Old 09-20-2008, 10:01 PM   #1 (permalink)

The World's best footballer (as of today)......

............Sergio Aguero. Just watched Atletico lay a beating on Recreativo Huelva. Man this kid is something else. It seems like every damned week he's scoring.....La Liga, CL, WC qualifiers, Olympics doesn't matter who. Makes me sick as a Selecao fan that he's an Argentine, but I'll give respect where it's due. No way Atletico with a non-existant midfield would be in CL today w/o his goals.
Old 09-20-2008, 10:27 PM   #2 (permalink)

Vs. PSV this week:

Old 09-21-2008, 12:35 AM   #3 (permalink)
Destra's Harmony

Best footballer today? Nah.....best U21 player as of today, you could have a case.
But definitely can't say that, his first season as Atletico wasn't anything to talk about. But he did really stand out last season, but I don't think he's deserving of best footballer yet....not even a Top 5 mention. Shoot...I thought Guiza was the best player in Spanish football last year....

But in the future, he definitely will be up there.....him an Forlan are a wicked duo!
Old 09-21-2008, 01:01 AM   #4 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Ackee View Post
Best footballer today? Nah.....best U21 player as of today, you could have a case.
But definitely can't say that, his first season as Atletico wasn't anything to talk about. But he did really stand out last season, but I don't think he's deserving of best footballer yet....not even a Top 5 mention. Shoot...I thought Guiza was the best player in Spanish football last year....

But in the future, he definitely will be up there.....him an Forlan are a wicked duo!
Well Forlan's gone for de next month with an injury so that partnership is on hold. Aguero's been on a tear for de past year, and what stands out to me is that their midfield's ability playmaking ability was garbage last season, and still is, and yet he still regularly finding the back of the net.

Looking forward to when they meet Liverpool in the CL. Currently he's as in form as any forward in the world, and only 20. He isn't a true number 9, but he's good at headers despite being 5'7". And his ball control in the box is incredible. I don't think he's like any player today. The only guy I'd compare him to is Romario, and I think he can go on to be even better than him.

I think he belongs in the top5, especially if you're going to rate it by forwards only.
Old 09-21-2008, 02:33 AM   #5 (permalink)
Destra's Harmony

Top 5 Forwards, I can see.....maybe
But still right now, I caan rate him above Guiza or Torres.

I won't comment too much, because I don't have the ability to watch much Atletico matches, but when I did watch him last year, he kinda reminded me of Del Piero.....and with that, last year, I'd even rate Del Piero over him.

But yu know what....I going come back to this thread after the next CL match, since yu rate him so high, I'll be keeping a more watchful eye on him :)
Old 09-21-2008, 04:44 AM   #6 (permalink)

As much as I don't like the cheating Argentine fukker... any talk of best footballer today has to begin with Leo Messi.
Old 09-22-2008, 12:14 PM   #7 (permalink)
Enjoyin' Life

Steven Gerrard...
Old 09-22-2008, 12:21 PM   #8 (permalink)

why isn't it christiano ronaldo or messi?
Old 09-22-2008, 12:45 PM   #9 (permalink)
Flikkin Killa!

Originally Posted by RotiKing2004eva View Post
Ronaldo has to get back into form before any such assesment of current best can be attributed to him.

Messi is certainly a best candidate!

My top 5 Forwards in no particular order

Eto'o
C. Ronaldo
Messi
Guiza
Ibrahimovic (many might disagree with this but the man is magic in the box whether striking for himself or setting it up for someone else)

Aguero is in my top 10 though, along with Torres and David Villa
Old 09-22-2008, 12:46 PM   #10 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Shawn E. Glass View Post
Ronaldo has to get back into form before any such assesment of current best can be attributed to him.

Messi is certainly a best candidate!

My top 5 Forwards in no particular order

Eto'o
C. Ronaldo
Messi
Guiza
Ibrahimovic (many might disagree with this but the man is magic in the box whether striking for himself or setting it up for someone else)

Aguero is in my top 10 though, along with Torres and David Villa
he was off yesterday, he played like he used to in 2004, going to ground early and often. very annoying for a man of his skill level.

also, wow, berbatov was completely lost out there.
Old 09-22-2008, 12:47 PM   #11 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Brown Milk View Post
Steven Gerrard...
Gerrard is not the same player in a England uni as he is for Liverpool. I don't think he and Lamps are a good fit in midfield for England.

