.
Because I find, when looking at different religious figures, Jesus' life is the life I'd want to follow. When priests and so on were trying to get money from believers and condemn sinners, Jesus was out there on the ground helping these sinners. Jesus represented an unconditional love that I can only see as the purest form of a positive force. That positive force is what we call God. Many of his actions represent the type of positive force that God is. Personally, I volunteer and help out around my community attempting to help keep kids away from gangs and drugs. And I know a lot of time, I get pissed and wonder why I even bother when things go wrong. Jesus never gave up, he never wondered why, he just kept helping people who he knew were gonna creucify him. I've never met or heard of a human that giving and that positive. In my eyes, any being that can be that positive must represent what a positive God is.
Old 10-26-2006, 02:05 AM   #8 (permalink)

Credits: 140,783
BLACK PEOPLE have been PRACTICING RELIGION before so-called EUROPEANS EXISTED.

RELIGION is SACRED to BLACK PEOPLE....it is PART of who they're.....Blacks are NATURALLY SPIRITUAL people.

Religion was USED against BLACK PEOPLE during the SLAVE TRADE by their OPPRESSORS via so-called CHRISTIANITY....and the same goes for the MUSLIM religion as well.

By the way, I do not like DISCUSSING religion, just thought that I would THROW that out THERE.
Old 10-26-2006, 02:58 AM   #9 (permalink)

Credits: 1,243
Although I can't give an answer for him, I will just throw in my couple of schillings or whatever.

Besides the varying views of Jesus in other religions (whether prophet or savior in Judeo-Christian ideas, or neither in Eastern and shamanistic religions) and the varying definitions of what the Supreme Being is, the parables in Christianity are more focused around the underdogs and the oppressed. They're more often the heroes in Christianity, which makes the message a bit more powerful to the common people than certain other religions (i.e a Prince or a person from a well-to-do family being the "leader") since most people worldwide do not come from royal or well-to-do families. It's easier to root for the underdog, right?

I feel there is a lot that one can learn when not limiting oneself to learning about one religion alone, especially since I feel faith > religion and that a lot of beliefs are in line with one another. However, even though there are a lot of elements in other religions that I agree with and respect, I feel the most comfortable with the main Christian ideas and parables mainly because even though almost all religions focus around an all-powerful energy with other divine entities ("angels" or "gods"
or "bodhisatvas" or "lwa" etc depending on the religion) and prophets/teachers/buddhas etc to deliver the message, I like the way Christianity delivers it best.

Last edited by blackamericanprincss; 10-26-2006 at 03:01 AM..
Old 10-26-2006, 02:59 AM   #10 (permalink)

Credits: 3,245
Originally Posted by renegade View Post
How else would the word of God have reached you if not by genocide and enslavement.
By that logic you should also thank God for Satan.

The Bible is Not the word of God - But it comes close enough.
Old 10-26-2006, 03:02 AM   #11 (permalink)

Well Said SID!
You almost sound as smart as me!

De fack ?

African tribes had concepts of God and religion LONG before slavery. Remember, Islam had a presence and still does have a presence in several West African nations. Also, there was Voodoo (as in the Voodoo religion) and there were other animist beliefs.

We all know the men who came to Africa claiming to be missionaries were false messengers. There is no reason to believe that God and all of Christianity is to blame for the evils of man.

Also keep in mind, iin North America, some blacks may see Christianity as an oppressive religion. But talk to a Dinka from Sudan and they will say that no religion is more oppressive then Islam. Doesn't matter what religion u are, there will always be oppressive people who manipulate ur beliefs as a way to persecute others.
Old 10-26-2006, 03:06 AM   #12 (permalink)

And thats exactly why I am a Christian! It is not perfect but it make more sense for me and I am big enough to allow others to feel the same way about their religion as long as they dont feel like I have to convert or else. Those are the ones you destroy and then pray for their souls!

Originally Posted by blackamericanprincss View Post
I feel the most comfortable with the main Christian ideas and parables mainly because even though almost all religions focus around an all-powerful energy with other divine entities ("angels" or "gods"
or "bodhisatvas" or "lwa" etc depending on the religion) and prophets/teachers/buddhas etc to deliver the message, I like the way Christianity delivers it best.
Old 10-26-2006, 03:14 AM   #13 (permalink)

Listen Johnny
Its not funny when yuh losing
yuh religion
Old 10-26-2006, 04:23 AM   #14 (permalink)
Salsero de pura cepa

Credits: 712
Judaism and later Christianity traveled far and wide way before colonialism and slavery started imposing it.
Old 10-26-2006, 06:53 AM   #15 (permalink)

Credits: 21,806
Actually it was MudderfuKKKer in the Vatican that gave his blessings to the White Ruling Class to STEAL, RENAME and INDOCTRINATE EVERYTHING on Planet Earth:
http://geography.about.com/library/weekly/aa112999a.htm