Credits: 456
As I look at this impasse between Jack Warner/TTFF and the Soca Warriors that made us so proud, I can't help but be upset that everytime we take a step forward in the football arena, we take 2 steps backward. To me, this is a constant issue with Jack/TTFF. The players made us proud and deserve every reward they were promised.
Moreover, we seem ready to go to the Gold Cup with a 2nd or 3rd team representing our little twin-island republic. As you may know, this team lost to Haiti in the Digicel Cup, at home, earlier in the year. This is the time to consolidate our talent and base with a new coach. I ask, what can we do as spectators and fans to help this situation? How can we show our displeasure without abandoning the "new" team? I think a petition to show our support of the Soca Warriors and displeasure with Jack/TTFF is a start. Anyone else have any feelings about this?? Bless |
not ur friend...
Credits: 1,920
it's very sad whats taking place now, to the point where jack & TTFF getting on live some assholes now. these players willing to forget anything ever happen an play for T&T in de gold cup, all they request is that they are taken care of. they have people depending on them just like TTFF is depending on them to do good, pay them boys dey money nah. de Government / Ministry of Sports needs to step in now and see to it that every team that is put forth to represent de country is de strongest and best available, if this mean calling up all de overseas base players so be it, so pay them other wise people not going to want to play if they not getting paid to do so, Jack dem making all de money and dont want anybody else to live. He has way to much power when it comes to football in T&T, i always say this should be run by the ministry of sports, dis is part of what its there for, not by one man who wants to hold de country by its balls when he not getting his way.
CTA VP of Local Affairs
Credits: 28,178
If the Ministry of Sports was on the ball Jack would have never had the kind of power he does. But the government is far too comfortable with letting someone else do their job and thus our football program has to suffer the ill effects. What's even worse is that TnT is on the cusp of cultivating a successful program on the heals of our recent achievements yet because of the constant drama and bullshit it may collapse before it can even begin to florish. Our young players may be fit enough for our regional competition but with CONCACAF being the weakest among FIFA's zones that doesn't do anything for our readiness to mix it up globally. Nevertheless I'll be there to support when I can no matter how disgusted I am by the infrastructure.
I should have named this thread, "What can we do to change the football administration in Trinidad". It seems to me that as much as we fans support, it keeps the Jack Warners and TTFF in a position of power.
I support all of our national teams, but there must be something we, the fans, can do to make a positive change in the way things are done. Is it that hopeless a situation?? |
Credits: 7,026
Credits: 20,562
I have mixed feelings. If there was a REAL organized boycott I would join in. I was hoping that by tournament time everthing would have been resolved, but it isnt. I already bought my tickets and made arrangements so its a wrap. I hope the lawsuit is a success for the players and I hope their players union gets the support needed to make the necessary changes in T&T football.
Credits: 1,279
As for the instant question...Jack is the quintessential Catch-22 if ever there was one. His contributions to the sport, both nationally and regionally should never be discounted and it is quite within reason to credit him for making the singularly most palpitable contribution to Trinidad and Tobago football. That said, power corrupts...and absolute power corrupts absolutely. This is the stage I believe that we are at with Jackula...he views the TTFF as his private domain and the players and its officials his personal fiefs. Their doing should be his bidding, unfettered and unquestioned. I don't believe he should be removed from power, let alone be killed (not even something one should joke about if you ask me) but there needs be some sanction or check put in place by FIFA/CONCACAF...needless to say anything of the sort is a long way from coming to pass. This nonetheless is what I see as the only really mutually beneficial solution for all concerned. |
Back to the matter at hand, I myself was a fan of Uncle Jack but then I learnt that the TTFF has gotten nothing free from him. Every cent he has spent was in the form of a loan which has more than tripled in actual value. I was also a fan before I realized that the reason he had to 'fund' TTFF was due to the lack of transparency on the organization's part and gov't's reluctance to perpetuate such. The more I look at it, to me he has used his post as FIFA VP for personal financial gain rather than to further Trinidad or the region's football. So as I said....short of a hit on Jack nothing is going to change as we cannot rely on FIFA as they are 10 times as corrupt as he is. I would prefer to see gov't intervention to get rid of the TTFF and start a new organization in its place. Though this will likely cause the team to be banned fr a while by FIFA, I think it is for the best because at the rate we are going is isn't like we are likely to see another WC soon anyway since Jack pockets done full from this one. |
Credits: 20,562
i guess he stock so hot dese days he doh wah go against the system. shame he aint do the right thing, karma is a hell of ting so he better be careful.
Credits: 1,279
Even if I were to concede for argument's sake that Asia has the better head to head record against CONCACAF that doesn't mean that CONCACAF is weaker than Asia...not in the least. Just as some teams seemingly have other teams number, that too could easily be the case with confederations. Is Mexico a weaker team than the US? Just by looking at the recent results one would have to conclude so going by your argument on head to head play. Looking at their records versus mutual opponents and other international play would have to be taken into consideration as well. As for Jack and the TTFF... I wouldn't argue too hard if both were wiped from the local football scene, but again, the impetus should come from FIFA...I would worry about what kind of precedent would be set should we allow governmental bodies to have too much of a hand in the football federations. Just look at recent events in Africa vis-a-vis Liberia and Sierra Leone and one can easily see how it corrupts the process. Carlos...hard for me to hold his move against him, if it is that foreign players need to have a certain amount of caps in order to qualify for play in the EPL...and this has been his dream, then can't really fault him. On the other hand there may be bigger issues at stake here, as it relates to future players and their interaction on a more level playing field with the TTFF. |
CTA VP of Local Affairs
Credits: 28,178
On a side note I cyah understand how I does always fuhget to Rub allyuh nose in the fact that TnT's brightest star was a St. Anthony's man!! |