Old 11-20-2005, 06:58 PM   #1 (permalink)
Salsero de pura cepa

Credits: 713
Animal Sacrifice in Religion.

Your opinions?
Old 11-20-2005, 09:03 PM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 14,227
depends. we stewin de meat when prayers done?
Old 11-20-2005, 09:32 PM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 698
I'm fundamentally opposed to it...despite the fact that it's roots are firmly planted in the foundations of Christianity. Taking a life is such a profound statement...plus I'm opposed to it on ethical grounds.
Old 11-20-2005, 09:53 PM   #4 (permalink)
The JaM™

Originally Posted by sharkbait
depends. we stewin de meat when prayers done?
I'll bring the pot and some matches...
Old 11-21-2005, 09:39 AM   #5 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Bake n Shark
I'm fundamentally opposed to it...despite the fact that it's roots are firmly planted in the foundations of Christianity. Taking a life is such a profound statement...plus I'm opposed to it on ethical grounds.
are you a vegetarian??
Old 11-21-2005, 09:53 AM   #6 (permalink)
Kiz

Credits: 14,056
Normally after they sacrifice the animal they cook it up and give the people to eat afterwards.
Old 11-21-2005, 10:36 AM   #7 (permalink)

are you a vegetarian??
Nope.
Old 11-21-2005, 10:37 AM   #8 (permalink)

Nope.
okie dokes.

so you only believe in the slaughter of animals for food?
Old 11-21-2005, 11:36 AM   #9 (permalink)

okie dokes.

so you only believe in the slaughter of animals for food?
I wouldn't say that I believe in it...just that I have a lot less issues with it.

And no, the fact that they decide tuh curry Bill the goat after they slash he throat while mumbling some prays doh make it acceptable in my eyes.
Old 11-21-2005, 11:40 AM   #10 (permalink)

I wouldn't say that I believe in it...just that I have a lot less issues with it.

And no, the fact that they decide tuh curry Bill the goat after they slash he throat while mumbling some prays doh make it acceptable in my eyes.
werd.
Old 11-21-2005, 11:54 AM   #11 (permalink)
aka Karl Logan

Credits: 874
Old 11-21-2005, 12:26 PM   #12 (permalink)
RasYardHindian

Credits: 357
Originally Posted by Otorongo
Your opinions?
animal slaughter as sacrifice goes way back. The idea is similar to saying a grace before eating. The ancients thought is was a form of paying homage to their particular diety for providing them with food.
Old 11-21-2005, 12:34 PM   #13 (permalink)
xtremeintl.com

Credits: 11,422
Originally Posted by Simple Simon
animal slaughter as sacrifice goes way back. The idea is similar to saying a grace before eating. The ancients thought is was a form of paying homage to their particular diety for providing them with food.
For the life of me I cannot understand why more people do not see it this way.

You thank God while slaughtering food: Bad.
You ignore God while slaughtering food, then thank him before eating: Good.

Old 11-21-2005, 12:35 PM   #14 (permalink)

have any of you witnessed the slaughering of an animal for religious purposes??

if so...what animcal was it? how did they do it?
Old 11-21-2005, 12:40 PM   #15 (permalink)
RasYardHindian

Credits: 357
Originally Posted by Mystic Xtremist

You thank God while slaughtering food: Bad.
You ignore God while slaughtering food, then thank him before eating: Good.

maybe some see it as a senseless killing rather than a sacrifice.

Look at the American Indian and the buffalo - it is one of their sacred animals. why? 'cause they figure "God" sent it for them to be eaten.