Old 11-26-2005, 08:09 PM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 7,284
Baptist Religion in Trinidad

I know someone who follows this religion. Very recently, they went back to Trinidad to "morn". In general, I heard it's a process where an individual fast for many days, goes on some kind of retreat and physically lays on the ground to pray.

Can anyone fully describe what it means to "morn"? And what is it suppose to accomplish?
Old 11-26-2005, 09:20 PM   #2 (permalink)
IT'S ME!!!

Credits: 154
I heard of it too. My cousin did it and you have to lay in this hole for 7 days, and while you dream this man is sitting next to you. You have to get through the rough dreams, I heard some dont make it! After the 7 days, you must wear white and everyone comes to join you for a big feast. I do not understand this, but for each man his own!
Old 11-26-2005, 09:41 PM   #3 (permalink)
SOUL SURVIVOR

Credits: 129
i never heard of dat type of fasting before
but i have heard of prayer and fasting where you can fast for certain periods of time like fast for one example from 12am - 6am by reading the Bible and praying each hour and meditate and can do fasting for a short time too. It depends on the type of health you have too.
yup!
Old 11-27-2005, 08:43 PM   #4 (permalink)
Kiz

Credits: 14,062
Originally Posted by Mrs.Montano
I heard of it too. My cousin did it and you have to lay in this hole for 7 days, and while you dream this man is sitting next to you. You have to get through the rough dreams, I heard some dont make it! After the 7 days, you must wear white and everyone comes to join you for a big feast. I do not understand this, but for each man his own!

You are so misinformed it is ridiculos
Old 11-27-2005, 08:45 PM   #5 (permalink)

Credits: 14,229
Originally Posted by Trinikiz
so inform her...and us.
Old 11-27-2005, 08:46 PM   #6 (permalink)
Kiz

Originally Posted by sharkbait
so inform her...and us.

maybe tomorrow
Old 11-27-2005, 08:48 PM   #7 (permalink)

Credits: 14,229
maybe tomorrow
steups.
Old 11-27-2005, 08:48 PM   #8 (permalink)
Kiz

Originally Posted by sharkbait
steups.

likewise!
Old 11-28-2005, 01:52 PM   #9 (permalink)
aka Karl Logan

Credits: 877
You of all people would be the one to clarify this
Old 11-28-2005, 02:05 PM   #10 (permalink)

maybe tomorrow
please do. i would really like to know. i asked a next Trini friend of mine, and she said it was devil worship.

i found dat hard to believe....but please enlighten/educate us....
Old 11-28-2005, 02:07 PM   #11 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Mrs.Montano
who is de man???? i hope not who i heard it is.
Old 11-28-2005, 02:19 PM   #12 (permalink)

Credits: 29,960
Originally Posted by luvlee
I know someone who follows this religion. Very recently, they went back to Trinidad to "morn". In general, I heard it's a process where an individual fast for many days, goes on some kind of retreat and physically lays on the ground to pray.

Can anyone fully describe what it means to "morn"? And what is it suppose to accomplish?
My grandmother did it a few times I am told. Essentially going to the "mourning ground" is equivalent to walking in the spirit world for 7 days, 7 nights.
Old 11-28-2005, 02:27 PM   #13 (permalink)
Kiz

please do. i would really like to know. i asked a next Trini friend of mine, and she said it was devil worship.

Its a form of fasting and praying.

The mourning ritual involves a period of three to seven of more days where the person is placed upon an earthen ground where they lie, sit or kneel, their eyes are covered and they are given minimal food and water.(this is to seperated the person from carnal tings) Members of the church, usually the Pointer, officiate at the mourning while the Nurse takes care of the physical needs of the mourner

During the mourning, the initiate 'travels' spiritually to different places, receives spiritual instruction through visions and dreams and is told what position in the hierarchy he or she is to occupy. When the Leader decides that the time is up, usually during a Sunday service, the persons are brought back into the church, and share their experiences with the congregation. From the perspective of the belief system, 'mourning' involves symbolic death and resurrection in that those mourners shed their impure beings. In psycho-biological terms, the rite of 'mourning' actually involves a period of intense physical sensory deprivation as the initiate is deprived of light and movement and receives minimal sustenance.

Some scholars allege that the ritual can be traced to the rites of some African tribal groups when they initiate their new members. They argue that traits such as fasting, not eating salt, a new name and the colour symbolism of the bands covering the eyes of the initiates suggest African derivation. Others claim that it originates in the Book of Daniel, which states that Daniel mourned for three weeks. In either event, the ritual is the central rite of the Shouter Baptist Faith in Trinidad and in all areas of the Caribbean
Old 11-28-2005, 02:33 PM   #14 (permalink)
Kiz

Here is a good site

for information about SB Religion

http://g.msn.com/9SE/1?http://www.n2...=9&CS=AWP&SR=9
Old 11-28-2005, 02:50 PM   #15 (permalink)
Kiz

I know nothing about mourning having to do with worshiping the devil so I ent kno where or how your friend came up with that