Old 05-16-2007, 12:08 PM   #31 (permalink)
Salsero de pura cepa

Credits: 6,019
Originally Posted by p'tanimas View Post
Last year I allowed two ah dem to come in and pray and explain dey religion to me. No big deal fuh me, because I'm open to learn new things. Dey whole idea of dem heaven and that Joseph Smith guy is a bunch ah dotishness to me. That one time I let dem in, dey start coming by more regularly, dropping off dey literature an ting. Next ting I know, my baptism was schedule for Easter Sunday last year. WTF!!! Me neva even step foot inna dem church and dey ready to baptise me. That was it, ah neva let dem in again. Dey came by ringing door bell as if dey hepled me buy it. They got the hint after two weeks.
LOL. Never said I agreed with their beliefs. Genetics, as far as I know, does not agree with the Book of Mormon claims. I let them in all the time, and Jehovah Witnesses. Would be interesting to invite both of them over at the same time.
Old 05-16-2007, 12:40 PM   #32 (permalink)
Earth Angel

Credits: 1,282,262
Last year I allowed two ah dem to come in and pray and explain dey religion to me. No big deal fuh me, because I'm open to learn new things. Dey whole idea of dem heaven and that Joseph Smith guy is a bunch ah dotishness to me. That one time I let dem in, dey start coming by more regularly, dropping off dey literature an ting. Next ting I know, my baptism was schedule for Easter Sunday last year. WTF!!! Me neva even step foot inna dem church and dey ready to baptise me. That was it, ah neva let dem in again. Dey came by ringing door bell as if dey hepled me buy it. They got the hint after two weeks.
Old 05-16-2007, 12:44 PM   #33 (permalink)
PTM
Stolen from Africa

Credits: 1,599
Originally Posted by Otorongo View Post
LOL. Never said I agreed with their beliefs. Genetics, as far as I know, does not agree with the Book of Mormon claims. I let them in all the time, and Jehovah Witnesses. Would be interesting to invite both of them over at the same time.
A Trini guy and his little trainee come by on Saturday mornings. The minute they see my car on the driveway, they start ringing the bell. They haven't tried to convert me yet.
Old 05-16-2007, 12:45 PM   #34 (permalink)
Salsero de pura cepa

Originally Posted by currygyal View Post

There's a difference between doctrine of religion and personal beliefs/convictions of individuals.
doctrine of religion is based on how the congregations interpret it. No monolithic interpretation.
Old 05-16-2007, 12:47 PM   #35 (permalink)
Salsero de pura cepa

A Trini guy and his little trainee come by on Saturday mornings. The minute they see my car on the driveway, they start ringing the bell. They haven't tried to convert me yet.
I grew up with Christian scientists and JW in my family as well as Mormons as teachers and classmates. They done tried too many times to count. LOL
Old 05-16-2007, 12:48 PM   #36 (permalink)
Salsero de pura cepa

Speak for your own religion. There are core doctrines that certain religions/denominations hold.
Key words. Denominations. And they are multiple. Sorry, but your denomination does not have the corner market on Christianity.
Old 05-16-2007, 12:52 PM   #37 (permalink)
Earth Angel

Key words. Denominations. And they are multiple. Sorry, but your denomination does not have the corner market on Christianity.
doctrine of religion is based on how the congregations interpret it. No monolithic interpretation.
Speak for your own religion. There are core doctrines that certain religions/denominations hold. That is why the book which I quoted from is called Mormon Doctrine. That is exactly why there had to be such an official change from the top - the president - of the Mormon religion in 1978.
Old 05-16-2007, 12:54 PM   #38 (permalink)
Earth Angel

The denomination to which I belong has nothing to do with this discussion. Discuss the topic without attempting cheap shots. The majority of religions/denominations have core doctrines. That is WHY people tend to study what these doctrines/tenets are before joining.
Old 05-16-2007, 12:58 PM   #39 (permalink)

Credits: 118,523
nope doctrine is taught, example the imagery issue, many early christians where illiterate and art was the means of interpreting the bible, the church thought others and burn a lot of the art
Old 05-16-2007, 01:00 PM   #40 (permalink)
Salsero de pura cepa

Speak for your own religion. There are core doctrines that certain religions/denominations hold. That is why the book which I quoted from is called Mormon Doctrine. That is exactly why there had to be such an official change from the top - the president - of the Mormon religion in 1978.
Again, Mormons were an offshoot denomination of Christianity. Like many others. Speak for your own denomination, not all of Christianity.
Old 05-16-2007, 01:01 PM   #41 (permalink)
Salsero de pura cepa

Originally Posted by Oneshot View Post
nope doctrine is taught, example the imagery issue, many early christians where illiterate and art was the means of interpreting the bible, the church thought others and burn a lot of the art
And who teaches the doctrines? The different denominations. Thank you for playing.
Old 05-16-2007, 01:07 PM   #42 (permalink)
Earth Angel

Again, Mormons were an offshoot denomination of Christianity. Like many others. Speak for your own denomination, not all of Christianity.
Christianity is my religion, and I can speak as a member of it. Are you a Christian? Last time I checked you were agnostic. So it's interesting that you would attempting to tell anyone not to speak about a religion to which they belong. Mormons are an offshoot but because they differ DOCTRINALLY they are not part of the Christian religion. Once again, the different is? DOCTRINE.

Christianity and Islam differ in what? DOCTRINE.
Old 05-16-2007, 01:10 PM   #43 (permalink)
Salsero de pura cepa

Christianity is my religion, and I can speak as a member of it. Are you a Christian? Last time I checked you were agnostic. So it's interesting that you would attempting to tell anyone not to speak about a religion to which they belong. Mormons are an offshoot but because they differ DOCTRINALLY they are not part of the Christian religion. Once again, the different is? DOCTRINE.

Christianity and Islam differ in what? DOCTRINE.
Agnostic Christian. And Mormons still consider themselves Christian. So again, interpretation. According to many early Christians YOU weren't a Christian because you were Gentile. Again interpretation.
Old 05-16-2007, 01:12 PM   #44 (permalink)
Earth Angel

Agnostic Christian. And Mormons still consider themselves Christian. So again, interpretation. According to many early Christians YOU weren't a Christian because you were Gentile. Again interpretation.
Why do I even bother????
Old 05-16-2007, 01:13 PM   #45 (permalink)
Salsero de pura cepa

Why do I even bother????
Because of your interpretation. :)