Originally Posted by RotiKing2004eva View Post
Yuh know, I don't think there's a "standalone" best player in the same sense like Zidane after WC'98 for the next couple of years or Ronaldo when he was at PSV/Barca.

I picked Aguero because he's playing for a lesser club vs. Messi/Ronaldo, and still being prolific. He's been on a tear for the past year or so for Atletico, and dey midfield is garbage. And also scoring for Argentina. I think Ronaldo will win WPOY (lousy dive vs. Chelsea), I just don't like that he's a flopper.

Messi is different to Aguero. Aguero is better in the box, and I think Aguero has had a better year than Messi, although Messi was injured for a bit.
Old 09-22-2008, 12:59 PM   #12 (permalink)
Enjoyin' Life

Originally Posted by DerMonger View Post
Gerrard is not the same player for England as he is for Liverpool. I don't think he and Lamps are a good fit in midfield for England.
I know that Lampard and Gerrard cant play together for England... The problem with Capello is which one of those two he has to pick and at the moment he's going with Lampard because of Gerrard's versatility...

I dont give a rats bout international football cuz its shit anyway... Its all about club football and the UEFA Champions League...
Old 09-22-2008, 01:22 PM   #13 (permalink)
Flikkin Killa!

I know that Lampard and Gerrard cant play together for England... The problem with Capello is which one of those two he has to pick and at the moment he's going with Lampard because of Gerrard's versatility...

I dont give a rats bout international football cuz its shit anyway... Its all about club football and the UEFA Champions League...
I Don't think they are incapbale of playing together, I think they have similar skills, attributes, and mentality. The manager has to clearly define who plays what role between the 2 in order for them to have success while on the pitch together.

DM your argument for Aguero is valid but discounting the likes of Messi and CR7 is a mistake to me. The stars of bigger teams are the ones in the oppsing managers gameplans, and in the heads of their defending counterparts on the pitch. so if they still can be successful while being a key figure/ focal point of the oppsition, I feel they must be considered. It may be getting harder or Aguero to fly below the radar but I doubt most managers were as dilligent in planning how to neutralize him as they would plan for the likes of CR7, Messi, Villa etc.
Old 09-22-2008, 01:52 PM   #14 (permalink)
Enjoyin' Life

I Don't think they are incapbale of playing together, I think they have similar skills, attributes, and mentality. The manager has to clearly define who plays what role between the 2 in order for them to have success while on the pitch together.

Yes, I agree and in my opinion Gerrard is better than Lampard...

DM your argument for Aguero is valid but discounting the likes of Messi and CR7 is a mistake to me. The stars of bigger teams are the ones in the oppsing managers gameplans, and in the heads of their defending counterparts on the pitch. so if they still can be successful while being a key figure/ focal point of the oppsition, I feel they must be considered. It may be getting harder or Aguero to fly below the radar but I doubt most managers were as dilligent in planning how to neutralize him as they would plan for the likes of CR7, Messi, Villa etc.
I would put Aguero up there but behind the likes of Ronaldo, Ibrahimovic, Gilardino, Adebayor and Messi...
Old 09-22-2008, 02:34 PM   #15 (permalink)

Man yuh starting to sound like Wenger with that kinda Int'l talk,lol. Sorry but he's never really proven himself in a England shirt to retain his Liverpool form, you can't rate someone as the top vs. someone that's doing well on 2 different fronts. if they're not able to duplicate the same form for their country. If I went on Raul's form for Real Madrid from 97 up until Ronaldo's 1st 2 years ah would called him top3. But his form for Spain was subpar when it mattered.

I wasn't discounting CR7 and Messi. Yes it's a bit pre-mature, but he's been on a tear for sometime. Atletico has inferior talent to a G14 club, so it's easier to "zero-in" on Aguero than CR7 or Messi.

He's had a better 07/08 than Messi (although injuries played a factor). I want to see how he performs in the CL against the G14 teams. Liverpool should be the toughest test in Aguero's club career at any level.