Old 11-09-2005, 01:22 AM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 4,480
Exclamation Akan Religion Festival (Nov. 19th)

I was invited to this and I will love to share with allyuh!! Please read thoroughly and if you have any questions you can contact them through email @: onipaabusia@hotmail.com

You are welcome to our festival on Saturday, November 19, for one of our principle female deities, Nana Esi Ketewa. Nana Esi Ketewa specializes in maintaining peace in our families, and helps with issues of pregnancy, and childbirth.

Please contact me with any questions!

Abena Anum

NY - Akan Religion Festival, Saturday November 19, 2005

Onipa Abusia, an Akan religious and cultural organization, invites you
to our festival for the abosum Nana Esi Ketewa.

The Akan tradition is the traditional culture and religion of the
people of Ghana, West Africa.

Nana Esi
Ketewa is an ancestral deity from Ghana. Nana Esi Ketewa
is a peace maker and is especially known to help women who want to have
children.

Admission is free. Refreshments will be served following the festival.

You may offer gifts (gin, fruit, cloth, money) or make prayers to Nana
Esi following the festival.

Date -Saturday November 19, 2005 8pm

For those outside of NYC, there will be a bus traveling to New York from Washington, DC. Your cash payment of $45.00 dollars will reserve your
seat.

For further information please contact Okomfo Akua Duku at
onipaabusia@hotmail.com

or (202) 529-3635.

Onipa Abusia 92-15 172nd Street, Jamaica NY between Jamaica and 93rd
Avenues

Directions - E or J train to Parsons and Archer (last stop) Bus 54 or
56 on Jamaica Ave. to 170th, then walk to 172nd

Or 110 on Jamaica (in front of Old
Navy) to 172nd F train to 169th -
walk down 169th to Jamaica Ave., left to172nd

NO pork or cola products permitted.

For further information call 718 658-2600 or 718 525 4633
For more info on Onipa Abusia and Akan tradition, visit our website

http://www.onipaabusia.org or send an email to onipaabusia@hotmail.com
Old 11-09-2005, 01:38 PM   #2 (permalink)
aka Karl Logan

Credits: 870
Originally Posted by HoneyEmpress
I was invited to this and I will love to share with allyuh!! Please read thoroughly and if you have any questions you can contact them through email @: onipaabusia@hotmail.com

You are welcome to our festival on Saturday, November 19, for one of our principle female deities, Nana Esi Ketewa. Nana Esi Ketewa specializes in maintaining peace in our families, and helps with issues of pregnancy, and childbirth.

Please contact me with any questions!

Abena Anum

NY - Akan Religion Festival, Saturday November 19, 2005

Onipa Abusia, an Akan religious and cultural organization, invites you
to our festival for the abosum Nana Esi Ketewa.

The Akan tradition is the traditional culture and religion of the
people of Ghana, West Africa.

Nana Esi
Ketewa is an ancestral deity from Ghana. Nana Esi Ketewa
is a peace maker and is especially known to help women who want to have
children.

Admission is free. Refreshments will be served following the festival.

You may offer gifts (gin, fruit, cloth, money) or make prayers to Nana
Esi following the festival.

Date -Saturday November 19, 2005 8pm

For those outside of NYC, there will be a bus traveling to New York from Washington, DC. Your cash payment of $45.00 dollars will reserve your
seat.

For further information please contact Okomfo Akua Duku at
onipaabusia@hotmail.com

or (202) 529-3635.

Onipa Abusia 92-15 172nd Street, Jamaica NY between Jamaica and 93rd
Avenues

Directions - E or J train to Parsons and Archer (last stop) Bus 54 or
56 on Jamaica Ave. to 170th, then walk to 172nd

Or 110 on Jamaica (in front of Old
Navy) to 172nd F train to 169th -
walk down 169th to Jamaica Ave., left to172nd

NO pork or cola products permitted.

For further information call 718 658-2600 or 718 525 4633
For more info on Onipa Abusia and Akan tradition, visit our website

http://www.onipaabusia.org or send an email to onipaabusia@hotmail.com
This is gonna be nice!!!! They have PLENTY of Akan people in DC. A lot of them are apart of the African Dance Community. I definately will check this out!!!!

also, here's the website of a dance company started by a very big Akan family here in DC: Dono Dance and Drum Ensemble