Old 09-04-2009, 11:51 AM   #1 (permalink)
Blah!

Credits: 2,387
No Salary Cap in the NFL next year???

That's what Goddell is saying. NFL Commissioner Roger Goodell: Owners preparing for uncapped 2010 - ESPN

Whether or not he is using this as a bargaining chip, what team do you think would do the most without a salary cap? I saw Dallas and Washington
Old 09-04-2009, 11:56 AM   #2 (permalink)
CTA VP of Local Affairs

Credits: 37,838
Originally Posted by shortsweetness View Post
That's what Goddell is saying. NFL Commissioner Roger Goodell: Owners preparing for uncapped 2010 - ESPN

Whether or not he is using this as a bargaining chip, what team do you think would do the most without a salary cap? I saw Dallas and Washington
Without question those 2 would be at the top of the list but I would add the raiders. This would be a chance for Al Davis to instantly improve his team and make them relevant again.
Old 09-04-2009, 11:57 AM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 153,627
people are calling for one in MLB,..... cuz of the yanks.... doh make sense to me.
Old 09-04-2009, 12:05 PM   #4 (permalink)
Blah!

Originally Posted by Dr Insane View Post
people are calling for one in MLB,..... cuz of the yanks.... doh make sense to me.
But which team do you think would pick up the most quality/high-priced players?

I would like to hope Detriot would make some big moves, but they are just one giant disappointment
Old 09-04-2009, 12:27 PM   #5 (permalink)
steups...

Credits: 16,321
I feel bad for the small market teams. With no cap, how are they gonna be able to compete?
Old 09-04-2009, 01:15 PM   #6 (permalink)
Blah!

Originally Posted by Yankee Doodle View Post
I feel bad for the small market teams. With no cap, how are they gonna be able to compete?
i feel, if the no-cap thing go through next year, that the NFL has to reinstate the cap in 2011. So these small market teams might be priced out of a championship for one year. Or if they make enough moves this year, they might be in the mix. What small market teams are you thinking about? KC is the only one I can truly think of.
Old 09-04-2009, 06:14 PM   #7 (permalink)
steups...

i feel, if the no-cap thing go through next year, that the NFL has to reinstate the cap in 2011. So these small market teams might be priced out of a championship for one year. Or if they make enough moves this year, they might be in the mix. What small market teams are you thinking about? KC is the only one I can truly think of.
KC, Cincinnati, Cleveland, Buffalo, and Jacksonville come to mind. Carolina doesn't have that much money either. Dolphins with this multiple owner strategy would be up in the air as well. They will be priced out for a year but set back for at least 3. KC and Cleveland have new coaches. Cincy, Buffalo, and Carolina coaches are on the hot seat. For competitions sake, I hope something comes together so there can be a cap.
Old 09-04-2009, 06:22 PM   #8 (permalink)
Blah!

Originally Posted by Yankee Doodle View Post
KC, Cincinnati, Cleveland, Buffalo, and Jacksonville come to mind. Carolina doesn't have that much money either. Dolphins with this multiple owner strategy would be up in the air as well. They will be priced out for a year but set back for at least 3. KC and Cleveland have new coaches. Cincy, Buffalo, and Carolina coaches are on the hot seat. For competitions sake, I hope something comes together so there can be a cap.
Ok, yeah, I agree with all of those. However, Buffalo gives me some pause. The amount of revenue they should get from the fans in Buffalo should make account for something. Them fans always supporting the Bills from game tickets, merchandise revenue, etc. I mean, I may be wrong, but that is just the impression I get.

With years of the salary cap in football, it is difficult to access who would be a contender or pretender since no team has really had to spend unprecedented money to build a championship team. I guess we may find out soon.
Old 09-04-2009, 06:57 PM   #9 (permalink)
steups...

Ok, yeah, I agree with all of those. However, Buffalo gives me some pause. The amount of revenue they should get from the fans in Buffalo should make account for something. Them fans always supporting the Bills from game tickets, merchandise revenue, etc. I mean, I may be wrong, but that is just the impression I get.

With years of the salary cap in football, it is difficult to access who would be a contender or pretender since no team has really had to spend unprecedented money to build a championship team. I guess we may find out soon.
Buffalo and Cincinnati are the two poorest teams in the league. I think it's because their fan base is for the most part in their respective cities. I mean down in South Florida, I see more Pats, Cowboys, Giants, Jets, and Steelers fans and jerseys than Dolphins. Also, since those cities aren't "huge" metropolitan areas and not too many big businesses there, they don't make the premium off season and box tickets like some other teams.