Old 12-05-2005, 09:45 AM   #1 (permalink)
the lost one

Credits: 1,971
1 God or many

Is the God of Judaism, the same as the God of Christianity, the same as the God of Islam, the same as the God of all monotheistic religions?

If not how is that possible, because by saying that they are not, you are also saying that there is more than one one God/supreme God. Which is a contradiction within itself.

Also is this one God the same God in Hinduism, which is personified as the supreme being Bhraman (spelling?)

If all these religions are united by the one God/supreme entity. Then why is it that there is so many different interpretations and beliefs in the one God? i.e. religions?

Just because you belong to a certain relgious belief do you have to believe what other followers of the religion believ, or can you pick and choose? And if so, where do you join the line between an interperatation of the religious belief, and a totally different religious belief?

And finally is it possible to belong to one religion but still believe some of the core truths within another religion. For example Believing in Jese as the son of God, but also believing that there are many Gods.

If you could answer each question clearly by quoting and then answering underneathe the questions in a different colour it would be most appreciated.

I will share my own beliefs at a later date
Old 12-05-2005, 09:53 PM   #2 (permalink)
The Key

Credits: 1,045
These are my beliefs not open for debate. Jus sharing.

Is the God of Judaism, the same as the God of Christianity, the same as the God of Islam, the same as the God of all monotheistic religions?

Yes. There is only one Supreme Being.

Also is this one God the same God in Hinduism, which is personified as the supreme being Bhraman (spelling?)

Yes.
Brahman is the Supreme Being in Hinduism, impossible to personify
Brahma is the creator God.

If all these religions are united by the one God/supreme entity. Then why is it that there is so many different interpretations and beliefs in the one God? i.e. religions?

gluttony, pride, lust, greed, envy, anger, vanity, sloth
...and politics.

Just because you belong to a certain relgious belief do you have to believe what other followers of the religion believ, or can you pick and choose? And if so, where do you join the line between an interperatation of the religious belief, and a totally different religious belief?

Follow your heart and let the Supreme guide you to the truth. Only you know what's best for you. Its that simple.

And finally is it possible to belong to one religion but still believe some of the core truths within another religion.
Yes.
Core truths are is not restricted to any one 'religion' though some may beg to differ.

For example Believing in Jese as the son of God, but also believing that there are many Gods. not sure what you mean. The original question was more clear than this example.

If you could answer each question clearly by quoting and then answering underneathe the questions in a different colour it would be most appreciated.

OK

Last edited by Light360; 12-05-2005 at 09:57 PM..
Old 12-05-2005, 10:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ball-in-Hand

Credits: 3,803
Originally Posted by TTmudder

If not how is that possible, because by saying that they are not, you are also saying that there is more than one one God/supreme God. Which is a contradiction within itself.

And finally is it possible to belong to one religion but still believe some of the core truths within another religion. For example Believing in Jese as the son of God, but also believing that there are many Gods.

well Judiasm didn't not start off as monotheistic religion. The Israelites in the Bible were polytheist. In Genesis, you see evidence of this, where the people worshipped Yaweh, Asharah and thier son (the name escapes me)...and many other Gods. Then the people become monolatrists (spelling), where they believed in many gods but believed in one to be the supreme, which was Yaweh. Lastly they became monotheistic.
Old 12-06-2005, 12:15 AM   #4 (permalink)
L O S T

Credits: 43,476
religion is in the mind of the beholder.
there cam be 1/8th or 666 gods if one wants to make them
Old 12-08-2005, 10:31 PM   #5 (permalink)

Credits: 6,465
Originally Posted by TTmudder
Is the God of Judaism, the same as the God of Christianity, the same as the God of Islam, the same as the God of all monotheistic religions?GOd of Judaism is the same as the God of the Christions. He never put those titles on himself man did. And he never dealt with religion man did.

If not how is that possible, because by saying that they are not, you are also saying that there is more than one one God/supreme God. Which is a contradiction within itself.The God of the bible tell u there are other Gods. He also lets u know he is the True and almighty. None of the other Gods come before him.
Also is this one God the same God in Hinduism, which is personified as the supreme being Bhraman (spelling?)NO

If all these religions are united by the one God/supreme entity. Then why is it that there is so many different interpretations and beliefs in the one God? i.e. religions? The bible doesnt deal with religion. Research that topic first and more things will make sense. Dont go by what yuh used to seeing and hearing read and see for yuhself.
Just because you belong to a certain relgious belief do you have to believe what other followers of the religion believ, or can you pick and choose? And if so, where do you join the line between an interperatation of the religious belief, and a totally different religious belief? A religion is basically what u want to believe. I can make up a religion today. It doesnt hold any weight in my opinion.
And finally is it possible to belong to one religion but still believe some of the core truths within another religion. For example Believing in Jese as the son of God, but also believing that there are many Gods. Yes especially since the bible tells u there are other gods

i tried to follow what u asked
Old 12-08-2005, 10:33 PM   #6 (permalink)

Credits: 6,465
Originally Posted by Hotgirl11226
well Judiasm didn't not start off as monotheistic religion. The Israelites in the Bible were polytheist. In Genesis, you see evidence of this, where the people worshipped Yaweh, Asharah and thier son (the name escapes me)...and many other Gods. Then the people become monolatrists (spelling), where they believed in many gods but believed in one to be the supreme, which was Yaweh. Lastly they became monotheistic.
well u going to have to open the book on this one
I know exactly where u are going with this but u need to show the verses u are reffering to.

Y do u use the term judiasm?