Old 09-13-2008, 04:25 PM   #1 (permalink)
Enjoyin' Life

Yo Bake N Shark

Yes, the EPL season has just started and now that LFC are top of the league, what are your chances of them winning the championship since '90...
Old 09-13-2008, 06:26 PM   #2 (permalink)

I think the impact of Essien's injury will be much larger than people are currently projecting. Perennially it's a four-team race atop the standings...but the only one consistent team I see thus far has been ManU. As much as I hate to admit it, it will be tough getting past them. SAF pulled off quite the coup getting perennial sleeper Dimitar Berbatov (a player I rated up on here last season) from an imploding Tottenham club, to join an already celestial cast that includes Cronaldo, Rooney, Tevez and Nani. Behind them you have one of the most underrated players in England, Paul Scholes, the geriatric but still productive Ryan Giggs, the dynamic Ji Sung Park (or however you spell his name... is he a mid or forward??)... and of course the backline of Ferdinand, Vidic, Evra, Silvestre et al, topped off with Van Der Sar in goal. Tough club indeed and the odds on favorite to win it all again.

I see Arsenal having yet another mediocre (by their standards) season... they are young and inconsistent up front. Adebayor has to become more proactive in the attack instead of waiting alone up front (ala Kenwyne Jones @ Sunderland) for his opportunities. Cesc Fabregas is among the best in the English game...especially now that Essien has gone down I don't think there's a better midfielder in the EPL right now. Defensively I like them.

Chelsea had quite a bit of turnover since last season...enduring their second management change since opening day last autumn...there are questions about team dynamics (which certainly aren't to quiet down with Anelka's mercuric personality now in the mix). With stalwarts such as Terry, Makalele (and his ole ass, lol) and Joe Cole though, they'll continue to be in the thick of things... and they have a phenomenal coach in Big Phil... we'll see how well he adjusts to the English game.

Finally for the team you inquired about. I look for Torres to improve upon what he did last year, especially with Robbie Keane being in the mix now. Thus far it hasn't been smooth sailings for the pair, but if (when?) they do mesh Liverpool will be terrific... if Keane produces anything like what he did last season. In mid we have Captain Fantastic himself... Steven Gerrard... and our own version of the Energizer Bunny... Javier Mascherano. Xabi Alonso is a dog... hopefully he brings something to table this season, if not then we need to adjust our formation to spread the middle a little bit and give flank players like Pennant and Babel more run... although it would be hard to do so with Kuyt keeping Babel in particular on the bench.

Defensively we lost a nice defensive mid in Riise, but change is sometimes necessary I suppose. Jamie Carragher is extremely reliable if underrated, and Pepe Reina is solid in goal. I personally question the tactics of Raffa though, and unless we produce this year it may be time to look in another direction...which is like being caught between a rock and a hard place, b/c again... I really don't know anything short of a ManU. implosion that will stop them from winning it all this year.
Old 09-13-2008, 08:45 PM   #3 (permalink)
Destra's Harmony

- So you weren't excited over finally beating United? (da_ice....yu alive boss? ). A lot of people have you guys (Pool), being the team being ousted out of the 'Big 4', with Villa, or even Man City (nah) taking your place.

- Makelele plays for PSG now, and Mikel seems to be filling his role quite nicely. Plus our new Portuguese additions (Deco, Bosingwa, Big Phil) are doing quite nicely
Old 09-13-2008, 09:06 PM   #4 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Ackee View Post
- So you weren't excited over finally beating United? (da_ice....yu alive boss? ). A lot of people have you guys (Pool), being the team being ousted out of the 'Big 4', with Villa, or even Man City (nah) taking your place.

Didn't see the game and twice today I thought about checking the EPL site and get distracted. I still say ManU is the team to beat though.

- Makelele plays for PSG now, and Mikel seems to be filling his role quite nicely. Plus our new Portuguese additions (Deco, Bosingwa, Big Phil) are doing quite nicely
City will be a nice squad, provided they can mesh... I'm not yet convinced. I actually forgot about Deco...Bosingwa I don't really know a lot about to be honest. Obi Mikel... in my book jury still out on him. He still have too much wild man football in he game for my liking, but as for sheer speed and power he's unrivaled on that squad.
Old 09-14-2008, 04:27 PM   #5 (permalink)
Enjoyin' Life

Bakes, dont rule out Arsenal jed... As long as Van The Man Persie is not injured during the season, we'll be there competing for major honours...

Our closest challengers would be the glory hunters from SW6 better known as The Mighty Blues...

No disrespect Ackee...

Ideally I would put Liverpool up there but Benitez will f*** up with his rotation policy...

As for Man Utd, their main priority is the Champions League and I dont see them doing anything in the league...

C. Ronaldo heart is no longer there and I feel that may disrupt the team and then Ferguson has to start Berbatov, Ronaldo (once fit), Rooney and Tevez and I cant see it working...
Old 09-15-2008, 11:21 AM   #6 (permalink)
not ur friend...

