Old 08-20-2008, 08:32 PM   #1 (permalink)

USA Basketball

was arguing with another cat who kept saying kobe was the best player in the olympics am i the only one who thinks Lebron by far and away has been dominant more so than anyone else?
Old 08-20-2008, 08:47 PM   #2 (permalink)
who Jah bless no man cus

I agree Lebron has been boss in these games even Kobe admitted he is their to assist wherever he can his 3 point shot has been off ,but he is playing good D
Old 08-20-2008, 08:58 PM   #3 (permalink)

Originally Posted by JAHTEE View Post
I agree Lebron has been boss in these games even Kobe admitted he is their to assist wherever he can his 3 point shot has been off ,but he is playing good D

I think kobe is downplaying how bad he wants to be the man , he's in foul trouble all the time and is an overrated defender. This season will tell what i've been saying LBJ = best player in the world
Old 08-20-2008, 08:58 PM   #4 (permalink)

Originally Posted by MrBlackRock View Post
was arguing with another cat who kept saying kobe was the best player in the olympics am i the only one who thinks Lebron by far and away has been dominant more so than anyone else?
Lebron is playing spectacular. Wade is playing amazing. Kobe's stats have been not great, but a lot of what he does does not show up on the sheet, like denying the ball or tiring out the other teams best player.

Stat wise Lebron or Wade is the best.

Highlight film wise Lebron is the best.

Coach K might think Kobe was the best.
Old 08-20-2008, 09:05 PM   #5 (permalink)

Originally Posted by RotiKing2004eva View Post
Lebron is playing spectacular. Wade is playing amazing. Kobe's stats have been not great, but a lot of what he does does not show up on the sheet, like denying the ball or tiring out the other teams best player.

Stat wise Lebron or Wade is the best.

Highlight film wise Lebron is the best.

Coach K might think Kobe was the best.
I dont see it, thats out of respect. Lebron is guarding bigger and smaller men i was never big on him until i watched these games. There is nothing he can't do with speed and power.
Old 08-20-2008, 09:17 PM   #6 (permalink)

I dont see it, thats out of respect. Lebron is guarding bigger and smaller men i was never big on him until i watched these games. There is nothing he can't do with speed and power.
I can see someone saying Lebron is the MVP after watching these olympics. Lebron is a beast out there and looks like he's outplayed kobe statistically and highlight wise. I just don't think Lebron is better.

Remember 2 years ago Carmelo was the best player on the team, even when Lebron was on it??? In the dream team Barkley was better than Jordan ( although that was close to his 1993 mvp season, but i don't think he was better than jordan). Remember when Allen Iverson was schooled by Carlos Arroyo?

Sometimes the Olympics make some people seem better than others.
Old 08-20-2008, 09:28 PM   #7 (permalink)

I can see someone saying Lebron is the MVP after watching these olympics. Lebron is a beast out there and looks like he's outplayed kobe statistically and highlight wise. I just don't think Lebron is better.

Remember 2 years ago Carmelo was the best player on the team, even when Lebron was on it??? In the dream team Barkley was better than Jordan ( although that was close to his 1993 mvp season, but i don't think he was better than jordan). Remember when Allen Iverson was schooled by Carlos Arroyo?

good points but i always say this..

give lebron odom and gasol and the celtics are done and i[m' a celts fan
Old 08-20-2008, 11:07 PM   #8 (permalink)
XTREME DOGGY

That is an excellent excellent point. People making a bit too much out of a handful of games.

Did anyone see the game this morning (vs. Australia)? Kobe was by far the best player on the court today. He undoubtedly led the charge that put the game away in the 3rd quarter. Wade by contrast was pretty much invisible all game. And Carmelo was arguably the 2nd-best player today, LeBron was decent.

Meanwhile, it was just yesterday I had to endure some nut on ESPN Radio say Kobe is the 5th best NBA player (behind Lebron, Wade, CP3, and godknowswhoeverelsename).

But actually, I'd say before this morning, Wade has been the MVP of the games. The games have been relatively close early, then Wade comes in to lead of the 2nd unit and the score gets out of hand. Before today that's been a script stuck on repeat.
Old 08-20-2008, 11:23 PM   #9 (permalink)
The Captain!!!!!!!

Lebron is not a polished player as Kobe is.
Old 08-20-2008, 11:45 PM   #10 (permalink)

kobe is an overrated defender. Lebron is the better player and kobe plays one good game and people ready to praise lebron can get to the basket in international play better than anyone . Go back to my example and answer my question... does lebron beat the celtics with gasol and odom and fisher?
Old 08-21-2008, 12:13 AM   #11 (permalink)
Just got an Imix PHD

Location: Dominican Republic and puerto rico.. dem gyal sweet
kobe is an overrated defender. Lebron is the better player and kobe plays one good game and people ready to praise lebron can get to the basket in international play better than anyone . Go back to my example and answer my question... does lebron beat the celtics with gasol and odom and fisher?
yuh got to be joking....

Lebron is not no kobe.

if yuh gone prison and yuh i hear i got your woman we just frens
Old 08-21-2008, 12:50 AM   #12 (permalink)
XTREME DOGGY

I don't know; i'm unconvinced of said answer. your celtics' defense was completely off the charts. jesus himself would've had trouble putting the ball in the hole during that game 6 for example.

I guess it's an opinion situation, but I don't think that Kobe's defense is in any way overrated. He's been taking the best player from the other team and keeping them frustrated all olympics; lebron ain't that kind of lock down defender -- at least yet.
Old 08-21-2008, 06:36 PM   #13 (permalink)
who Jah bless no man cus

Originally Posted by Dr Insane View Post
yuh got to be joking....

Lebron is not no kobe.
ya got dat right lebron he's better....lebron has always been my player of choice
Old 08-21-2008, 08:15 PM   #14 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Mystic Xtremist View Post
I don't know; i'm unconvinced of said answer. your celtics' defense was completely off the charts. jesus himself would've had trouble putting the ball in the hole during that game 6 for example.

I guess it's an opinion situation, but I don't think that Kobe's defense is in any way overrated. He's been taking the best player from the other team and keeping them frustrated all olympics; lebron ain't that kind of lock down defender -- at least yet.
kobe is an overrated defender. From a western conference stand point. if you watch the games. and if anyone here uses rapidshare i can post the links to every play off game and in the west Kobe is single covered so he can go off for 30plus a game in the east its about about help defense. Lebron did and does so much more with less and was better than kobe in nearly all statistical categories. Level of comp is shite cause only 2 teams play D in the west. Utah and San Antonio. Lebron by a hair.
Old 08-21-2008, 08:52 PM   #15 (permalink)
The Captain!!!!!!!

No Lebron does not win. No one was stopping Boston.