Reply
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes  
Old 09-28-2006, 11:09 AM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
CurryAnna is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 416
Credits: 2,450
Check your ego

'MOSES WAS...MORE HUMBLE THAN ANYONE ELSE ON THE FACE OF THE EARTH.'
NUMBERS 12:3

It took 40 years of living like a shepherd (and oh, how the Egyptians
despised shepherds!) to discipline Moses' ego. Only then, at age 80, was
he ready to live life on God's terms. The man who emerged from the
desert was decidedly different from the man who entered it. It's our
'desert experiences' that keep our egos in check. Without them, we start
believing our own press and get into trouble. God told King Saul, 'When
you were little in your own eyes I was able to use you...'
(Paraphrase.See 1 Samuel 15:17). When Colonel Samuel Logan Brengle of
The Salvation Army was once introduced as 'the great Colonel Brengle,'
he wrote in his journal: 'If I appear great in their eyes, the Lord is
most gracious in helping me to see how absolutely nothing I am without
him. He does use me. But I'm so conscious that he uses me, and that it's
not of me that the work is done. The axe cannot boast of the trees it
has cut down. It could do nothing without the woodsman. He made it, he
sharpened it, he used it, and the moment he throws it aside it becomes
only old used iron. Oh, that I may never lose sight of this.' A young
English man once came to live in the community led by Gandhi. When
assigned to clean latrines, he protested, 'Don't you know who I am? I
have great things to do.' Gandhi replied, 'I know you can do great
things; what I don't know is if you can do little things.' Check your
ego!
  Reply With Quote  
Old 09-28-2006, 11:46 AM   #2 (permalink)
Kiz
Registered User
 
Kiz's Avatar
Kiz is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: On top yuh man
Posts: 29,519
Credits: 14,063
Moses was so humble he ent geh to see de promised land
  Reply With Quote  
Reply

Thread Tools