Cool

job well done Pool, allyuh finally beat us on allyuh home ground in years......lol sad but true.........so far the top four start off same as lastyear, i'm not worried about ManU, is not how you start but where you finish,
Old 09-15-2008, 03:26 PM   #7 (permalink)
not ur friend...

Cool

Originally Posted by Brown Milk View Post
Yes, the EPL season has just started and now that LFC are top of the league, what are your chances of them winning the championship since '90...

same as last season and the season before that................
Old 09-16-2008, 07:13 AM   #8 (permalink)
Enjoyin' Life

Originally Posted by da_ice View Post
same as last season and the season before that................
Old 10-08-2008, 01:28 AM   #9 (permalink)
not ur friend...

i will start updating this thread regular with EPL news since the season is long as has alot of action.....same for champions league.....
Old 10-08-2008, 02:41 AM   #10 (permalink)

i will start updating this thread regular with EPL news since the season is long as has alot of action.....same for champions league.....
Yeah for real... I does talk so much over on SW dat I does fuhget to raise points here as well.

btw... how yuh like mih 79 pt move in de league dis weekend

...yuh lucky ah join ah week after you...hard tuh make up dat lag doh.
Old 10-10-2008, 09:57 AM   #11 (permalink)
Enjoyin' Life

Originally Posted by Bake n Shark View Post
Yeah for real... I does talk so much over on SW dat I does fuhget to raise points here as well.

btw... how yuh like mih 79 pt move in de league dis weekend

...yuh lucky ah join ah week after you...hard tuh make up dat lag doh.
Yeah Bakes, I see yuh pullin' away... I vex that I joined on the second week...

Oh well, its a long season ahead and hopefully I'll catch up...

Its funny how I'm not doing well on Fantasy Premier League but doing well on UEFA Fantasy Football...
Old 10-10-2008, 11:03 AM   #12 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Brown Milk View Post
Yeah Bakes, I see yuh pullin' away... I vex that I joined on the second week...

Oh well, its a long season ahead and hopefully I'll catch up...

Its funny how I'm not doing well on Fantasy Premier League but doing well on UEFA Fantasy Football...
Ah cyah say ah pulling away yet nuh... like yuh say, is ah long season. Ah have mih eyes set on man like Ackee and Ice doh
Old 10-17-2008, 05:29 PM   #13 (permalink)
not ur friend...

Premiership is back on this weekend.......thank god, when it on international break i does be like ah crackhead going tru withdrawals............well not exactly, i DVR all ManU games and watch them over lolol............Heres de line up for this weekend:

Sat, Oct. 18.
Arsenal vs. Everton
Villa vs. Portsmouth
Bolton vs. Blackburn
Fulham vs. Sunderland
Man Utd vs. West Brom
M'brough vs. Chelsea

Sun., Oct. 19
Hull City vs. West Ham
Stoke vs. Tottenham

Mon., Oct. 20
Newcastle vs. Man City

Major injury report for the big four (another reason i dont like these breaks)

Pool missing Torres for 15days.

Gunners missing Gallas, Sagna and Benthner....Cese broke his noise but is still set to play and we RVP nursing a high tigh injury (whats new) but is also set to play.

Chelski JT and Cole still up in d air.

ManU, no injuries to report.........thank god.
Old 10-17-2008, 06:18 PM   #14 (permalink)

Premiership is back on this weekend.......thank god, when it on international break i does be like ah crackhead going tru withdrawals............well not exactly, i DVR all ManU games and watch them over lolol............Heres de line up for this weekend:

Sat, Oct. 18.
Arsenal vs. Everton
Villa vs. Portsmouth
Bolton vs. Blackburn
Fulham vs. Sunderland
Man Utd vs. West Brom
M'brough vs. Chelsea

Sun., Oct. 19
Hull City vs. West Ham
Stoke vs. Tottenham

Mon., Oct. 20
Newcastle vs. Man City

Gunners missing Gallas, Sagna and Benthner....Cese broke his noise but is still set to play and we RVP nursing a high tigh injury (whats new) but is also set to play.

steups... and Torres is my captain too
Old 10-17-2008, 07:07 PM   #15 (permalink)
Enjoyin' Life

Sat, Oct. 18.
Arsenal vs. Everton

Win for Arsenal

Villa vs. Portsmouth

Win for Villa

Bolton vs. Blackburn

Win for Blackburn

Fulham vs. Sunderland

Win for Sunderland

Man Utd vs. West Brom

Win for Man Utd

M'brough vs. Chelsea

Win for Chelsea

Sun., Oct. 19
Hull City vs. West Ham

Win for Hull

Stoke vs. Tottenham

Win for Stoke

Mon., Oct. 20
Newcastle vs. Man City

Win for Man City

Torres would be vex missing the Atletico game...

Gunners missing Gallas, Sagna and Benthner....Cese broke his nose but is still set to play and we RVP nursing a high tigh injury (whats new) but is also set to play.

Once Van Persie plays, I'm happy...

JT is available...

Its a good thing and Berbatov fitting in nicely...
Hopefully I'll get major points this weekend...